We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Get-Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #19 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chicago Get-Away”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A very convenient part of town located in the Loop District. Walking distance to Michigan Ave and the Art Institute of Chicago. Great restaurants to select from. This is another great Kimpton property.

Room Tip: Special occasions will help with a special room
See more room tips
Green Features: Good environmentally friendly practices, biodegradable toiletries, electronic door lock, a green silver level.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Todd J -

Thank you so much for sharing your Kimpton love with a stop at the Monaco. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,644
    548
    102
    47
    11
See reviews for
419
887
104
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

First time to Chicago. Arrived late and stayed in another hotel. Checked Trip Advisor out and booked this hotel for two nights because of good reviews. The location was excellent, our room had a view of the river. Loved the decor and loved Gwen at the Front Desk. She suggested we go to Buddy Guy's Club called Legends, and it was a highlight of our trip. Can't say enough about this hotel. Loved the wine being served at 5pm complimentary to guests. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArdenYWCAHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear ArdenYWCAHotel -

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Monaco, and that Gwen was able to give you a great suggestion to head over to Legends! Glad that Trip Advisor led you to us, and you paid it forward to future guests! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Cheers,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago. My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms are lovely (make sure you get one with a window seat and river view), with a friendly staff and a great location. Everything that we wanted to experience was within walking distance of the hotel. There's a wine reception from 5:00p:m to 6:00p:m every afternoon. Although we only got to enjoy it once (we were busy being tourists the other afternoons) we thoroughly enjoyed it. We're animal lovers so were really impressed to see that the folks at this pet friendly hotel are,too. I would definitely stay at Hotel Monaco again if I'm lucky enough to return to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravellers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Happytravellers88 -

It sounds like you really made the best of your trip to Chicago, and still managed to squeeze some time in there for wine hour! We hope that you get to visit our great city and come see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights in February. What a great boutique hotel and nice staff. I have a river view room and it was great to see the view in the freezing winter. Room has warm decor but the clean bathroom was dated. I like the location. Rather disappointed with the food in the hotel restaurant, compared to so many other wonderful restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear BPK123 -

Thank you so much for sharing your great review and nice shots of the rooms! We appreciate you taking the time to write about us, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you are traveling to Chicago as a tourist or leisure-man I would highly recommend the Monaco. The hotel definitely adds a level of service that I think other hotels should aspire to. People often say "why would you spend so much on a hotel room when all you are going to do is sleep there?" Often this is true, and likewise it seems that many hotels that we would consider "luxe" have taken this mindset towards their leisure travelers. Even with a high loyalty status at chains such as Hilton or Marriott, you are met with very little appreciation and there is no anticipation of your needs. Granted, if you ask for it they'll usually happily oblige, if you don't speak up, they are also happy to oblige with only supplying you that "room to sleep there." I say all this because Monaco is just a little bit different.

First, as you will have read in the reviews, the box window seats are one of the coolest features I have ever seen in a hotel. The first day/night, we didn't even turn the television on because we were so fascinated by it and the views it provided.

Second, everyone is genuinely happy and smiling. It seems funny to say, but it does add just a little bit.

Third, they made our stay special. I won't say exactly what they did, but it was absolutely hilarious and it made our day.

Fourth, the room looks exactly like it is pictured online. It can be so frustrating to show up at a hotel and have your hopes up for a place that looks awesome in the pictures only to find the devil in the details. I would say that our room lived up to the picture with at least 95% accuracy, which is pretty darn good.

Fifth, the room was actually very clean. You shouldn't have to worry about this when staying anywhere, ever, but you do. This room was clean.

There were some minor setbacks that you can expect anywhere - the concierge lost our tickets for something (they fixed it); absolutely tiny things like no ice bag for the bucket; the bed was not as comfortable as I might have expected. They may want to invest in a more comfortable bed as I would say that the Sheraton, Westin and Hilton beds are all more comfortable (noticeably).

Overall the stay was excellent. We will surely keep Kimpton in mind as we travel and if ever back in Chicago we'll look them up.

Room Tip: Do everything you can to get a river view room.
See more room tips
Green Features: This isn't important to me - but my understanding is Kimpton does well here.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear telamm -

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent visit to the Monaco Chicago. We're absolutely delighted to hear that you were able to unwind from the day in the window seats, and the view of our beautiful city was all you needed. Our staff does love to be here, and we're glad that we were able to convey that authentically. We appreciate your feedback on areas where we can continue to get better, as those are just as important as our successes. We most certainly look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Chicago!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent a week her in June. Attending a conference . Can't speak highly enough re the staff all amazing and location was amazing. had a great room with view of river and a window nook .
Would recomed this hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago. Happy hour an exellent idea to meet other gusets and relas before dinner .
Hope to get bakc and will stay here again.
Only ione disadvantage no tea and coffee making facilities in room . Was provided free downstairs in lobby but I didnt venture down in dressing gown.Love first tea of the day in bed.

Room Tip: room facing river great
See more room tips
Green Features: Extreemly impressed with the hotels Green leaders Silver level acheivment and commitment to being environmentaly friendly Exellent!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deirdre t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear deirdre t -

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Monaco Chicago! We look forward to hosting you again soon, hopefully this time for fun! Also, make sure to let us know your preference for an in-room coffee or tea maker when you check in, we have them available upon request and would be happy to help you start your day right!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We always try to stay in a Kimpton hotel when we travel out of town. We love the service and support when we stay. This visit was no different than other Kimpton hotels we've stayed at (in San Francisco, DC & Chicago).

When we registered we learned we got an upgrade to a Suite, which was great since we were traveling with our daughter. This hotel is centrally located and we were able to get there from the train station easily on the bus. We entered our room and were greeted by a beautifully decorated space with deep windows seats overlooking the river. This room was simply wonderful. The bathroom had a huge tub our daughter loves to soak in at the end of the day walking in Chicago. Two robes were hanging on the door available to us to use.

We spent time in the lobby drinking hot chocolate and watching the people come in and out with their holiday shopping. Such a lovely lobby.

It was quite cold while we were visiting the city, but that didn't stop us from exploring the city. We went skating at Millennium park and ate lots of yummy food. It was a great trip

Room Tip: That suite were simply wonderful. It's totally worth the extra price.
See more room tips
Green Features: We love the fact that the we have a recycle bin along with the garbage bin!
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Ashima S -

Thank you for being such a loyal Kimpton traveler, we're glad to hear that your experiences have been consistently positive. Our suites are pretty lovely, and we're happy you got the chance to enjoy one on your most recent visit. Now if only we could do something about the weather...

Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,534 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,307 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,049 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing