We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #97 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite Hotel in Chicago”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have stayed here MANY times over the years. The hotel was re-modeled a few years ago; overall experience, from rooms to service to dining, has improved, in my opinion. We booked two single rooms, but decided to upgrade for a nominal fee to the Club Floor. These rooms were on the 22nd floor, quiet, clean, comfy, not accessible to the general public (you will receive a special key to the elevator)--no view from the window, though. The Club Lounge (23rd floor) has improved--hot and cold buffet breakfast, same great wait staff. In the evening, the international hors d'oevre feature was sweet & sour chicken, vegetable stir-fry noodles, fortune cookies, plus basic snacks, like trail mix, non-alcoholic beverages. Cash bar. We didn't need to eat out that night.

Tried Lockwood restaurant for dinner one night. Very good food and wine. The scallop appetizer and the roast chicken entrée were superb. Excellent wine selection. Good value for the money re: wine. Lockwood has a bar in the lobby with a few tables there as well. The lobby is gorgeous and great for just relaxing after a long day of sightseeing. We enjoy having a cocktail and snack there to unwind, if we feel like it.

Hotel is centrally located to Millenium Park, the Art Institute, Orchestra Hall, Michigan Avenue. Love it. If you like history, check out the in-house TV channel that deals with the hotel's past. You'll appreciate your stay even more, I think.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,354
    2,987
    1,379
    666
    328
See reviews for
1,560
2,230
481
3,062
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,749)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Best hotel experience we've ever had! Our upgrade to the executive floor was so worth it! Perfect downtown location, minutes to parks, museums, river tour and shopping! Make time to have a cocktail in the historic lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hi
I rarely write a bad review but 2 years in a row the Hilton Palmer house has disappointed so finally I need to review it. Last year they lost my reservation so they put me in a cot in the conference room for the first night and then moved me into another crappy room under construction. They did comp me first night which they should have as I slept on a cot in a hospitality room but I had up
Fight for that. This year was disappointing again. Booked a room for $229 and they put me Into the smallest room I have ever seen. No more than 80 sq ft. No where is it stated in their website. I have been a hilton honors award member for many years and when I brought it up
To the front desk she was very rude about it. Terrible customer service. I was stupid to give them another chance. Not what I would expect out of a true Chicago old school hotel. Definitely not what I expect In a hilton property. There are so many better places to stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queendeb2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npyles, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Queendeb2121,

We welcome all feedback from our guests as it helps others see what we do well and also provides us with opportunities to improve in areas where we may have dropped the ball or mismanaged a situation. Your response merits further follow up and research on our end. Your review points to two different occasions where what you thought you booked and what you actually received ended up being different. Because this seems like an abnormality rather than the norm at our property we would like to gather more information regarding your previous stays and see what happened on our end. Please reach out to us by phone or email us at commentsph@hilton.com.

In regards to the parlor room with the cot. It is very rare that when a hotel reservation confirmation is provided to our registration desk that we are unable to locate or retrieve a reservation. Often times on nights when we are fully committed and the Chicagoland area is sold out with a convention or because of a big event, we offer Parlor Suites with a cot, like the one you mentioned, for travelers that show up a day earlier or a day later than their original confirmed reservation. We do this as a courtesy and last resort, rather than making the guest find accommodations on their own in a city with limited to no room vacancies. Again not sure if this was the case when you stayed with us but we look forward to hearing from you to discuss your stays in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Palmer on my first trip to Chicago. I was lucky enough to get a good rate ($109) per night for a Sunday through Thursday. The staff were nice. The hotel is exquisite. The renovation and decor is stunning. If you are not used to city sounds, stay above 14. Ask for a corner room. Our bell hop recommended this. We had windows on both walls which allowed for much more light than usual. The bathroom was good. Great light for a hotel. Decor was very art deco which we love. Contemporary with a flair of the dramatic. Very clean. Ask for a coffee pot if you prefer coffee in your room. Otherwise, there is a Starbucks on the ground level. We did have a small fridge, but no microwave. Ask about that if it is important.

Room Tip: For a quiet sleep, above the 14th floor. Ask for a corner room. Very bright and cheery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGirlATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our stay was perfectly acceptable but the most outstanding member of staff was wonderful Tracey. She dealt patiently, efficiently and amiably with all our requests. At one point she even walked us through to one of the many hotel exits and pointed us in the right direction! She really contributed to a wonderful 24 hours in Chicago, all with such good humour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antr0bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Extremely disappointed--at this price I expected so much better. My room was only okay: the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling and there were mold spots around the bathtub. Overall seemed like a hasty renovation job.

What really clinched my decision never to come back to this hotel (and indeed, spread the word about how terrible it is) was the service though. I had a couple of hours to kill after checkout so I brought my bags down to the bell desk. I didn't have any cash on me at the time of dropping off my bags, so I planned to tip extra upon coming back to pick them up. The bellhop was obviously displeased with this arrangement, and openly yelled sarcastic and hostile remarks as I walked away. I still tipped when I came back later to pick up the bags, but maybe I shouldn't have.

Plus, I found out shortly after my trip that the hotel had charged me twice for my stay. When I called to rectify this, I spoke to several people but none of them even so much as apologized. Instead they just nonchalantly told me that the refund would be processed in 7 business days.

Absolutely do not recommend this hotel. Don't be fooled by the lavish lobby. The service is absolutely horrendous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela D, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent stay on TripAdvisor.
I would like to apologize for the service failures you experienced during your recent stay and offer my assistance in regards to rectifying those issues. Please feel free to contact me directly and I would be delighted to be of service. Once again my apologies that your stay with us was not enjoyable. We hope to be able to assist and accommodate you again in the future to show you the true spirit of hospitality we are known for.

Kind regards,
Pamela Domma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

At first, The Palmer House struck me as an outdated hotel. After the first night it started to gain appeal. The large halls with pictures of celebrities that appeared at the Palmer House years ago did the trick. Milton Berle, George Burns, Liberace, Sid Caesar, Louis Armstrong....It is a large property a block from Michigan Avenue, near The Art Institute. The hotel is different, and for some reason, that has some appeal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 189 in Chicago
4,953 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing