We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel in Prime Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #102 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Used my points to get a room at this hotel for a birthday weekend. Super easy to get to from Midway on the Orange line. The location is great and we walked almost everywhere. I loved that we were only a couple of blocks off Michigan Avenue where all the great parks are located. We would take breaks during the day and sit in these amazing parks and watch the world go by. From this hotel you are about a 20 minute walk to the river. The lobby of this hotel is spectacular. We were upgraded to a full suite was was huge....living room, dining area, bedroom and two bathrooms. The rooms were very nice and even had iPod docking stations. Our room was over the train line but hardly even noticed when they went by. There is a Starbucks in the hotel at street level which was a nice surprise. Although we did not have a car, the parking in just at the next block and a one minute walk to the hotel. We did use the executive floor a couple of times for snacks and waters and the breakfast looked decent.

We had drinks and a light dinner at the hotel bar (oysters, truffle chips, raw salmon dish and bread pudding) and all were good. We thought the raw salmon dish could have used a little more seasoning but overall it was good. Service was exceptional.

Would highly recommend this hotel when traveling and staying in Chicago.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela D, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Monica,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday weekend at the Palmer House.
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor in regards to the grandeur of the Palmer House and the service you received.

We thank you for choosing us for your special weekend and for your loyalty to the Hilton family of brands and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Kind regards,
Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,924 - 4,930 of 9,454 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

For just $99 I got a huge room. There was no view but who cares if you're not in Chicago to stay in your room. I wandered the hotel and visited all the pretty rooms with no trouble. I bought a brownie at the bar and they prepared it for me to being to my room no trouble. This is the birthplace of brownies so you have to get one. If I can get that price again id absolutely stay here again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Annie6472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela D, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Annie,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed one of our delicious brownies. The Palmer House team would love to be of service again should your travels bring you back to the city of Chicago.

Kind regards,

Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Loved our corner room, the L was below us, but my husband and I enjoyed the noise and kept the window open all night long. Great restaurants and bars are just a few steps away. We ate at Millers Bar 2 times. I would stay at this hotel again. The beds were super comfy. The bathroom was very small but its an old hotel. It had a lot of character. Your in Chicago, how much time do you need to spend in your room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOCKEYMOM9496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

For me there is something for experiencing history when I travel. The Palmer House IS History! The challenge I usually have is that historic hotels have not been updated enough to be comfortable for the modern day traveler. My experience at The Palmer House was not this way, in fact the bathrooms were large and superior to many of the 4 and 5 * hotels that are more recently constructed. As with most inner city hotels, it is hard to get a room with a good view without breaking the bank, so the view of my room left a bit to be desired. I would say the only complaint that I have is that they have not upgraded their elevator systems and as a result you can wait as long as 10 minutes during the orning or evening rush to get in an elevator. they are very slow, despite the fact that 12 of them exist. That not withstanding, I would still say this hotel deserves at least 1 visit from every Chicago traveler who appreciated historic architecture. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World-Footprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel has all the charm of a grand dame. It's beauty is from a past era. The lobby and bar area are incredibly beautiful. I love to sit there with a glass of wine and absorb the craftsmanship and artistry, especially of the ceiling.

The guest rooms have the same old charm with updated amenities. Unfortunately, some are a bit worn. I love this hotel and always chose it over a generic, newer hotel because when I get a newer room, it's completely worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's been more recently refreshed. Some rooms are better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieF416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed Memorial day weekend. Booked the room 5 weeks in advance, still expensive. Choose it because it was close to public transportation. Lobby was massive and beautiful. It had a huge high ceiling, crowded with guests. We arrived about noon and chose not to pay $25 to check in early. We stored our luggage at the valet stand and it was fine. We did get a text when the room was ready. It had two beds and a bathroom, television, closet and a safe. ( I personally don't get the safe thing, but oh well.) My shoulder touched the toilet paper when sitting on the toilet. The tile floor was worn, scratched and stained. the paint on all doorways was chipped and nicked. No fan in the bathroom which made it necessary to keep the door open so the mirror doesn't steam, (not private at all) or wait for mirror to clear up. No ceiling fan, and my big complaint, no free wirelesss!! Come on, you can get free wifi every where in the world. For what we paid, we should get in room coffee, ( not available) or continental breakfast, ( not that either). Won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Can't help you here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mary2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I spent our last night in the USA at the hotel on our way back to Europe. The hotel was great even though we had paid for budget rooms. The hotel bar is just beautiful, take a look at the ceiling if you are there. We ate breakfast at the hotel and were at first a bit dubious as our waitress was stressed with lots of customers at the same time. She turned out to be excellent and was quick and helpful throughout the meal. Check-in and check-out was very easy and with very courteous and charming staff. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#105 of 192 in Chicago
5,382 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £74 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmer House A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palmer House A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing