We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #20 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Perfect Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our four days at the Hotel Monaco were absolutely perfect. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly...we were given wonderful advice and recommendations from the concierge. We loved the cocktail hour in the late afternoon with free wine and treats. The location is brilliant with nearly all major sights (Michigan Avenue, Millenium Park, River North, etc.) within walking distance. My favorite aspect of the hotel however was the room. The beds were deliciously comfortable. The window seat was a perfect spot to read and watch boats float down the river. The decor was tasteful and unique. Plus, the goldfish was a great touch. Out of all the hotels I have stayed at in Chicago the Hotel Monaco is by far my favorite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyms619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Mollyms619,

Thank you for the lovely review! It is so great to hear that you were able to enjoy all the amenities the Monaco has to offer. I agree with you that it's the perfect time of year to cozy up in a window seat and watch the boats go by! I am so happy to hear our team was able to take care of you, and we are looking forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,610
    535
    100
    47
    11
See reviews for
410
869
104
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I always stay at a Kimpton hotel when possible. This hotel was no disappointment. The only issue was that the bathroom was very small & two people could not be getting ready at the same time. Their restaurant & bar was fantastic. Happy hour in the hotel lobby is always an added bonus!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
MicheleLea,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. The hotel is in a building that was built in 1912 as a hat factory with small offices. Unfortunately we do have some rooms with slightly small bathrooms, but we also have other rooms with much bigger bathrooms should you request it.

Thank you again!


Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troy mi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from a Chicago weekend based at the Monaco and was fully satisfied. Room was spacious, well-appointed and spotless. Staff was very accomodating and professional and the restaurant served an excellent brunch (plus a free wine reception every day)

Be sure to join their free club to get free wi-fi and a $10 voucher for the bar or mini-bar. Valet parked is $56 per day and you can save by self-parking at several lots within a block. Hotel is easily walkable to many attractions including the Art Institute and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spence3787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Spence3787,

Thank you for leaving us a review and mentioning the benefits of being a Kimpton InTouch member! It's free and quite easy to join... and once you are a member, you will always receive complimentary wifi at all of our hotels and restaurants!


Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
350 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a great stay Friday - Sunday of Memorial Day weekend at the Hotel Monaco. Had Room 1108 which had cool window seats and a great view of Marina City -- the two sixty story concrete towers which mix parking and unique architecture, as well as the new Trump tower thing.

Hotel Monaco is charming and comfortable. Sleep quality is quite high -- we could hear the El wheels squeaking but we got right to sleep -- that wasn't that loud. Water pressure in the showers is terrific. Service and cleanliness of rooms was five stars for us. Front desk, bell stand, etc. very Midwestern courteous. A true pleasure. I think we dealt with about 8 different hotel employees and never heard a cross word or experienced inefficiency -- they fell over themselves helping us out.

Business center was great. The printer was one of the best I've ever had in a hotel experience. The Hotel Monaco has a usage charge thing which is a bit obnoxious, but if you brought your laptop you could use the metered computer gizmo just for printing. Again, the printer quality in color was outstanding, enabling us to print off a variety of google maps for tourism in chicago.

TIP: Request the in-room Keurig coffee maker. That's a nice wake up cup of Joe.

We ate at the restaurant for brunch on Sunday. Did a great job with bacon, omelette was OK. Probably the weakest aspect of our stay. The charge on the parking overnight is like $56, but that's downtown Chicago.

Overall, fantastic stay. It is great to be at a comfortable, smaller hotel. We really liked the location. Easy walking distance to Michigan Avenue, Navy Pier, etc. And I enjoyed looking at the Bob Newhart Marina City towers at day or night. Also, it is amazing how cleaned up downtown Chicago is now. Very gentrified. Great riverwalk, etc. We had a terrific visit. Thank you Kimpton.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
FredTravelVa,

Glad to see that you had a nice Memorial Day Weekend stay with us and got to enjoy some of our amenities like the in-room Keurig coffee maker (available upon request), the amazing window seats in our riverview rooms and of course our friendly staff! We look forward to having you stay with us again!


Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed here for four nights in May. Its location, on Wabash at the Chicago River is, to me, perfect for walking all around Chicago. River North, Michigan Avenue, State Street, the Loop, Millenium Park, etc. are all within easy walking distance. The Blue Line direct from the airport drops nearby (at Clark and Lake), so it is convenient to get there using mass transit.

Once at the hotel, I was upgraded to a beautiful one-bedroom suite (I am a Kimpton Inner Circle member). The suite, overlooking the Chicago River, was beautifully decorated, quiet, and a serene place to reside while in Chicago. The views from the 4 (yes four, three large (they are about the size of a full-size bed (no lie), one smaller) window seats were amazing. A friend and I sat in them late every night and enjoyed wine and cheese.

The bath had a whirpool tub and stand-up shower. My own personal preference would be to have had a slightly larger shower in the room (and I prefer showers that also include a hand-held shower head as well), but it is an older building (like most Kimptons) that has been retrofitted for a new life (and beautifully done).

The staff, like almost all Kimptons, was welcoming and friendly. They all sought to make my stay memorable and enjoyable. This began with emails from Erica, the assistant manager (a big shout out to her!), prior to my arrival through every person at the hotel.

If you have not stayed at a Kimpton Hotel, you should. And if your trip takes you to Chicago, Hotel Monaco is a superb choice. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The corner suites on the Chicago River afford commanding views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
TR45,

Thank you so much for leaving us a nice review and also thank you for being an Inner Circle Member! I'm glad to see that you got upgraded into one of our nicer suites and were able to enjoy the amazing views.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!


Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Foster is a really nice check-in person who made sure our first stay at a Kimpton Hotel was a pleasant experience. Our room has two bay windows overlooking the Chicago River. It keeps our boys (under 10) occupied. The decor is very mismatched. The bathroom definitely could use some extra storage for toiletries and a change of clothes. Rich, the concierge was irritated with our request for help with our dinner reservation. After spending 8 hours traveling, patience and a helpful attitude is most appreciated. Rich needs to work on this.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohana143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Ohana143,

Thank you for leaving us a review and having stayed with us! I'm sorry to hear that you didn't like the interior design of the hotel and the challenges you experienced with one of our staff member. I'm so sorry that it was not the smoothest encounter and this is something that I will be addressing with our management team. I do hope that you get to try us out again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kastav, Croatia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Kimpton Monaco is small and cosy interesting hotel on the river. You are in a minute from Michigan av. or State street and Union station is not far away. I enjoyed in spacious room inspite of not nice wiev. The bed was perfect.
Staff is excellent from bell boy to the concierge. I hope I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GogiKastav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
GogiKastav,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We do offer several different room types and we even have a specific room type called Riverview, which does offer nice views of Chicago. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4,375 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 187 in Chicago
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
2,186 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
2,000 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing