We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni Hotel, Michigan Avenue, Chicago, Illinois”
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Chicago Hotel
Ranked #33 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Omni Hotel, Michigan Avenue, Chicago, Illinois”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is absolutely my favorite hotel in Chicago. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. All the rooms are suites, tastefully decorated, and impeccably appointed. The glass doors separating the bedroom from the living room (also available for another set of guests with a pullout sofa), provide a private and quite separation from the living room if staying with another couple. The bathrooms are elegantly finished and the view is the best in the city. I staff from the time you get out of your car to the time you arrive in your room is above average. Their forth floor bar restaurant is excellent for cocktails while take a shopping break, or before dinner in or out. The restaurant has changed a few hands a few times but has always had good food.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Michigan avenue, with a sofa instead of chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eakfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,100
    920
    283
    82
    60
See reviews for
1,111
923
109
811
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I've stated here several times. In terms of customer service etc it's always been just average. Nothing exceptional. Since of the Michigan Ave hotels you can get a better deal at the Omni, I don't expect much. However, my satisfaction has depended on my room. The first few times I stayed in a room in the north tower. They were corner rooms with awesome views, spacious with good decor. However recently I ended up in a very basic room, with no view. It reminded me of a cheap 2 star hotel by an airport. Front desk staff and concierge were not very helpful or cordial. I would probably pay a few extra dollars and stay at one of the 20 other 4-5 star hotels within a 1/3 mile radius.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoBizDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
While we can’t guarantee a room with a view, all our rooms are clean and furnished with the same linens, bedding and in-room amenities. We are sorry that our staff was not more welcoming, and we will pass along your review to our director of operations to work on improving our guest interactions. We hope that if you don’t find another hotel you prefer on Michigan Avenue that you will consider trying us again. We would like to show you the service we’re capable of delivering.
Aaron, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Omni was great. The staff were amazing--friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and reliable. The room was clean and had all the amenities we needed. It was nice to have access to a pool in a downtown hotel--many we looked at didn't. Water pressure was actually too hard, but no other complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weber City, VA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a fabulous hotel. The staff is expert. The location is convenient to everything downtown! The rooms are great and the view I had was of the Trump Bldg. Awesome! Highly recommended!!! If you are planning a trip to Chicago, this is a great, friendly place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Donald F L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very friendly staff, enjoyed our stay, beds comfortable. Good location, close to American Girl Doll place. They are very family friendly. Would stay here again. Only problem we had was working the shower, the pressure was slow and water temperature kept changing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 368maryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location. But so are many other hotels... Marriott, Peninsula etc. The rooms are large for a major US city with a "sitting room" area and separate bedroom area, separated by a door. The sitting room consists of 2 armchairs and a business desk and chair.The rooms are very clean and the bed is perfect. The linens and bathroom are up to 4 star standards with bath salts for the bath and nice toiletries including a mouthwash. The front desk staff are very polite and work hard to make your stay enjoyable. The room maids are very nice and work very hard.
Unfortunately there are a few little issues... the pool area on the 4th floor which I visited was not what I expected from the website photograph. The pool room is quite small and was quite humid. The area around the pool was soaking wet and someone (I don't know who) had placed towels on the tiles from the changing area where you enter the pool to the far side of the pool. I can only guess that perhaps they slipped??? and were saving other guests from the same fate? I can not be sure... but the hotel should have someone who checks the area regularly and thus to remove the towels and keep the pool side tiles dry.
The second issue I have is the turn-down service. This involves turning down the bed and turning off all lights except for one bedside light. On arrival night you also get 2 complimentary bottles of water but ONLY the first night. This is not repeated. There is no chocolate on the pillow. There is no closing of curtains. There is no mood TV channel. Again only on the first night did they have mood TV and remove the old towels from the bathroom floor!
The third issue I have is that the parking, while valet only, is not actually operated by the hotel. It is operated by another company. It is $63 approx. per 24hrs with multiple in-and-out. Again the issue is that the charge for 24hrs is from 5pm regardless of when you check into the hotel. In other words you will be charged a "new" 24 hr $60+ dollars after 5pm on the last day even if you checked in at 9pm and you THINK your 24 hours ends at 9pm! So be warned. I feel this should be explained on their web site.
I think for the price approx. $270/ night with so much competition in the area they could tweak things a little better to position themselves more favorably in the market. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foleyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The location was beyond amazing. With a few steps you are right on Michigan Ave, with ALL the shopping within walking distance. The BEST location, clean and tidy rooms, great balcony/ledge in fitness center, but overall EXCELLENT location!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#72 of 190 in Chicago
4,537 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 190 in Chicago
1,632 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Property: Omni Chicago Hotel
Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2883
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing