We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$72 for overnight parking!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #98 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“$72 for overnight parking!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The lobby of the hotel is absolutely magnificent without a doubt, but I really don't understand all the rave reviews for this place. We stayed here for one night Aug 15, 2014 and our room (No 10207) was terrible. We could hear the "L" all night. The carpet is worn; the room poorly lit, and the furnishings are dated, and the bathroom is in serious need of an overhaul. The bed was short sheeted, one of my pet peeves. I hate when the sheets and mattress pad slip away to reveal the mattress where so many people have been sleeping. Really, Hilton could get a decent pair of sheets, I could have gotten them sheets with what they charged me for parking. $72 - is that necessary? We did valet, but still one night, $72. We called down for our car, and it took well over 30 minutes for them to bring it around. And another thing, our reservation was for one room, two people. We had exactly two bath towels and one hand towel; I'm sure we could have asked for more, but that's not the point. And they were thin from wear. There was not in-room coffee or tea, and no coffee in the lobby in the morning. There are much better places to stay in Chicago for the price, and with better locations too. I would not recommend this hotel. Stop in to have a drink at the lobby bar, beware, it will be pricey. The lobby is spectacular, and you may learn some interesting Palmer House history, for example, Potter Palmer gave the hotel to his wife Bertha for a wedding gift, but you can read all about that in Devil in the White City.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the "L", it can be pretty noisy. Don't valet park, for that m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaco1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishawa S, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Valued Guest,

Im wish that we could have made a better impression on you during your stay. The problem that you experienced with your sheets is something that Im sure that we could have found a solution for. It is always the simple details that make or break a guest stay and I want to thank you for bringing that to our attention.

Our parking situation is competitive with the downtown Chicago area. We offer overnight self parking in a garage directly across the street form the hotel that has in-and-out privileges for $42.00 a night. The parking that is underneath the hotel is the garage that is used for Valet. We offer both and we let our guests decide which is the best option for them.

I really hope that you give us another look in the near future.

Thank you again for sharing your honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,224
    2,886
    1,327
    639
    311
See reviews for
1,498
2,137
467
2,950
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,688)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

the room was not as big as it seen in the hotel picture, and guest service was not clear about how the gift cards work, No good window view, and this was in the executive room. I do believe my stay could have been better, the website is not as clear of what you get for what you pay for, need more fully picture of the room, and what you order on line to be delivery to your room may not be there when you get there, so be prepare to reorder it when you check in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Darrell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
231 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I spent three nights here in August. The beds are very comfortable (my top criteria), the pillows are also very comfortable. The rooms are nicely appointed, the staff was friendly beyond belief. The building is breathtakingly beautiful and very nicely restored. The hotel is in an amazing location, walkable to much of downtown Chicago.

It was a great trip and I'd stay here again. Only tip I would offer is that if you end up with an inside room you may not see the sun, or even be able to tell if it's day or night, cloudy or sunny outside. But, I spent very little time in the room.

Room Tip: Inside rooms look at other buildings and down on the gym. They're dark and it's often diffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Where2GoWhere2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishawa S, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments.

Im ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to duplicate the experience that you had with every guest that enters our doors. I will share your comments with other employees as we love to hear comments about the staff being kind. Your comments will help to keep employees morale high and will let know that our you appreciate all that they do.

Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mississippi
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

2nd time staying at this place. its very nice on the inside. the rooms are clean, etc.

the only complaint i have is the exterior streets get kinda sketchy in the evenings...maybe im overreacting but i felt uneasy a couple of times walking back from dinner.

Would i go back? for a conference yes. for a personal trip i would stay on the north side of the river..

would i recommend? its convenient and very nice so yes. Just stay with a group outside the hotel after about 8pm.

Room Tip: ask for a high level due to the train track outside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank popedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishawa S, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello Valued Customer.

Thank you for your review of our property.

Thank you for pointing out that you did not feel safe outside of the building. We have taken steps to make our guests feel more comfortable when they leave the property and wonder a few blocks away. We offer the 1st district police department free meals in out staff cafeteria. This give the hotel and it's sounding area a heavier presence from the police force that may not be noticed by guests if you are not looking for it but is definitely noticed by people who may intend to do harm. These officers are friends to the Palmer House and they respond very quickly when a call come in over the radio when it concerns the Palmer House.

Thank you for sharing your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This Hilton property is a large, historic and beautiful building. The public spaces are clean and elegant. That is a marked contrast to our room-the surfaces were covered in visible dust and the last guests unopened beer bottles were next to the curtains. The dust ruffle had obvious stains on one side. However, the daily maid service was very thorough and our room was quite clean. Maybe it's hit or miss. Our king bedded room was average size.

Room service was prompt, never had to wait the quoted 30 minutes. Our biggest complaint was the loud groups of guests talking in the halls.

Room Tip: Room at the end of the corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishawa S, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with Tripadvisor.

Im happy that you enjoyed the beauty of the hotel. So much work goes into keeping the hotel beautiful and clean in a 24 hour period and with comments like your we know that we are moving in the right direction.

Initially is seems that that direction did not include your room as you described as a "hit or miss".
Every one of our 1600 rooms are serviced everyday and some twice a day so the experienced housekeeping ladies work quickly and efficiently to complete this task. Im glad that you got to see the housekeeping ladies in action after you were comfortable in your room. We will continue our training with staff and your comments have helped tremendously. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Palmer House is wonderful! This was our second stay. We stayed for 3nights. It's magnificence when you walk in, makes you feel like you could be a movie star in the 1940s due to the ornate decor, history and atmosphere. Check in (any time after 3) was fast and easy, with very pleasant staff. For some reason, my bf and I always get stuck closest to the elevator which is always very noisy. It was also right next to the ice room; quite noisy. But, in the long run, who cares. Someone has to stay there.
We stayed in room 101 on the 11th floor. It was a king bed. The room was little on the small size, but remember when this was built. The bathroom was very clean and towels nice and fluffy. Not much counter space at ALL, so ladies claim the back of the toilet with your toiletries bag before hubby! Always hot water but no fan so, the mirrors get so steamed up (concern=in a hurry to do makeup/hair for night out?) The BR light is SUPER BRIGHT or nothing--no in between--, so it can be a little shocking during a nighttime run.
Bed was extremely comfortable. Only had housekeeping come in once and they did a great job.
The on site restaurants we're delish! Potter's Bar had a good variety of menu items that were reasonably priced, service was wonderful and atmosphere desirable. The other restaurant "Lockwoods" is expensive, but we splurged. The chef is extremely talented and creative. We were very impressed and had a beautiful experience, so in our opinion, every penny was well spent. Location of the hotel is prime-- right by Millenium park and only a block or 2 from the Blue Line (train we took from O'Hare to downtown). There is a Starbucks in the lower level of Palmer and attached is a healthy food store called Freshii, where I purchased breakfast items. I tried the express checkout via TV as card suggested, but it was "unavailable at this time." I then did it via telephone--so easy. My favorite things were the hotel lobby and the many historic pictures throughout! Stay here, you won't be disappointed... And you'll be back!

Room Tip: Don't get room by elevators--such a busy hotel with congregating visitors and screaming kids at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vawgin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishawa S, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Wow!
Thank you for your great review!

It sounds like you experienced everything that we had to offer. Im glad that you don't believe in a wasted trip.I really enjoyed reading your comments and your tip about claiming space in the bathroom made me smile.

Being a perfectionist, there are a few of your comments that will help us get better. I appreciate your objective point of view and thank you again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was a very plush hotel with a fabulous lobby and in a very convenient location. But I found it not especially friendly (after 2 weeks on the SO friendly West Coast) and a bit stiff and corporate for our liking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishawa S, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your comment. Im glad that you enjoyed the hotel while you were here. It has been and always will be a pleasure to serve you. We want to make sure that you feel valued, cared for and respected.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,298 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing