We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Chicago hotel; the Lobby still makes my heart skip a beat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #100 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 November 2011

OK, I admit it. I am more than a little biased when it comes to this hotel. This is my favorite hotel in Chicago. Everything about it is great.

I have always had great service at this hotel. Great info and advice from staff on things to to, places to eat, etc. We requested a place to eat that had both free range meats and organic veggie options at a certain price point. Most hotel staff would give you a sigh or blank stair. Not the staff at the Palmer House. They immediately recommended a little place dow the street that was excellent and fit everything we were looking for!

I could sit in the lobby for hours and look at the celing. The lobby bar is a great place to hang for this exact reason.

One more thing ... when we stayed some of the rooms were newly decorated ... others had the old decor. Get the NEW rooms with the peacock theme. You will glad you did!

Room Tip: Get a newly decorated room with the peacock theme
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinlight58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,061 - 7,067 of 9,196 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

I was lucky enough to stay at this hotel for an entire month. It is extremely well situated in downtown Chicago. It is a historic hotel and an absolute gem just to tour in and of itself! Actually they do have historic tours of that hotel for interested history buffs. Having said that you will be paying a pretty penny for staying here. Sorry, but if you are not a Hilton Honors member you will have to pay for amenities that you normally wouldn't in other hotels. (i.e. the gym is $10.00 daily per person and no free internet) I also don't suggest you rent a car if you stay here as public transportation is excellent and readily accessible from this hotel. (Also, parking is not complementary and not cheap!) The king bedroom I had was extremely spacious for just me although the closet was a bit on the small side. (Regarding room size, if you are a Hilton Honors Reward member you do get a better/bigger room.) You also have to be careful with what floor your room is on because one quirk of this hotel is that not all the elevators access all the floors. Also, the floor plans can be a bit confusing the first time you get to your room. For all you brownie lovers, this is where the brownie originated. So if you want to try a true original brownie for about $6.00 you can order one at the main lobby's bar. This place has so much history and all the floors are lined with old Hollywood and Golden Age performers that had performed at the Palmer. Truly memorable place to stay! One thing I can say for this hotel is that the entire staff is excellent to everyone! No matter what you need, they do bend over backwards to accomodate you! Even if you only spend a couple of nights, it is definitely worth staying to get the grand Chicago experience!

Room Tip: Any room away from the elevators! They are rather noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I've stayed in a lot of hotels, but this was surprisingly nice. Its location is extremely convenient to downtown attractions, an easy stroll to the lakeshore, a block or two from the Magnificent Mile and the Art Institute (wow, what a collection! like a "greatest hits of art history"), right next to the El--I kept being surprised at how close we were to everything, and with entrances on several sides of the block, you could pop in and out so easily. It is an old, grand, historic property and the room and bathroom were small by modern standards, but very nicely appointed, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable (I'm fussy about beds). The staff stood out for great service--just really pleasant, good-humored, and helpful right down to the smallest, most casual interactions. The spa was good--soothing without being snooty. I had a great massage and pedicure. Room service was super-fast, too. I'd stay at this hotel again, for sure.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade to the Executive Level--you get free continental breakfast, 24-hour snacks and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Palmer House Employee at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Dear traveler,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Palmer House. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the local attractions. I’m also glad that the hotel’s location was very convenient and that our staff was very helpful. We appreciate your feedback and value your business. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to visit again soon.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We had another good experience at the Palmer House Hilton. Our room was renovated and comfortable. This hotel does not have wireless Internet, which makes getting online more difficult than it should be in 2011.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Palmer House at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Dear traveler,

I’m enthused to hear that you had a great experience at the Palmer House. I’m also glad you enjoyed your renovated room and found it comfortable. I apologize for the inconvenience of the wireless internet. We are working on getting wireless in every guest room before the year is over. We appreciate your feedback and value your business.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The hotel is grandiose and extremely wide. Has a lot of rooms and services for conferences and meetings. They have a wonderful Spa. not to miss the Balance Spa. They have access to many streets in the area which makes commuting easier.

Room Tip: I am not sure about the rooms didnt stay there as a guest but attended working sessions. Though I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelou18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This is a lovely old hotel in Chicago. However, the rooms can be on the smallish side. The bed was great and the decor was lovely, but the room is one of the smallest I've ever stayed in; ditto the bathroom.
Great staff, great location. No free wireless and getting online is a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonesycrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Palmer House Employee at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Palmer House. I hope your overall stay was pleasant. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed from Nov 14 2011 until Nov 16 2011 and it is clear that this storied hotel is very much in need of a make-over.

The room I had (17263) was quite small although comfortable. The bathroom may have been appropriately sized in 1890 but for a 6'-0" it is woefully cramped. Paint is peeling from all surfarces and the bathroom fixtures show rust. The shower head had a micrometer response temperature change. The slightest touch scalded you or froze you. The office chair had no height adjustment and placed elbows 6" below the surface.

Internet is $20.00 a day and extremely poor speed! For $250 a night Internet should be included in a business hotel.

Elevators and public areas were dirty.

Ate breakfast once. Ordered from the menu. Cold eggs. Burnt bacon. Lukewarm toast. $15.00.

Would not recommed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakemister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,232 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £76 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmer House A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Palmer House A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing