We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #102 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for a 3 night visit. Excellent location and an impressive and historic hotel. Room size was fine but double bed seemed small which is unusual these days. Nice sized bathroom with excellent shower.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ducks2213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,849 - 4,855 of 9,454 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

THis is a real treasure. Very deco. Rooms are a bit smaller but was fine. Bathroom is small. Very clean, very comfortable. Great location. Walk everywhere and close to the El if you want to go to other parts of the city. We even walked our luggage to the El and it had an elevaor and went to the airport for 3 dollars each. We never do this...but it was so easy and they told us that if we took a cab the traffice would be horrible. The conceriege was great--Tracy was very helpful and the staff was great. There is no coffee machine in the room...i had to ask for one. It would have been nice to have a robe also. Also no daily newspaper --which most hotels give these days. the gym was excellent. I suggest that they put recycle bins in the room...for paper and cans. Most hotels do these days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schlockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here for a conference for two night and will not return. While not super expensive booking through my conference and nicely situated downtown I had two terrible nights' sleep. My room was so tiny that even the room service person commented on how small it was and I felt like I was sleeping in the hallway because I could hear everything going on out there. The walls were also very thin and between my neighbor coughing and other peoples room doors slamming I am coming home exhausted. The room itself was fine, could use some paint. The bathroom was nice. Room service was outrageously expensive as expected. The staff I dealt with were all helpful and
professional. But what should have been a better night sleep away from my 3 little kids was most definitely not.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npyles, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Sorry to hear that you had such a horrible stay in our hotel. We do have some smaller rooms in our hotel however when possible we would be more than happy to accommodate a room change so that you could have a little more room to relax. We also provide box fans for those that choose to use them for “white noise” which often leads to a better night’s sleep in any downtown, centrally located hotel. Again we would like to apologize for the horrible sleep you had and hope that next time your company/convention is back in town that you will give us another chance.

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Absolutely fabulous I highly recommend it.The Palmer House was full of spectacular original black-and-white photographs of some of the greatest actors and actresses the US is ever had. Coupled with vintage 1940s glamour architecture and furnishings it was a throwback to the heydays of the glamorous US 40s.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Perfect location for getting around on foot or by bus. The lobby is spectacular and well preserved. They tout its history and I enjoyed learning about it all and the amazing art. It is a very busy place, full of conventions and tourists, but it was pleasant and people were upbeat. Very good service. Great meal at the restaurant and the lobby bar. Bartenders so friendly, even gave my husband a surprise birthday treat, their signature brownie! Room was very comfortable, yes you can hear fairly well through the adjoining walls but people were quiet. I wish they had left the coffee makers in the room. With so many guests it was hard waiting in the long line at the lobby Starbucks. Would have been nice to have a cup in the room and then venture down for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great place for a conference. Helpful staff, convenient to mass transportation, shopping and restaurants. Beautiful hotel and helpful staff. Avoid having a room with a connecting door to minimize noise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were here for a family wedding. There were many of us staying at the hotel. It would have been really nice if they could have put us all on the same floor. We all had made reservations 4-5 months in advance and had an average stay of 3 nights. Other than that, it was a beautiful hotel and a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#105 of 192 in Chicago
5,383 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £74 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmer House A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palmer House A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing