We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #98 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice getaway”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Friday night $99 for a small, but very clean and comfortable room. Peter Thomas Roth bathroom products and excellent mirror lighting help make up for the tinniness of the space. Fridge in room. Building is beautiful, great location. Will stay here again

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for the review, we are happy you enjoyed a nice getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,314
    2,955
    1,369
    661
    321
See reviews for
1,543
2,201
478
3,037
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,736)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our room was ready early and we were impressed with how comfortable and clean it was. Very quiet, too, (except for the trains...) The fitness room is well equipped, lots of machines, free weights and mats. Exceptionally nice. Staff were great - very responsive and accommodating. We stayed for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was great, too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tamara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and pointing out our fantastic fitness center. Hope to be of service to you in the future.

Regards,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Palmer House has a wonderful ambience, very nice rooms and is in an excellent location. We have stayed there all three times we've traveled to Chicago. We can walk to the museums, theaters, parks, Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile. There is also close access to the subways/train. The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 507tracya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are honored to be your favorite! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Reminiscent of old Hollywood with history of its own. Quiet elegance, well appointed/updated while preserving the history. If walls could talk ... If you prefer an up to date, modern hotel - this is not the place for you. But, if you appreciate history and nostalgia blended with appropriate room and property amenities - this is a must try. Lockwood's Restaurant is excellent - an extensive wine list and expert Sommelier and creative menu selections.
The Brownie was invented here and are still available for purchase (from the original recipe).
Convenient to shopping (Michigan Ave) and local attractions (Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park etc)
I have made the Palmer House my hotel of choice for every trip to Chicago!

Room Tip: High floors have great city views and less noise from the Train
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review of the Palmer House and Lockwood, we are so very proud of our history and work to celebrate it each and every day. We are thrilled you feel the same way we do!

Regards,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cary illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The lobby of this hotel is absolutely beautiful, be sure to take some time to enjoy it! Bartender at the main lobby bar makes a good mojito! Room was very comfortable, bathroom a bit small but to be expected in an historic building. Watch the q&a on the tv about the hotel history, very interesting. Wish the rooms would have coffee makers - available at most hotels now regardless of price point. We paid a bit more for a room on the 16th floor, not sure it was worth, much of the view was blocked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above 16th floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goingmoreplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Palmer House. Next time you are with us, give us a ring, we will get a coffee maker right up to you, and we provide them upon request. Glad you enjoyed our history facts, we like to share, and the mojito!

Kind regards,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My stay at the Palmer House Hilton on February 21st was very convivial. Check in starts at 12 noon, although they do offer an early check in for an additional $US 25. This hotel is one of the few remaining'Grand Hotels' of America.Check in and out were effortless.The decoration is very elegant in an Edwardian/ 30's style. Rooms very well furnished and my bed and pillows extremely comfortable. Do take time to visit the many ballrooms. If only they could talk!
My buffet breakfast was more than adequate for $15 + tax. The hotel is situated over a block with entrances on State Street, E Munroe St and Wasbash St. This is in the middle of the theatre district, with interesting shops, the Art Institute and Millennium Park within 5 minutes walk. The ' EL' is right outside on Wasbash but if you wish to walk to the Magnificent Mile then it is an easy stroll, passing many of Chicago's sites, whichever way you choose to walk. Buses run along State Street to the Magnificent Mile and also to the Field Museum and Shedd Aquarium .
This hotel is very convenient for catching the Blue Line subway to O'Hare Airport. The station is only 1 and a half blocks away- less than a 5 minute walk. This is a good value way of getting to the airport, as it only costs $2.25 each way- but you must have the correct money for the machine. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawyers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for choosing the Palmer House, we are most certainly in the center of it all. Would love to be of service to you again soon!

Cheers,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My reaction to the lobby was "Wow!" The rooms were small and a bit dated but clean and really what you'd expect in an old historic hotel. Service was very good. The lobby bar was either "hopping" or very crowded at cocktail time, depending on your point of view. For the higher floors, the elevators could be slow.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for choosing the Palmer House, yes, our elevators can get a little slower during peak times, we monitor regularly to reduce the impact to our guests. I do hope that would not deter you from being our guest in the future and enjoy our lovely lobby that has become a gathering place for hotel guests and locals alike.

Kind regards,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,869 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,465 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing