We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Omni Chicago Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$550
US$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$250
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$350
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$431
US$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$648
US$501
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$317
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,804)
Filter reviews
3,804 results
Traveller rating
2,332
1,007
314
88
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,332
1,007
314
88
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsselect guestmichigan avenuegreat locationthe american girl packagethe magnificent mileapple storewet barcorner suitedoor staffturn down serviceliving areathird floormag milebell staffeach morningvalet parkingwater tower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,150 - 2,155 of 3,804 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Every staff member was so friendly and went out of their way to help. Since the Omni is located 1 mile north of the Chicago Architecture Foundation tour starting point, we requested complimentary car service each morning. Valda, our wonderful driver, was always ready with a smile. The complimentary morning beverage is another great Omni Select Guest perk. Since it was our anniversary, we even received champagne the night we arrived! The rooms were spacious, with comfortable bed and seating areas. Easy walk to restaurants and the amazing Dreihaus museum featuring Tiffany.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank wrpcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is like many other above-average, big, middle-of-the-road choices. Predictable, safe, clean, with all of the basics covered. - I suppose one of the good reasons to choose it is the great location for Michigan Ave shopping. Otherwise, the room was clean, quiet, and in good shape. The bed was comfortable (not too hard!). The TV had many channels. The fitness room was good, and average size. Reasonable WiFi rates (but not free unless a preferred customer). Service was friendly, with typical express check-out. Overall, good dependable choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an East side room, and get some elevation (15+ floor) to get a nice view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. While Wi-Fi isn’t free unless you’re a member of our Select Guest program, it is free for anyone to join. We hope you will consider us again next time you’re in Chicago.
Aaron, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our first experience with Omni. Location, location, location.... The location is excellent easy access to the airport and all the sights using the public transportation. We bought the 7 day unlimited use public transportation. City pass also. Just what you would expect from a big city Hotel. Lots of bellmen, front desk staff and plush surroundings. Check in was easy. The room was more than expected for a standard suite. Very spacious and well appointed. Bed very nice. Furniture in great condition. Bathroom, desk, wet bar etc. Only issue the was confusion about our turn down a couple of nights no big deal we lived. Staff all courteous and customer service oriented.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent 10 nights in this gorgeous downtown hotel, on top floor room 2507. We had the most awesome views over Michigan Ave towards the Lake. Very friendly staff, the service was outstanding. Make sure you hang the " do not disturb" sign on the outside of your door as cleaning staff can be quite intrusive in checking if all is ok. One afternoon, my friend had a cleaner entering the room while she was having a shower. I hope to book the same room again next year.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank ozitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We’re glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the view from your room. We do apologize for entering your friend’s room while she was in the shower, but we do knock and make sure any member of our staff announces their department before entering a room. But we’re happy to stay away from your room if there is a do not disturb sign. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Aaron, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Overall, the Omni Chicago is an excellent chain hotel catering to business and weekend travelers. The location is ideal, right off Michigan Avenue and blocks away from the Chicago Loop. Competitive prices for a sizable, clean, and well appointed room and very nice, helpful staff. Check-in and out are a breeze and members of the Omni Select membership program will enjoy free basic wifi and complementary breakfast beverage and newspaper.

FULL REVIEW - PROS

LOCATION - The hotel is located off Michigan Avenue, but is quiet. You have easy access to many (many!) shops, a CTA station (Chicago-Red, metro), and the Chicago Loop. Trader Joe's is a few blocks away if you're looking to save on (breakfast/snack) food costs.

HOTEL - Standard Omni look: upper, mid-level business hotel, professional look that is not fussy nor very creative. Fast track check-in/check-out available. All staff were extremely friendly, very kind, and attentive.

ROOM - The suite, with a separate bedroom and lounge area, is spacious for a hotel in Chicago. The room was clean, well appointed (toiletries, etc.) and amenities included a fridge and coffee maker. Again, it is the standard Omni look, which is perhaps one of my only critiques of the chain -- its rather serious looking, darker tones, and not very creative or fun (minor point, I know). Nonetheless, our room (22nd floor) was quiet.

FULL REVIEW - CONS

HOTEL - Access to the reception area is different - once you enter the "lobby" you take an elevator up to the 3rd floor. Getting and in and out of the hotels requires taking 2 different sets of elevators. Not a big deal, but just worth noting.

ROOM - Although well appointed and clean, it could use some brightening up. Ask for rooms on upper floors where you are likely to have better natural/sun light (otherwise the room seem very dark, even with all the lights on) and (hopefully) good views.

FOOD - As with many hotels, you are better off taking advantage of the fridge and stocking up on breakfast essentials and snacks (Trader Joe's is just a few blocks away). Even the discounted breakfast items remain pricey.

Room Tip: Highly recommend folks take advantage of the Omni Select membership program which is free and provides members with freebies such as wifi (which adds up), free breakfast beverage and discounted breakfast items (although still kind of pricey). If possible ask for room on higher floors for better views and more light.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulipBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews