We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was one of the nicest rooms that me and my wife have ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #99 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This was a great hotel with a lot of history. It is very centrally located. We were there during Christmas and it was so nice to be able to go to the room and go back out on the town when we were ready. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrylogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,978 - 6,984 of 9,203 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is a pretty ritzy hotel near Michigan Ave - downtown Chicago. It is south or the river (I usually prefer north of the river, but it works). Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We traveled down over the Christmas holiday (nine of us total) four adults and five young children, ages 8-12. Kids enjoyed the pool, but I thought it left something to be desired. It's small and crowded and the hot tub was broken when we first arrived. it later re-opened and was fairly hot, so we made due.

We especially enjoyed the common areas of this hotel. Played cards on the 7th floor where the pool is located while the kids swam nearby. Overall, it's a nice hotel and what you expect from a typical 4star location downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the friendly concierge service. Our first day there, Tracey, was especially helpfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spadesqueen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Palmer House Employee at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Guest,

I’m glad your stay at the Palmer House was pleasant and pleased to hear that the kids enjoyed the pool. Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate it. We hope you have an opportunity to visit again soon.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Palmer House was one of the first few Chicago hotels we visited back in 1997. I was amazed and somewhat awed by the decor, from the decorated ceiling to the light fixtures and more. Since then we have returned many times over the years. Why?
- To once again visit this awesome property that despite the years have retained much of its charm, making you want to forgive the occasional burnt out light bulb and the not quite antique platters on display near the check-in area. Also, the hotel has continued to maintain a level of efficiency and hospitality comparable to or even better than some other hotels given a higher ranking by travellers on Tripadvisor;

- Another point that maybe of interest to anyone travelling with family is that the Palmer House has certain rooms which came with 2 attached bathrooms. We discovered this quite by accident and I remembered this distinctly because an agent from a popular travel website specifically told me that only one other premium hotels in Chicago has this feature; and

- It is well within walking distance from the many shops on State Street, the Art Institute Museum and Bank of America Theatre, some of our favourite places to visit whenever we are in this part of downtown Chicago.

To-date, the Palmer House has been really wonderful experience and I hope that it will continue to be so!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yeoinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed at Palmer House for four nights last July and I thought it was great.
We stayed in a twin room and were pretty surprised by the size of it. It was huge.
The hotel lobby is fantastic, the most beautiful I have ever seen.
The location is exellent.
There was no breakfast in the hotel rate, and the breakfast in the hotel restaurant was rather expensive. But with a Starbucks at street level, that was no problem at all.
I would like to stay at Palmer House again some time. As a matter of fact, I am going back to Chicago this fall. How ever, while we this summer travelled with a group with specially negotiated room rates, I find the room rates just too high for me this time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mengha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed here in the past for a work conference, so I decided to book a room again for a pleasure trip to Chicago because I received a special room rate offer through Amtrak. We stayed 4 nights. Our reservation said we had a room with a king bed, but upon checking in we were switched to a room that they said had a queen bed. Turns out the room we received had just a regular full size bed. Aside from the room being very small, there were very few in-room amenities (no coffee maker, refrigerator, free internet, limitedTV channels and other common hotel room extras). The bathroom was so small that I had to close the bathroom door in order to turn around in it. The hotel itself evokes a ritzy bygone era with an enormous lobby area with a 30 foot high mural painted ceiling.The bar and restaurant are very expensive and the food just so-so. The free wi-fi in the lobby area did not work very well, connection was intermittant and sometimes didn't work at all. The staff seems jaded and with sour/snooty dispositions. However, the location is VERY convenient to walk anywhere in the downtown loop and lakeshore.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 13th floor and it was mostly quiet until very noisy people occupied the room next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltheworld012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Palmer House Employee at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

Dear Guest,

I apologize that your visit at the Palmer House was not so pleasing. I also apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced. You should have received your king-size bed just as you requested. Majority of the amenities you mentioned are complimentary for Gold and Diamond Hilton members. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We find your comments extremely helpful, which will help our team, improve and perform beyond expectations.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a conference. It was easy to get to from O'hare. Just go to the CTA train station in O'Hare. Please bring exact change of $2.25 for ticket since the machines do not give change. Get a ticket and go on the blue route and get down at the Monroe station in downtown, walk three minutes and you are at the hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location and is really beauftiful!! Internet at this place is $14.95 a day which I do not understand. Why not provide free wifi especially in this connected age!!! This was the only downside... Hotel room was nice, nice comfy bed and nice bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room. Mine faced an inner courtyard with walls about ten feet away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingOfTheValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at Palmer House the week after Christmas. It was beautiful! I have read other reviews saying that the rate was expensive. We had a very good rate that was inline (or a bit lower) than most Hilton properties of this class. The staff was helpful for the most part - the front desk check in woman was apparently clueless about how to manage the phone versus Hilton Diamond members standing in front of her - However, another check in gentleman picked up her slack and set things straight. Good location for staying if you plan to "play" in the city! Bed was actually comfortable and pillows were plump- Room was clean. Retro feel to rooms and hotel - It is THE Palmer house after all!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,239 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £45 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmer House A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Palmer House A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing