We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Ranked #16 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We are regular users of Kimpton having stayed in San Francisco and Washington DC and we were not disappointed here at the Hotel Monaco in Chicago. A very chic hotel with great staff. The window seats are great. The South Water Kitchen restaurant is good (but not as good as the Atwood Cafe at their sister property). The room was spacious and clean. My only concern is the added touch of them bringing a goldfish to one's room in a small goldfish bowl. Yes it is cute but unfortunately ours died! It's OK we didn't need counselling but maybe this is one chic idea too far!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MV21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,929 - 1,935 of 2,424 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

We were impressed by the Hotel Monaco's earlier reviews and chose to stay there for our get-away weekend. While the hotel is certainly comfortable, we were a little taken aback by the worn-out condition of the room and the hectic pace of the lobby area, in which the staff seemed frequently overwhelmed.

First, the location is quite good. Located on the northeast corner of the Loop district, the Hotel Monaco is just two blocks from the Magnificent Mile and one block from any of the public transit trains.

Also, the guest floor public area was quite charming and warm, with big, mahogany doors, bright carpet, and lime/cream striped wall paper.

Once inside our room, though, we were a bit disappointed. The curtains would not close completely, allowing beams of sunshine to burst in at sunrise. The curtains were also tattered, with holes and tears plainly visible. The seating chair was threadbare and the carpet could use a good steam-vacuuming.

On the plus side, our bath was quite ample, clean and well-maintained.

The lobby seemed over-run with people when we came and went (perhaps they all heard we were coming and wanted to catch a glimpse? Ha!) While some of the crowds may be contributed to the evening social, hour, we also saw some fairly significant lines of guests waiting for desk service.

The staff, particularly the doormen were quite charming, though we felt they were overwhelmed at times. That's not their fault, but we felt a little sorry for them.

All-in-all, a good choice, but we'd likely explore another of Chicago's boutique options on our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis-n-Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanBartlett, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

Dear Travis-n-Tina,

Thank you for your comments about your visit to the Hotel Monaco. Your comments are truly appreciated and your feedback is very valuable to our team. The good news is that we are planning an extensive renovation at the end of the year that will address all of your concerns about the hotel room. The renovation will include all of our guest rooms, meeting space, and public areas. The changes will be amazing and compliment the excellent service our guests have come to love about the hotel.

Thank you again for your comments

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We traveled to Chicago earlier this month and stayed at the Hotel Monaco. It was just great. The window seat in our 11th floor room was an amazing touch. The ceilings in the rooms are very high, and they've set the window seat just a little higher than normal in the rooms, so that you really feel like you're looking down on the city. Our room had a view of the Chicago river and the trump tower and the window seat was a great place to read, write post cards, or make dinner reservations using Kimpton's free wi-fi. And of course, the evening wine reception as usual could not be beaten.

Monaco is also a few steps away from Morton's Steakhouse, which I highly recommend. And there is a well-stocked 7-11 right across the street. The hotel is in a great area if you want to take any of the river tours - the Chicago River Architecture Tour leaves from a stop nearby (it's great - be sure to get tickets in advance to be sure you get the slot you want). There are also water taxi stops within walking distance that will take you to the Willis/Sears tower or the navy pier. Monaco is another great Kimpton hotel - if you go to Chicago, do yourself a favor and stay there!

Oh, and sadly our beloved Chocolate Lab Kelso stayed home...but pets are always welcome at Kimpton hotels!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ostatekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanBartlett, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2010

Dear ostatekitty,

Thank you so much for you wonderful review of the hotel. All of us are so thrilled that you had such a fantastic visit. I think many of our guests would agree with you that the window seats overlooking the Chicago River are amazing. There is nothing better than enjoying a nice cup of coffee in the morning or glass of wine in the evening while watching the city erupt with energy.

We hope to see you again duing your next trip to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Have stayed in the Hotel Monaco on business a few times about 7 years ago and nothing has changed. And that is a GOOD thing. The decor, style and ambience of the hotel have held up well and are top notch. We were upgraded to a great Riverview room and absolutely loved the window seats and the view from the room.

Perhaps the best thing about the Monaco is the location. Right on the bottom edge of the Miracle Mile and at the top of Chicago's Loop district - with easy access to everything - you could not ask for a better locaiton to take in all the city has to offer.

You can almost walk to everything depending on how ambitious you are. We walked (with kids aged 8 - 14) from the hotel to the Shedd Aquarium, the Miracle Mile, the Willis Tower (formerly Sears Tower), Navy Pier, etc... and while some of the walks were a bit long (1.5 miles) they went by quickly. Easy access to the "El" (elevated train) only one block down the street from the hotel is also a plus as is the immediate access (and view) of the river where you can take water taxi's and sightseeing trips along the river.

As in all big cities parking is a bit much ($42 per day) which is in & out access (valet only attached to the hotel) but you can choose to park in a "self-park" nearby for approx $30 per day. On this trip, we chose to take the Amtrack train which was a good option coming into Union Station and a 5 minute cab ride ($7.50) to the hotel worked out well. On departure, (back to Union Station) we took a water taxi from Michigan Ave river bridge area (about 1 block from hotel - $2 per person) and the water taxi ride took about 10 minutes to the Madison Ave dock (about 2 blocks from Union Station). So the water taxi ride was well worth it to see the city form a different perspective.

Back to the Monaco - the Hotel was 14 stories and we had a room on the 14th floor (1408 to be exact) which was a double queen bed room with PLENTY of space with two window seats to take in the view of the city. In fact, you could sleep on one of the window seats overlooking the river, views of Willis Tower, etc.. (which one of us did and I must say it was pretty cool).

The service was excellent and attentive, we never had to worry about a thing. Being a boutique hotel, the Monaco is the perfect combination of medium size and great service. We definitely did not feel like we were "just another guest" as sometimes happens in larger hotels. No pool here but who needs one with so much to do in the area. They do have a decent workout room. Short walk to Millenium Park, Buckingham Fountain, Miracle Mile, Theatre District, etc... who could ask for more from a place to stay.

And the AAA rate was more than reasonable if you can get it.

All in all, one of the best vacations ever and in large part due to the comfortable hotel and location which we were lucky to get. Thanks Kimpton and thanks Hotel Monaco. Our new favorite. We will be back.

Note: The Monaco also has sister properties (The Hotel Burnham and Hotel Allegro) in the same area - which I have stayed at while on business years back - and these are similarly well run...that being said, you just can't beat the location of the Monaco. In my opinion, the Burnham is very cool for it's architectural history and feel and the Allegro is somewhat of a "hip" style - but each of the hotels definitely deserves a four star rating.

Note: While I hate to even mention this subject when speaking of the Monaco...I was quite concerned when looking for places to stay about the "B e d b u g issue". We all know it is an increasing problem in many hotels. I can safely say The Monaco has no such problems that we could tell. Totally clean. Trust me, I looked. No problems at all. In fact, teh room and beds were so clean and comfortable, I slept great.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tripticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The staff at this hotel went out of their way on many occasions to make our stay enjoyable. For starters, our reservation was booked by someone else who mistakenly booked a king room for our family of four. Hotel Monaco was sold out for the weekend but said they would keep trying to find something for us. I explained that I was going to have my husband's office try to find another hotel with two beds while I took my boys for lunch. They understood and said we could store our bags there until we found another hotel since we had just flown in and had no place to store them. While we were having lunch, we received a call saying someone had checked in with a queen room but agreed to switch to our king room. After checking into our new double queen room, we found we were at the back of the hotel looking at a parking garage. Not the prettiest view but the room was nice and it was very quiet. The next morning my six year old mentioned our lovely view to the front desk. They said they would try and get him a better room. About four hours later we received another call saying they had a room for us with a view of the river and fantastic window seats. My kids loved it. They read their books in the window seats every night before bed. The hotel also provided little unexpected treats: they brought us a gold fish, a mini robe for my youngest son, free Starbucks coffee in the lobby in the mornings, iced coffee after breakfast hours, lemonade in the afternoon and a wonderfully festive wine reception in the evenings complete with "lowkey" Wii for the kids and young at heart. It was almost like visiting someone's home. Everyone we encountered was fantastic. My six year old also locked our safe and forgot his code. They fellow came up to unlock it and refused a tip. And then the day of our departure, housekeeping left a Reese's cup for our boys and wrote a nice note about how she had seen peanut butter on our tray at breakfast every morning so she thought they would like the treat. We travel to Chicago a couple times each year and hope to always stay at Hotel Monaco from now on. The little extras easily make stays nicer than the impersonal stays at the larger and more expensive hotels of past years. I might also add that the location is great if you like the theater district, State street and Michigan avenue shopping and Millennium Park. It is also about halfway between Lincoln Park and the Museum campus.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SavannahGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We booked this hotel because it had the best deal for the location. It far exceeded our expectations. The staff was amazing and took care of every little detail. The hotel has nice touches - such as lemonade and iced tea in the lobby during the day and a cocktail hour starting at 5:00. We have stayed at 5 star hotels in large cities all over the world and this was right up at the top - and for about 1/3 the price of other places we have stayed. We booked directly with the hotel and they definitely took care of us - from allowing us early check in to upgrading us to a suite. I can't say enough good things about the Hotel Monaco.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irislove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed at the hotel last weekend so our son could enjoy the annual music fest, lollapolooza and my husband and I could enjoy the city. The hotel is pretty, clean, fun, and enjoys a great location. Certain rooms have large window seats that seem like perches over the city, and we were lucky enough to get one of these. My only complaint is that we are Kimpton members, and I asked the man checking us in to key in our member number. But when I checked out and asked for confirmation that our number was indeed keyed in, I learned that it wasn't. That would have been OK, I guess, but I also learned that as Kimpton members, we could have enjoyed $10 worth of minibar treats on the house. That sure would have been nice to know when I was eyeing those pricey M&Ms around midnight!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maureenliebenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,111 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,477 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,831 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago

Address: 225 N Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-2404 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £111 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing