We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Stay Again, But Will Be More Specific Next Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #20 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We'll Stay Again, But Will Be More Specific Next Time”
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Monace on June 19-20, 2009. The visit was to celebrate our 20th anniversary, although we didn't make any type of announcement to the hotel staff. Wine reception and turndown service were great touches - loved the window seat, though not the best view, and the concierge staff was most helpful.

While the stay was relaxing in all respects, there were a couple of little disappointments. First, we had requested a quiet room on a higher floor and away from the elevator. We were given a 4th floor room that was right across from the elevator -- ding, ding, ding. The first greeting we received once inside our room was barking from the dog(s) next door -- but that soon quieted down. We later found out that this pet-friendly hotel puts the patrons with pets on the 4th floor if possible. I'm not sure how a middle-aged couple without a pet ended up on the that floor; we probably should have asked for a different room, but we didn't.

Later on Friday night (after midnight), I was awakened by two couples, obviously staying on opposite ends of the 4th floor calling down the hallway their plans for the next day - and, of course, their goodbyes for the evening! That was rude to the highest degree.

The room itself was excellent, we just would have been happier with a better location within the hotel. Without reservation, we will stay here again, but next time will make sure to follow through with making sure our room request is exactly what we want.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouKYLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,629
    541
    102
    47
    11
See reviews for
414
877
104
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
blaine, mn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We went to Chicago with a bunch of friends to see the MN Twins play at Wrigley. We booked our rooms via priceline and Hotel Monaco was the chosen hotel. We were not dissapointed. The hotel is just a block or two off of Michigan Ave where we spent a day walking around shopping, eating, etc. There are several bars, places to eat in the immediate vicinity, and tons within a short walking distance. Ryan, the concierge, was always there and very helpful with directions, and he made reservations for us for dinner a couple times. The bell staff was quick with getting cabs whenever we need them. The hotel is situated about 3 blocks from the train which we took to and from the airport. $2.25 vs. $40-50 cab fare. (and quicker) Our room was nice and clean although the view was of a roof and the side of another building. What can you expect by using priceline? We saved alot of money by using priceline! Every night the hotel put on a wine party with free wine and there was coffee in the morning from Starbucks in the lobby. We got room service for breakfast one morning and it wasn't very good. We had some friends who walked across the street to the Emerald Loop for a breakfast buffet, we should have gone there. The hotel had free wi-fi, which is always nice. Morton's of Chicago is right next door, we had dinner there one night and it was one of the best meals we have had in a long time. Make sure to check the website before going there for a really great special!
There are so many hotels in downtown Chicago we are not sure we would pick this one again, not because we didn't like it, but because we like to try new ones all the time, but if priceline chose this one again we wouldn't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yede1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Our whole family LOVED this hotel and will never stay anywhere else in Chicago. Our 4-year-old wanted to move in and never leave.

Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank americaninparis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

The Monaco is just a great hotel. The room was a great size and we loved that we got to have a goldfish for our stay. Our room was on the top floor and the giant window looking out on the river was so lovely, especially because it had a window seat that we could sit in and watch the city in the rain.

The location is great...right next to the river in the theater district. It's very close to shopping areas and the Chicago Institute of Art.

The room service food we ordered was overpriced and mediocre, but other than that I loved everything. The staff was really welcoming and accomodating too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedylarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothbay Harbor, ME
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We had a truly great time on our first visit to Chicago, and the Hotel Monaco was a large reason for that. The hotel is perfectly located, just a couple of blocks from the El and subway, the Magnificent Mile and Millennium Park. Get a river view room; we were so glad we did as we spent lots of time just sitting in the big window seat and looking at the river and the buildings. The staff truly went above and beyond. We got a (great!) room even though we arrived before check-in, and after we mentioned that we were in town for our anniversary, Sheena, the truly awesome manager, sent us up a bottle of champagne. Ryan and Sylvia, the concierges, were both tremendously helpful. We enjoyed helping ourselves to the sangria at happy hour, free ice cream and warm cookies at 3pm. I hate staying in big name highrise hotels, so this is right up my alley. Friendly, convivial atmosphere, funky design. Highly recommended! One pointer - sign up for Kimpton Rewards if you aren't already a member.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBHME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I want to recognize so many people who were exemplary in their service.
1) Sylvia Rollins, Head Concierge. I wanted a fairly last minute reservation at MK restaurant. I spoke with Sylvia on the phone just a few days prior to arrival and within 15 minutes had the desired reservation.
2) Ryan Lettier, Concierge, provided us detailed information on the architectural cruises. Our morning cruise ended up being cancelled by the tour operator and Ryan provided a late check out time to cover us until we could get back to the Monaco.
3) Turndown service was provided as requested and housekeeping in general seemed to be at a high standard
4) Even the bellman went out of their way to ask if we knew how to get the train etc when leaving the hotel.

The rooms are tastfully furnished in that whimiscal Hotel Monaco feel. Beds and bedding both very comfortable. The complimentary happy hour and morning coffee/tea service were both very utililzed by the hotel guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeBonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
369 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I spent two nights at this wonderful Kimpton property for a romantic getaway weekend. The staff were extremely friendly. Our room was upgraded from a standard king to a larger room with a California King at check in. The room itself was spotless, nicely done with funky, yet tasteful decor. The oversized bed was extremely comfortable. Large bathroom with powerful shower pressure. The afternoon wine happy hour and w-ii is a nice touch. We also very much enjoyed two nights of cocktails at the adjacent bar and restaurant. The hotel is well located just off the Chicago River and almost anything you need/want to see is within walking distance, or a short cab ride away. Fast WIFI service that is also free (something not common at even the most upscale hotels). Our only complaint was the poor housekeeping service. Room was not cleaned until 2PM on our second day, requests for turndown service and extra towels took a couple of calls. The on site gym is tiny, but workable.

I would definitely stay here again. This place is a winner.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,465 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing