We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for parents with kids going to Lollapalooza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #98 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
“Great place for parents with kids going to Lollapalooza”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We wanted a hotel near Grant Park since our kids (17 & 20) were going to Lollapalooza at Grant Park. We also wanted something centrally located where we wouldn't need to get our car or take a cab. I read all of the reviews and found that the Palmer fit all of our needs. I was a little worried since some of the reviews mentioned tiny rooms and/or being located near noisy elevators but there will always be a bad review or two. Our fears were solidified when, after check in, we entered an elevator with a disgruntled British woman who was clearly unhappy. She couldn't stop complaining for the entire ride on the elevator. When she got off of the elevator we all wondered what our experience would be like.

Let me back up...I booked through Priceline and called a few days later to put in a few requests. We were reserving 2 rooms for 4 nights and I wanted the rooms near each other and I wanted one of the rooms to have 2 double beds. When I booked through Priceline all they showed left were Kings. When I contacted the Palmer directly, they had no record of my reservations through Priceline. They stated I could book 2 rooms as insurance and cancel up to the day before our stay if need be once we worked out the problem with Priceline. I got everything worked out and the hotel was very helpful. The rooms were rather large, were not near the elevator, they accomodated my requests (the rooms were connected with one being a double and one a king).

We had a very nice stay. No problems - very comfortable beds. All hotel staff were friendly. The only downside is the parking. $51 per day - but you're in downtown Chicago where every square foot of real estate has a price. They also charge for internet - wireless or wired but with more and more hot spots popping up this may not be a problem much longer but if you're on the 10th floor you may be stuck.

Hotel is very close to The Art Institute. Within walking distance of Magificent Mile (a long walk - 1.4 miles). Near shopping on State Street. We walked to Navy Pier. There is a Cafe on the corner right next to the hotel (no access via hotel but cheaper than eating in the hotel). Starbucks within hotel. Willis Tower, Millenium and Grant Parks within walking distance. Hop on/Hop off double decker bus has a stop at Palmer. The El is directly outside the hotel. Water taxi from stop at Willis Tower is within walking distance.

I would return. I could not find anything to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craddock01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,358
    2,992
    1,380
    669
    328
See reviews for
1,564
2,234
481
3,065
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,750)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We booked this hotel at a tour operator in Germany at a great rate. We liked it a lot. The room was small but clean and comfortable. We did not hear our neighbours or suffered from a small bathroom. Everything was fine. We had dinner at Potter's Lounge (a bar style restaurant) which was fine with good cocktails, burgers and salads. Ther lobby in art deco style is just amazing. The hotel is located within the loop and close to everything. It is just a short walk from the Art Institute and Millenium Park. We liked it a lot and will come again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallaBudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I stayed at the Palmer Hotel 7/29/2010 - 8/2/2010. PLEASE DONT LISTEN THE BAD REVIEWS OF THIS PLACE!!! I almost stayed at another hotel because of the negative reviews. The hotel was perfect I arrived at 8:00am for early checkin and did not have any issues. I am a clean freak, to the point I was prepared to go across the street to CVS and by cleaning supplies if needed. The room was very clean , I doubled check the bath room drains and shower curtain and under the bed and it met my expections. I did turn down the comfortor because I dont trust that to be clean no matter where I stay. I had a room with two double beds and found it to be spacious. Yes, the bathroom counter could have been bigger - but at least it was clean with granite top and marble floors and more mirrors than I will ever need! Yes, the view outside my room was of the building next door but you are in downtown chicago what do you expect (room 14-264)! Also the train is near the hotel but I didnt hear it nor did I allow it to hender my stay! This Hotel is right in the middle of everthing, everything is within walking distance. Michigan Mile, Millineum park, restaurants, Filen's Basement and starbucks is INSIDE the hotel!!! We only took a taxi when we went to Gibsons steak house it 's further north by Ohio and Rush streets. $6 taxi ride.

Everytime we returned to the room it was clean with fresh towels - again no complaints. The concierge was very helpful but the line was very long. TIP B&B restaurant on state st. next door to the Hotel will deliver to your hotel room - we had breakfast in bed every morning and the food was sooo good!!

I have no complaints about the hotel other than they should add a dance club then it would be PERFECT.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shushopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Nice hotel. Great downtown location. Had a room above the smoking floor. I basically had a smoking room. Pretty strong odor. Hotel staff switched my room the next day. Was pleased with the diamond floor. The other floors are very dated.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bustraveler0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
284 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

i arrived with 16 yr old daughter and her friend on Friday of Lollapalooza around 12:30. They went to concert, hotel was a zoo and rooms were not ready till 3. I had been up all night. I sat in the lobby for 2 hours where it was horribly loud, crowded and the muzak was screaming. Finally I went to a small room off the lobby, put down my 3 pieces of luggage and put my head down for 30 min. I was awakened by a security guard who told me I could not 'sleep on the floor" I explained that I was exhausted, waiting for a room, but he made me move.

Next, i checked in with my HHonors number. The clerk replied" you haven't used this in six months". That's all he said. not welcome, nada. I checked into the small dark room on 13th floor room 244 where I had a view of a brick wall. The room had no coffee maker, nor did it have a refrigerator.

The next day, the room attendants did not replace the dirty glasses, nor did they dust the furniture or vacuum beneath the bed., I went to the workout room where I was charged $10 to use a treadmill and bike. The pool was too short to do laps. The hotel also has no free internet, just free boarding pass.

The final straw was when I checked in my luggage the last day. The tall fellow said in a rude way "THANKS SO MUCH" when I didn't have a tip. i was out of cash and came back with money to tip on picking up the luggage. However, he was quite rude.

I stay in Chicago every year, sometimes twice. This hotel is no different than a Motel 6 for what it offers. The food and drinks are overpriced. The employees are rude. I will never ever recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This hotel is centrally located. We had a standard room which was very clean and spacious. You can print boarding passes for free in the ground floor business centre, but have to pay for wi fi connection for anything else - I always find this very strange in any hotel! For a plush city hotel I also felt that bath robes and coffee making facilities should have been provided in the room. For breakfast try the Corner House bakery on the corner outside the hotel - great food and prices.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolateloverlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This hotel has great amenities and is one block from the amazing Mullennium park. On two rail lines, including right on the Red Line, it's perfect to get to Wrigleyville. Some people have complained about iPhone coverage and mine is 100% everywhere in the hotel (even works in the city subway - something New York needs to get
on!). The room is smaller but adequate, with a desk and nice leather and wood swivel chair. The decorations in the room are tasteful and the hotel lobby is beautiful. There isn't really a view in the room but with the park next door, who needs that? Overall - great hotel! I am sure that being on the L line side would be miserable but request another area. It's not the Intercontinental Paris but it's pretty close.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IliveITB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,047 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#99 of 189 in Chicago
4,957 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,523 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing