We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel!”
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Chicago Hotel
Ranked #31 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Omni Chicago in July. Hotel was very nice and great location! Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Request a corner room on a higher floor. Lots of windows and great views of the city. Walking distance to Navy Pier, Lou Malnati's pizza, and great shopping everywhere. Taxi to O'Hare was about $40. You can take the train, but it's about a 4 block walk from the train station to the Omni. Rooms were a little on the small side, but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room so it was fine. Sirens are sounding frequently, but that was expected in downtown Chicago. I would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,495)
There are newer reviews for Omni Chicago Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,756 - 1,762 of 3,495 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Good location for shopping, eating and drinking. Three blocks to the red line train. Quiet room. When I got my bill, I noticed that I was charged for Wi-Fi. The front desk promptly removed the charge as I am a Select Guest Member. Wait for an elevator was too long during busy times such as checkout. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Charles Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Vacationing in Chicago and stayed at the Omni Hotel. The service at this hotel was excellent for us. The front desk staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Checking in only took a matter of minutes. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The front door staff was awesome!!! They were so friendly and always willing to help us with recommendations or directions. Whenever we return to Chicago, we will definitely stay at the Omni again! Thanks for helping to make our vacation a great one!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 143vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My best friend and I had a girls weekend 3 day stay at the Omni Hotel on Chicago's Magnificent Mile, an item on our bucket list. The Hotel is old but in very good condition. Our suite on the 20th floor was very clean and nice with a sitting room large flat screen TV, wet bar, fridge (although if you drink their stock and eat their snacks it will cost as much as another nights stay, note: go to Walgreens and buy your own). The breakfast buffet was very well stocked, food was great, service was very good. Although during our stay only one person working in the hotel was from the U.S.A. Everyone was pleasant. Incountered one rude mean taxi driver who ripped us off on a short drive to Uncle Julio's, took "the long way" and was very scary when I questioned him on why it was taking so long for a 2 mile ride. It was a fun trip, I would stay at the Omni again, it is located right smack in the middle of the mile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank BuniAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice Hotel and Great Location However.... Dirty and Worn out carpeting in rooms Bellmen out front were great, getting luggage to the room took some time though 3rd floor Front Desk Confusing Overall our wasn't outstanding but average, it was more like a 3 star not a four or 5 by any means. Valet parking @ $65 (Come on Omni are you kidding me)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Raymond U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Friendly service; comfortable room; quiet environment for sleep. This hotel is not in the business district (the Loop) but is a short taxi ride from the area. For me, this works well as I like to be a way from the business district in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

How could this hotel ever gotten a decent overall rating? This about ruined our otherwise wonderful trip to Chicago. The hotel was old, not kept up, and the staff was extremely unfriendly. The prices were higher than the amazing hotel that we stayed the rest of our time in Chicago. The pictures on the website were SO deceiving, nothing at all like the actual hotel. It was not even recognizable as the same hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We are sorry that you didn’t feel our photos were an accurate representation of the hotel. However we have not changed the décor, furniture or layout of the rooms since the photos were taken. We are renovating the rooms this year and will be posting new photos of the rooms so we hope that will remedy this issue. As far as our customer service is concerned, we have full control over how friendly we are to our guests, and we apologize that our staff didn’t make you feel welcome. We will share this review with our front office managers and work to improve our customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#14 of 191 in Chicago
1,658 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,134 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2883
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £132 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing