We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Nearby Hotels
US$463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$441
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$444
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$449
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Central Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$752
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$568
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$513
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$688
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$655
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,486)
Filter reviews
2,486 results
Traveller rating
1,744
576
107
48
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,744
576
107
48
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswindow seatwine hoursouth water kitchenthe rivermediterranean suitewine receptionraid the mini baranimal print robesthe loopcomplimentary wineyoga mata river view roomtrump towermillennium parkbrick walleach eveningfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
936 - 941 of 2,486 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights in February. What a great boutique hotel and nice staff. I have a river view room and it was great to see the view in the freezing winter. Room has warm decor but the clean bathroom was dated. I like the location. Rather disappointed with the food in the hotel restaurant, compared to so many other wonderful restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear BPK123 -

Thank you so much for sharing your great review and nice shots of the rooms! We appreciate you taking the time to write about us, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you are traveling to Chicago as a tourist or leisure-man I would highly recommend the Monaco. The hotel definitely adds a level of service that I think other hotels should aspire to. People often say "why would you spend so much on a hotel room when all you are going to do is sleep there?" Often this is true, and likewise it seems that many hotels that we would consider "luxe" have taken this mindset towards their leisure travelers. Even with a high loyalty status at chains such as Hilton or Marriott, you are met with very little appreciation and there is no anticipation of your needs. Granted, if you ask for it they'll usually happily oblige, if you don't speak up, they are also happy to oblige with only supplying you that "room to sleep there." I say all this because Monaco is just a little bit different.

First, as you will have read in the reviews, the box window seats are one of the coolest features I have ever seen in a hotel. The first day/night, we didn't even turn the television on because we were so fascinated by it and the views it provided.

Second, everyone is genuinely happy and smiling. It seems funny to say, but it does add just a little bit.

Third, they made our stay special. I won't say exactly what they did, but it was absolutely hilarious and it made our day.

Fourth, the room looks exactly like it is pictured online. It can be so frustrating to show up at a hotel and have your hopes up for a place that looks awesome in the pictures only to find the devil in the details. I would say that our room lived up to the picture with at least 95% accuracy, which is pretty darn good.

Fifth, the room was actually very clean. You shouldn't have to worry about this when staying anywhere, ever, but you do. This room was clean.

There were some minor setbacks that you can expect anywhere - the concierge lost our tickets for something (they fixed it); absolutely tiny things like no ice bag for the bucket; the bed was not as comfortable as I might have expected. They may want to invest in a more comfortable bed as I would say that the Sheraton, Westin and Hilton beds are all more comfortable (noticeably).

Overall the stay was excellent. We will surely keep Kimpton in mind as we travel and if ever back in Chicago we'll look them up.

Room Tip: Do everything you can to get a river view room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank telamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear telamm -

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent visit to the Monaco Chicago. We're absolutely delighted to hear that you were able to unwind from the day in the window seats, and the view of our beautiful city was all you needed. Our staff does love to be here, and we're glad that we were able to convey that authentically. We appreciate your feedback on areas where we can continue to get better, as those are just as important as our successes. We most certainly look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Chicago!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent a week her in June. Attending a conference . Can't speak highly enough re the staff all amazing and location was amazing. had a great room with view of river and a window nook .
Would recomed this hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago. Happy hour an exellent idea to meet other gusets and relas before dinner .
Hope to get bakc and will stay here again.
Only ione disadvantage no tea and coffee making facilities in room . Was provided free downstairs in lobby but I didnt venture down in dressing gown.Love first tea of the day in bed.

Room Tip: room facing river great
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deirdre t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear deirdre t -

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Monaco Chicago! We look forward to hosting you again soon, hopefully this time for fun! Also, make sure to let us know your preference for an in-room coffee or tea maker when you check in, we have them available upon request and would be happy to help you start your day right!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We always try to stay in a Kimpton hotel when we travel out of town. We love the service and support when we stay. This visit was no different than other Kimpton hotels we've stayed at (in San Francisco, DC & Chicago).

When we registered we learned we got an upgrade to a Suite, which was great since we were traveling with our daughter. This hotel is centrally located and we were able to get there from the train station easily on the bus. We entered our room and were greeted by a beautifully decorated space with deep windows seats overlooking the river. This room was simply wonderful. The bathroom had a huge tub our daughter loves to soak in at the end of the day walking in Chicago. Two robes were hanging on the door available to us to use.

We spent time in the lobby drinking hot chocolate and watching the people come in and out with their holiday shopping. Such a lovely lobby.

It was quite cold while we were visiting the city, but that didn't stop us from exploring the city. We went skating at Millennium park and ate lots of yummy food. It was a great trip

Room Tip: That suite were simply wonderful. It's totally worth the extra price.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ashima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Ashima S -

Thank you for being such a loyal Kimpton traveler, we're glad to hear that your experiences have been consistently positive. Our suites are pretty lovely, and we're happy you got the chance to enjoy one on your most recent visit. Now if only we could do something about the weather...

Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I always stay at this hotel when I travel to Chicago. It's location is superb, very close to the trains, buses, water taxis or just plain walking. The shopping is very close and restaurants and Rush street are just within it's doors. The staff is amazing, attentive and the hotel is clean and quiet. Love the views, wine reception is fun and inviting and people watching in the lobby is fantastic!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank sd1859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear schitjian -

Thanks for making us your home away from home when you're here in Chicago. Our location is great, but it is our staff that we're most proud of and I'm happy that they are an important part of your stay as well. Feel free to come people watch with us anytime, we secretly enjoy it too!

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews