We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location-Magnificent Mile”
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Chicago Hotel
Ranked #34 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The Omni is the perfect location for all things Magnificent Mile related! My husband and I were able to walk to many different locations, such as Cloud Gate, Millenium Park and even Navy Pier!

Also, the hotel has excellent customer service all the way from the front desk clerk to the housekeepers. The only downside is that the hotel room we stayed in looked a little dated compared to the rest of the property, but it was cool that you could crack open your windows if it got a little too stuffy in there.

I would definitely stay here again though, service is awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsC052208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We're at the beginning stages of our renovation. Our restaurant is complete and we will be moving on to guest rooms in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,767 - 2,773 of 3,637 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for only one night, on January 25, 2013 to attend 'I LOVE LUCY "show. We didn't want the hotel to be too far away and we do like trying different hotels. So I was curious about this hotel, we were greeted nicely by bellman and young lady at reservation desk properly. They all made us feel welcome and special. The deluxe king suite we had was ok, but my husband did notice some marks on the wall, later so did I, the bed was certainly not as good as the WESTIN's, but the service here was very good. They press my husband's shirt/pant slacks for the evening at short notice. It was done by the evening hosekeeper supervisor in which I thought that was truely nice of her to do and very much appreciated! We received complimentiary water delivered to our room, and when we needed a microwave to warm up our food that we didn't get a chance to eat(thats another review by itself), a female staff carried one up right away to our room. What speedy service and I left all of them a tip, cause I really appreciated the time and service that they had extended to myself and husband for only one night. Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLS13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you had fun at the show. We are in the planning stages for our upcoming renovation, which will include new double pillow top mattresses. We hope you will stay with us again when you are visiting Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We spent a winter weekday evening at the Omni following a downtown concert. The staff is excellent - extremely knowledgeable and accommodating. The dining room was not yet finished with its renovation, so we had a cocktail and dinner (same menu) in a ball room area overlooking Rush Street. My husband had a perfectly delicious filet mignon and my lamb was out of this world. Kudos to the chef for choosing locally grown and secured items for their whole menu. (Since we are from rural Illinois where lots of things are grown and raised, we even saw some of our own local people's goods on the menu!) Our suite was spacious and perfectly appointed, overlooking Michigan Avenue. Bed extremely comfortable with excellent linens. We will stay at the Omni again the next time we go into Chicago for concerts and opera.

Room Tip: Be prepared to spend $54 for 24-hours of parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SongBirdMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

We’re glad that you were able to enjoy dinner at the hotel despite the renovations happening at 676 Restaurant and Bar. The renovation is now complete, and we hope next time you’re in town you’ll enjoy a meal overlooking Michigan Avenue. Also we have a parking package available on our website that provides a discount on the $54 valet parking rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and it was fantastic. The staff was kind and always willing to help, the location is perfect and the rooms were nice.

The location can't be beat, it is right on the Magnificent Mile so you're never far away from shopping or some great restaurants (I recommend the Purple Pig). The hotel is also close to the subway, which is nice if you are planning on using it a lot, or if you are getting to and from O'Hare via subway (which takes about an hour).

Our room was really nice as well. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The only issue for us was that the people in the room next to us were extremely loud at 4am and it was easily heard through the walls... thankfully though they checked out after 2 nights.

Overall it was a great experience and we will for sure be coming back to Chicago and this hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay.

A little tip; If you are going to stay here, sign up for the Omni Select Guest membership. It's free and it gives you free in room wifi, and a complimentary drink (juice, tea or coffee) delivered to your room every morning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Omni Hotel on Michigan Ave has location, location, location, and the service provided me was excellent. I had to book on short notice due to flight cancellation, received an enormous and updated suite with comfortable furnishings. Free wifi and a pleasant reception service rounded it out.

Only two items less than stellar: Oddly, the spacious and otherwise updated bath contained an old, tiny ceramic tub (1950s-60s type) that didn't match the rest of the room and was too small for a proper bath for anyone larger than a medium build. The Omni also has an odd entry/elevator system whereby one enters at the ground level, goes upstairs and then over to a reception desk, and then to an entirely different elevator in a different location for the rooms. Bag check is at ground level. If you're carrying bags, this is an odd dance to negotiate, and the reception to ground elevators (2) can become congested with traffic. Neither of these was a deal breaker, but a bit odd.

All that said, the accommodation was super and the price reasonable. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FSOTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing time at the Omni. We have stayed there twice, both times were excellent. Location couldn't have been better, had a great restaurant onsite with a deluxe brunch and were close to shopping. Best of all we were close to Rush Street with all of the exciting nightlife. The rooms are very spacious and luxurious. The staff really was top of the line as well. Our next stay in Chicago will definitely be at the Omni!
Ps. Chicago is something to see on Halloween, the whole city dresses up! It's a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My wife and i had a 2 night stay for some shopping and r&r on the Mag. Mile. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. We had a large room on the 19th floor. Man was it tired......clean but tired. I wish i could figure out how to get the room they show in the booking pics. We wouldn't return.......Just not what we expected or what we were led to believe this hotel was offering. There may be nice rooms but we didn't get one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

We're sorry that you felt your room was tired. We are in the middle of planning our upcoming room renovation. While we understand that you were unimpressed with the room, we hope you will reconsider staying with us after we complete the renovation..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,234 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,939 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2883
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £110 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing