We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring Break 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #101 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spring Break 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel is beautiful! You feel as though you have stepped back to the 20's. The check in process was quick and stress-free. We took an hour and explored all the different ballrooms. They are nothing less than stunning! Great location, concierge service was top notch! Only downside was the size of the guest rooms, and a little maintenance was needed. Interior doors need painted, and trim was in rough shape. Very clean, as you would expect from a Hilton property. Overall very good experience and we will be back.

Room Tip: If you are going to be in your room a lot, I would spend more to get a bigger room. Our guest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,265
    2,916
    1,343
    652
    318
See reviews for
1,520
2,161
472
2,996
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,713)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This old building where the The Palmer House Hilton is located is fantastic, in the center of downtown the location is great for shopping and sight seen, close to the Art Institute Museum and the millennium park. This is a must place to stay in Chicago!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to have a room with the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Albert2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Palmer House for a business trip. The Hotel is stunning. Common rooms are amazingly gorgeous and inviting. Check-in was quick and easy, but I did check in after 9pm on a Tuesday night. My room was away from the elevator. But it was tiny. Awkwardly the television is not in front of the bed but to the side, making lying in bed and watching television, difficult. The bathroom was enormous compared to the room size. And well equipped. But the biggest issue was the thinness of the walls and doors. As people walked by my room in the hallway it felt like they were right next to me. I could clearly hear everything they were saying. Several times in the evening, I was woken up by other guests making their way to their rooms. Perhaps when booking a room, choose one at the end of the hallway, so no one has to pass by your door as you sleep.

Room Tip: Find one at the end of the hallway, to avoid foot traffic near your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StacyGwendolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troy, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Staffed by genuinely nice people. As this was our first time in Chicago we relied on the concierge staff to get us acclimated to the transit systems and the nuances of the attractions. They did a great job and did not steer us wrong. Accommodations were top notch, I would insist on a room away from the elevators as guests have a habit or yelling to others down the hall and getting on the elevators.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great place to stay!! Wonderful staff who are so helpful and polite. The hotel is a historic building, and it shows. The room walls are a little thin. Some of the furniture looks a little cheap, but the beds are super comfortable and the wonderful bellmen make up for any negatives this hotel might have.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank kal5381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Palmer House after attending a concert at the Chicago Theater. We were at the most three blocks away from the Hotel so the location is great, also a lot of places where to shop and dine around. The room in itself was very spacious but the bathroom wasn't clean, stains on the floor and shower. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was delicious. The hotel decor is beautiful, angels everywhere. I found a good rate since it was a last minute reservation but because the room wasn't clean enough unfortunately I don't think I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flushing, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our stay at the Palmer House was great. I felt the staff, especially the reservation desk workers (Edwardo) very friendly , accommodating to needs, This hotel has a pool/hot tub which is nice for travel with kids. I wish they had a coffee pot in the room. The hotel rooms were clean and the hallways/elevators were very well kept

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lynette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing