We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & convenient place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #98 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful & convenient place to stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at Palmer House the week after Christmas. It was beautiful! I have read other reviews saying that the rate was expensive. We had a very good rate that was inline (or a bit lower) than most Hilton properties of this class. The staff was helpful for the most part - the front desk check in woman was apparently clueless about how to manage the phone versus Hilton Diamond members standing in front of her - However, another check in gentleman picked up her slack and set things straight. Good location for staying if you plan to "play" in the city! Bed was actually comfortable and pillows were plump- Room was clean. Retro feel to rooms and hotel - It is THE Palmer house after all!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,356
    2,990
    1,379
    667
    328
See reviews for
1,562
2,233
481
3,063
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,749)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel is expensive, but the location is great and the lobby is beautiful. You feel like you are back in old time Chicago, with ornate decorations and a unique ceiling. The restaurant and bar were both quite good, with interesting food and Chicago themes. Very expensive though. My friend and I enjoyed our room, which was a suite with 2 beds and two separate bathrooms. It was roomy and nicely laid out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KW_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Palmer House Employee at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing to stay at the Palmer House. Also, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and value your business. Hopefully, you will have the opportunity to visit again soon.

Thank you again,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I've stayed there for a week on a business trip two months ago. The lobby is wonderful as well as the location and that's it. The rest is completely overestimated. Most of the staff, with some exceptions, was not friendly and sometimes even rude. The food of the restaurant at the lobby is ok but overpriced. The room is small and old furnished and the TV has very few channels. The bathroom has no tube, was kind of dirty (but no bugs) and it was hard to adjust the temperature of the shower. The location is perfect - very close to the Art Institute and Millenium Park. The hotel offers no Wi-Fi Internet to its guests, not even at the sumptuous lobby (however, the restaurant does, if you buy something and ask kindly enough). I could give three stars to this hotel but as it's expensive and offers at most and average service I'll give it only two.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domingos_soares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We are from England and had a special reason for staying at the Palmer House Hotel as our late (American) mother had worked there as a stenographer and receptionist in the 1930s. We were very happy with our stay there. The staff were efficient and friendly and the rooms were fine. The hotel may be rather old fashioned but, for us, that added to its charm and that's what we loved about it, particular the spectacular lobby. We'd be very happy to stay there again. I think our mother would have been delighted to see how well the hotel has survived the years.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandseaglesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

When you walk into the Palmer House lobby, your jaw will drop. The lobby and other areas are gorgeous and nicely appointed. This is definitely not your average late 20th century cookie cutter hotel!

The Palmer House is ideally located for a walking vacation in Chicago. It's just a couple of blocks from The Art Institute and Millenium Park, and it's easy walking distance to The Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, the lakeshore museums. It's also close to public transportation if you're not a walker or want to venture further afield.

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic getaway in 2010. We returned in 2011 for a family vacation. Although the PHH is not a discount hotel, this was the only hotel in the downtown area that would let our family of 5 stay in one room (2 double beds plus a roll-away) which meant we paid less that getting 2 rooms at a seemingly less expensive hotel. And let's face it - you're not going to find cheap in downtown Chicago! You're paying for the convenience of the location. We got a room with 2 bathrooms which was a nice touch - allowed us to get ready more quickly!

We were there over New Year's Eve. Because of some parties on site, they had extra security checking people entering the elevators (nice touch). My husband was awakened by some noisy revelers in the hallway around 3 AM, but the rest of us slept through it and they quickly disappeared. We also heard car horns honking around midnight through the windows, but beyond that, the noise level was not different from any other comparable hotel.

Room Tip: I'm not sure how my husband found this option, but our family of 5 got a room with 2 bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank common-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have stayed at the Palmer House several times, mostly with adult friends, but this last trip was with my 11 year old daughter for her birthday. All of my visits have been great. The staff is always helpful, no matter how many people are in line. The bartenders in the lobby were fabulous. The rooms are comfy - mostly small - but the last one I had was quite large, with a sitting area. The old details of this hotel makes it charming, even though it is huge. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linkfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Only thing good in this hotel is the lobby and close to millenium park. We had worst experience in our life so far, elevators are so noisy, feels like some truck honking or passing by for every 10 seconds. We stayed there on new year's eve 2011 and we only tried sleep for couple of hours, but couldn't sleep because of the noise, instead came out with bad headache. Ask for a room away from elevators. We took a deluxe king size bedroom, but the bed was queen size and the room is very small and no view to the city at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suvi_Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Palmer House Employee at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Guest,

I apologize for the terrible experience and the inconvenience you had to go through. Each and every guest deserves peace and quiet. I’m also sorry that the room change did not work out with it being smaller and no view. We appreciate your review because we take your feedback into great consideration. Our priority is you, our guest and your satisfaction. Again, I apologize and thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,047 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#99 of 189 in Chicago
4,955 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing