We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Hotel Monaco!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #19 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
blaine, mn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great time at Hotel Monaco!”
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We went to Chicago with a bunch of friends to see the MN Twins play at Wrigley. We booked our rooms via priceline and Hotel Monaco was the chosen hotel. We were not dissapointed. The hotel is just a block or two off of Michigan Ave where we spent a day walking around shopping, eating, etc. There are several bars, places to eat in the immediate vicinity, and tons within a short walking distance. Ryan, the concierge, was always there and very helpful with directions, and he made reservations for us for dinner a couple times. The bell staff was quick with getting cabs whenever we need them. The hotel is situated about 3 blocks from the train which we took to and from the airport. $2.25 vs. $40-50 cab fare. (and quicker) Our room was nice and clean although the view was of a roof and the side of another building. What can you expect by using priceline? We saved alot of money by using priceline! Every night the hotel put on a wine party with free wine and there was coffee in the morning from Starbucks in the lobby. We got room service for breakfast one morning and it wasn't very good. We had some friends who walked across the street to the Emerald Loop for a breakfast buffet, we should have gone there. The hotel had free wi-fi, which is always nice. Morton's of Chicago is right next door, we had dinner there one night and it was one of the best meals we have had in a long time. Make sure to check the website before going there for a really great special!
There are so many hotels in downtown Chicago we are not sure we would pick this one again, not because we didn't like it, but because we like to try new ones all the time, but if priceline chose this one again we wouldn't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yede1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,671
    553
    104
    49
    11
See reviews for
431
899
105
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Our whole family LOVED this hotel and will never stay anywhere else in Chicago. Our 4-year-old wanted to move in and never leave.

Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank americaninparis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

The Monaco is just a great hotel. The room was a great size and we loved that we got to have a goldfish for our stay. Our room was on the top floor and the giant window looking out on the river was so lovely, especially because it had a window seat that we could sit in and watch the city in the rain.

The location is great...right next to the river in the theater district. It's very close to shopping areas and the Chicago Institute of Art.

The room service food we ordered was overpriced and mediocre, but other than that I loved everything. The staff was really welcoming and accomodating too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedylarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothbay Harbor, ME
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We had a truly great time on our first visit to Chicago, and the Hotel Monaco was a large reason for that. The hotel is perfectly located, just a couple of blocks from the El and subway, the Magnificent Mile and Millennium Park. Get a river view room; we were so glad we did as we spent lots of time just sitting in the big window seat and looking at the river and the buildings. The staff truly went above and beyond. We got a (great!) room even though we arrived before check-in, and after we mentioned that we were in town for our anniversary, Sheena, the truly awesome manager, sent us up a bottle of champagne. Ryan and Sylvia, the concierges, were both tremendously helpful. We enjoyed helping ourselves to the sangria at happy hour, free ice cream and warm cookies at 3pm. I hate staying in big name highrise hotels, so this is right up my alley. Friendly, convivial atmosphere, funky design. Highly recommended! One pointer - sign up for Kimpton Rewards if you aren't already a member.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBHME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I want to recognize so many people who were exemplary in their service.
1) Sylvia Rollins, Head Concierge. I wanted a fairly last minute reservation at MK restaurant. I spoke with Sylvia on the phone just a few days prior to arrival and within 15 minutes had the desired reservation.
2) Ryan Lettier, Concierge, provided us detailed information on the architectural cruises. Our morning cruise ended up being cancelled by the tour operator and Ryan provided a late check out time to cover us until we could get back to the Monaco.
3) Turndown service was provided as requested and housekeeping in general seemed to be at a high standard
4) Even the bellman went out of their way to ask if we knew how to get the train etc when leaving the hotel.

The rooms are tastfully furnished in that whimiscal Hotel Monaco feel. Beds and bedding both very comfortable. The complimentary happy hour and morning coffee/tea service were both very utililzed by the hotel guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeBonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, NY
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I spent two nights at this wonderful Kimpton property for a romantic getaway weekend. The staff were extremely friendly. Our room was upgraded from a standard king to a larger room with a California King at check in. The room itself was spotless, nicely done with funky, yet tasteful decor. The oversized bed was extremely comfortable. Large bathroom with powerful shower pressure. The afternoon wine happy hour and w-ii is a nice touch. We also very much enjoyed two nights of cocktails at the adjacent bar and restaurant. The hotel is well located just off the Chicago River and almost anything you need/want to see is within walking distance, or a short cab ride away. Fast WIFI service that is also free (something not common at even the most upscale hotels). Our only complaint was the poor housekeeping service. Room was not cleaned until 2PM on our second day, requests for turndown service and extra towels took a couple of calls. The on site gym is tiny, but workable.

I would definitely stay here again. This place is a winner.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This is a great hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, whether it's directions or restaurant recommendations. The rooms are clean and the bed and pillows are comfortable. Good water pressure on the shower. The location is very convenient to walking to many locations and it seemed like everything else was just a $5 cab ride away.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristineLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,684 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,388 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing