We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #99 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 6 days, it was clean and the décor is historic. It is in a good area for walking to a lot of the tourist sights. I would definitely stay again. The staff were friendly and willing to help with booking tours.

Room Tip: If you want a coffee maker, you must ask for one. Not supplied in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishawa S, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
Our staff loves to be mentioned in reviews because it lets them know that they have made an impression. Thank you for choosing us for your week stay and I look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,351
    2,986
    1,377
    666
    328
See reviews for
1,558
2,229
481
3,060
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,747)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I just stayed at this hotel with my best friend and it was wonderful. When we first checked in we were given a small room with one bed, but after asking to be moved to a room with 2 doubles, we were accommodated.
The cleaning staff was great and our room was always made up by mid-afternoon. We didn't make use of many of the facilities but the lobby was always busy and the fitness centre looked great.
There is a little cafe in the lobby (Freshii) which was a great option for breakfast as was the Corner Bakery nearby.
You can walk almost anywhere when you stay at this hotel, but bring good shoes since it can be 15-20 minutes to get to the heart of the Magnificent Mile. But the walking is a good way to work off all the great food you will eat. :)
The only complaints I had were that the elevator can be quite slow during peak hours and on the day we were to check out, they deactivated our room keys prior to the scheduled check out time. So, after our quick breakfast at The Corner Bakery at 9:30 am (check out is 11am), we were not impressed to have to track down security to get back into our room to finish packing.
Overall, it was a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seachele1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishawa S, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with Tripadvisor. You added some wonderful tips that many of our guests can use.

Im so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I want to apologize for the key issue. We value your time and we hate that you had to spend extra time to get back into your room. I only hope that Security was fast and efficient.

Thank You again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a few days and it is truly an old gem. My husband enjoys the old charm and workmanship and this hotel had it. Rooms are very nice and comfortable but are on the smaller side as I would expect for an older property. However, the location is good and the staff is friendly. Within a few steps are some good restaurants including the pub right next door (Millers I think), the bakery/coffee house, and a casual Italian restaurant. Within 5-6 blocks is the state street macys where I had a lot of fun with my mom and plenty of other good shopping. Also a good location for the park which is only a couple blocks away too. All and all a good location and nice hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MiddleAgedTravlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Rooms very small. Average clean. Plumbing very noisy. Mildew in bathroom. Needs a full renovation. Positive: Close to everything. Did get upgraded to a better room after pointing out shortfalls. Regular room rates posted on internet were cheaper than the group rate I got. Was there for 5 nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric25235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishawa S, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for posting a review.

We value your view of our property and loved the fact that you pointed some areas out that we can improve in. Im so glad that you have us the opportunity to make it right with you by upgrading you to a better room during your stay. We want to make a wonderful impression on every guest the first time and if we fail in that task, we ask that we have the opportunity to recover before you check out.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights for a conference. The historic lobby is beautiful. Rooms are ok with the tiny bathroom in need of a renovation. 24/7 fitness center is spacious with good equipment. Service is about par for a Hilton property. For the location and at the right rate not a bad choice.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank appenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishawa S, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Palmer House. We value your comments and it helps us plan for the future.

Im so glad that you enjoyed the Fitness Center. It is newly renovated with all new equipment . We made a change for the previous fitness center because of our wonderful guests steering us in the right direction with constructive comments.

Thank you again for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just came back to a 4 nights stay at the fabulous Palmer House in Chicago.Love it!
You can feel and see the history of that beautyfull building. well locaded, very good service and food.
some rooms are small but nothing missing for your confort.

love it and will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexC798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Best position in the city - really central. Comfortable room and courteous, caring service by the staff team at Palmer House. Good bar area - but city pricey. Close for all the places you will want to eat or visit.

Room Tip: Had great room to share with my sister - lovely large room, with 2 Queen size beds and 2 bathrooms p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnCMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,041 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 189 in Chicago
4,938 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 189 in Chicago
4,513 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing