We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #97 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Perfect location and nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

The hotel is beautiful, and of course the lobby is wonderful. The rooms are good, clean, and service great. Most of all the location is perfect to see the sights of Chicago. Easy access to public transit. Loved it all. Chicago is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachboywantabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,226
    2,889
    1,327
    639
    311
See reviews for
1,498
2,138
468
2,953
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,688)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My wife and daughter are on property as I am writing this. they are part of a group of 200 mostly teens in town for a choir perfromance. Let's start with the basic no free WIFI???? Really this is your next generation that will be graduating college in 10 years and you won't give them free WIFI? They purchased in excess of 40 rooms for a 4 night stay. To make matters worse you want to charge for each unit that signs into the wifi within the room. Really??

I travel all over, I am gold memeber of Hilton & Marriott, Platinum member of Holiday Inn and I can't believe the lack of Hospitality that this hotel is giving.
Last night the kids got back to the Hotel just as the pool was closing. They asked if it was possible to keep it open just a little longer (the heat index in Chicago yesterday was 111 degrees. The answer the got was DENIED!!.

I know one place whe nI am in Chicago that I won't be booking a room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I just stayed at the Palmer House on a weekend trip to Chicago with my girlfriend. The location of the hotel is amazing! You are one block from Grant Park, the Art Institute, and a cluster of Metro stations that will pretty much get you anywhere in and around Chicago.
Also - just check out the lobby if you are in the area, it's beautiful!
As well, the excellent service must be noted - our concierge, Shah, was super helpful with recommending a great restaurant for us. Being a Chicago native, he seemed to really know his way around, and that was great! His recommendation turned out awesome, and we got to enjoy one of the best steaks of our lives. :) Thanks again for everything Shah!
I would definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting Chicago. :)

Room Tip: elevators are slow (it's a very old building), so if you can stay on lower floors or the executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Septima Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you sharing your review on the Palmer House and we are so trilled to hear you had an excellent stay. We welcome you back anytime and we look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Flew to Chicago on way to Detroit. When we arrived at hotel we we asked if we'd like to upgrade to executive floors which has larger rooms complimentary buffet breakfast and tea time nibbles with free soft drinks. I would highly recommend this for 45$ as long as you use it you get your money's worth. Plus the room we were given was 2 rooms knocked into one with2 bathrooms. This hotel is stunning although it probably is a little too large and impersonable for my liking.

Room Tip: Perhaps see if you can getupgraded to executive level free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m glad to have read that you enjoyed the executive level upgrade. Thank you for sharing your review on the Palmer House—we certainly appreciate it!

Best regards,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel offered access to almost any desired Chicago venue. The lobby was a great conversation spot with a terrific bar, plenty of nooks/seating, and lovely decor. We had a much smaller room than the others in our group with a hellacious window view but it was clean and comfortable... The bathroom was almost cruise ship size but functional in every way. LOL! Can't say enough about the staff...very proactive in serving guests and responsive to requests.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanie1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on the Palmer House. I’m sure your stay was pleasant and you had a chance to enjoy Chicago. Again, thank you for your response—we appreciate it!

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The Palmer was not our wedding venue, but we did have our room block here and we were very pleased. Our guests were so impressed with the old world ambience of the Palmer House and its amazing customer service. Our only hiccup was early on in the process when guests calling to make reservations were told our block was sold out when it wasn't even close to being sold out. But a quick call to our contact, Demetrios Kimple, and all was corrected and he even told me I could give all my giests his name and tell them to ask for him directly to make their reservations if I wanted. That was awesome. My now-husband and I stayed three nights ourselves at the hotel for convenience to downtown (we live on the North side) and even though we paid the same affordable room rate as everyone else for a standard room ($179/night), when we opened the door to our room it was a HUGE one-bedroom fully remodeled and gorgeous suite. I couldn;t belive it. It has two bathrooms and a dining room and a wet bars and a living room area and then a separate bedroom behind a closed door with its own bathroom. This was hte perfect place for the bridal party to hang out the morning of the ceremony getting hair and makeup done, and also the day after the wedding our friends concregated there to watch the Belmont Stakes on our huge flatscreen tv. We felt so pampered, especially with the champagne and chocolate covered strawberries that were waiting for us as well! I have actually stayed at he Palmer several times for business as well and had a few business meetings there, and the catering is great, the service is impeccable, and particpants always leave happy. Even the valet and bellhops are wonderful, and the bartenders actually know how to make a good cocktail. Best hotel in Chicago. Thank you Palmer House for making our wedding weekend spectacular!

Room Tip: Apparently some of the rooms are remodeled and some aren't? Might want to ask about that. The sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dharmamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed 2 nights in the Palmer House before setting off on a route 66 road trip. I did some research before I went and it paid off. You can get a train from the airport for $2.50 per person and the station is only 1 block away from the hotel. The hotel is superb, the room was large enough for the two of us. It was clean but there was no view from our room. The location is great aswell, right beside Grant Park. Breakfast was very nice. The only downside to the stay was the size of the bathroom, it was tiny.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xcasiox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on the Palmer House. I’m glad your research on the transportation to the hotel paid off. Again, thank you for time and feedback.

Best regards,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing