We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #103 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The room was clean. That is the only good thing to say about it. Too small, uncomfortable, bathroom too small and ill equipped. no place to hang towels in use, TV placed so it could not be viewed from bed, complimentary internet did not work, heating did not maintin a constant temp. I advise anyone coming to Chicago to stay elsewhere

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Elise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishawa S, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I apologize to you for placing you in a room that you found to be uncomfortable and secondly, not rectifying this inconvenience while you were here. It is our goal to provide every guest with outstanding service and a level of comfort that should make you feel right at home.

The rooms in our historic hotel are a wide range of sizes and types. This allows us to cater to a variety of travelers and to insure that they are comfortable while they are with us. If it is brought to our attention that a guest is not comfortable , the multiple room design gives us the flexibility to upgrade guests to a totally different room type according to their specific room needs. Whether it’s a more humble room in square footage to a more generous family sized room, a double bed to a king bed or a full suite to a mini suite, we try to offer a number of room types to accommodate our guests.

We also have to ability to add notes about a specific stay to your Hilton profile so that we can avoid placing you in a room that you have identified as not meeting your standard of comfort.

I also would like to thank you for your comments about the internet and the temperature in the room. Your feedback allows us to determine areas to target and to continue to make improvements. We have an experienced team of qualified technicians looking into these situations as a result of your feedback.


Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,809 - 4,815 of 9,357 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at Palmer House Chicago for Color Run 2014! Run was awesome! Palmer House was big disappointment. Loud party across hall 2:30 am with screaming and profanity. Had to call security twice! Before hotel did anything. Drunk idiots playing football in the hallway with toilet paper rolls. Such a disappointment as hotel is full of history - but has lost its class allowing frat parties and public intoxication. At check out rep shrugged her shoulders and said 'sorry'. Classy place.

Will not stay there ever again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel nearby you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishawa S, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hello Jcoonan,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Comments like yours will help us prepare for several groups throughout the year.

I apologize that a frat party next door to you ruined your experience with us. We do our best to deter guests from having impromptu parties inside of their rooms but it seems that one has eluded us.

Our Security staff does a masterful job at protecting our 1640 room hotel as well as all of its occupants from outside entities but sometimes it’s our guests that get a little rowdy in the name of fun. That’s why we have instituted a strict noise complaint policy.

The policy states that if we are alerted to an impromptu party going on inside one of our guest rooms, we are to immediately clear the room of all of its occupants except for the registered guest (guests). At that point the registered guest is notified that their room has been flagged, meaning that if they register a 2nd noise complaint in the same night then Security will evict the registered guest (guests) and leave the room unoccupied.

In this case I’d like to believe that it was your two calls that put an end to that party and it is feedback like yours that has enabled us to keep noise complaints to a minimal.

Once again I’d like to apologize to you and to thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It took three times standing in line to get checked into my room. I'd upgraded to a suite and apparently they couldn't determine when or if it had bee cleaned. If check-out is 1100am, how could it be impossible to have rooms ready by check-in at 3, or 4 or 5pm?! On a holiday weekend no less. The fourth person I spoke with was the first to apologize Ms. K. Robinson. The room was large and clean, although a little dated. I was surprised to fine no coffee maker in the room. No bottled water. Just stayed at a Hampton Inn for work and THEY had a coffee maker and bottled water! The beds were comfortable and there was nice closet space. Service was just ok (room service). No one from the waiter at the bar, front desk staff or room service people were overly friendly. Maybe they were tired and tired of being snapped at. Other guests were loudly voicing their displeasure. I know that does no good, but seemed to get the brunt of the employees' attitudes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npyles, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Sushel,

It is disappointing to our staff and management team to read a review like yours as it means that we have failed to provide the experience we all strive to offer. We appreciate your honesty and will share your review verbatim with our team so that they can see how important a positive attitude and basic customer service can have a huge impact on a guest experience. I apologize that you weren’t able to get the experience that is typically offered by our staff. We are known for our great customer service and rich history and hope that you will give a us another chance in the future to show you that this was an anomaly not the norm for our property.

I am glad to see that your interaction with K. Robinson, part of our management staff, was pleasant and memorable, whoever I apologize that it took a manager to get something done as all of our team members are empowered to address guests needs.

I am unaware of which suite you had but often times and especially on holiday weekends our suites are a hot commodity. We do our best to turn the rooms in a timely manner and from your review it appears we fell short on the day of your arrival. Please feel free to contact me directly at nicholas.pyles@hilton.com should you choose to stay with us again in the future as I would like to personally ensure that your next stay is a memorable one for all the right reasons.

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

In my opinion this hotel could be better in terms of space and technology. I couldn't connect to the WIFI network they have, I must go to the lobby and get the internet from Starbucks or Freshi. The Location of the Hotel is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morichiitamii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela D, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Palmer House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and apologize for your troubles with our wifi connection in the lobby. I would like to assure you that we will review your feedback with our IT team as an opportunity for improvement.

Kind Regards,
Pamela Domma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Pros: Great location; neato historic lobby; Starbucks on street level; good night's rest, quiet, comfortable room and bed. Enjoyed the older feel to this stately hotel, minor dings and all.

Cons: older property that has not been fully renovated, small bathrooms (but clean and functional!), had to pay for wi-fi, popular convention and tourist hotel, so pretty busy/full occupancy during my stay meant long lines for check in and taxis. No coffee in room; that's just silly. Hard to navigate hallways/finding elevator and room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npyles, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Bobeana,

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s always a delight to find travelers that can appreciate an older property and some of the character (dings, coats of paint, etc) that come with it. We do our best to maintain the hotel as it is now 89 years young.

You are right about our bathrooms being small in many of our rooms as many of them are the original size that came with the building. For those looking for a large bathroom I would recommend one of our ADA roll-in shower guest rooms. They are much larger and offer the space that many of us now days are accustom too.

Next time you are with us let us know you would like a coffee maker in the room at checkin and we will be sure to have one sent up complimentary. While they are not standard in every room they are complimentary for all who wish to have one put in their room while they are staying with us.

We hope you will come back and visit us again. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with others.

Sincerely,

The Palmer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Traveling
for a Bears game , hubby and I decided to stay in the Palmer House. A loop hotel vs the Michigan Ave hotel. And we were not disappointed one bit. The location was across the street from the train underground direct from the airport. We always travel via public transportation. Walking distance to all the great sites, shopping and Jimmy Johns (yummy). The rooms are small, but quaint, comfy and cozy. The Starbucks in the lobby was convenient. And just down the block is an establishment called The Bar Below... Very good hang out place. We also hung out in the bar area of the hotel and gazed in awe at the beautiful architecture. A definite return is in the horizon. da Bears!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masfinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npyles, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Masnifar,

Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate your prospective and you taking the time to share your experience you had while staying at our property with others via TripAvisor. We look forward to providing you with the same level of uncompromising service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us on your next visit and hope that you will join us for many more Bears games in the future!

Sincerely,

The Palmer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Searching through many hotels in Chicago and then I landed on the Palmer House- Starbucks in the lobby and a pool for my Granddaughter- grand old charm for my mother and the hotel experince right in the middle of Chicago for me. we did opt for a room close to the elevators for less walking which was a great idea.( Elevators a little slow and some rooms quite aways a way., Staff was very nice to change ourt rooms) I would stay in the Palmer house on any Chicago trip!

Room Tip: Close to elevator-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDB b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npyles, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

JDB b,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with everyone. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and that you found our staff to be accommodating and friendly. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
5,342 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,939 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £76 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmer House A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palmer House A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing