We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a long weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Ranked #38 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a long weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Lovely and clean hotel - just what you'd expect from a Ritz Carlton/ Four Seasons. Very nice location and the lobby is well above the noise/crowds on Michigan Ave. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant breakfast was delicious. The fitness center, however, was fine but not up to the usual Four Seasons standards. Low ceilings and small space with no views - not the norm for these hotels. All in all a great few days in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,552
    359
    150
    56
    32
See reviews for
528
572
73
748
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

The room was amazing, the staff was so attentive and a special thanks to Rosie for making sure we had everything we needed during our visit. I would suggest you ask for a room on the top floor so you can see the entire city. The view will take your breath away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clearview S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking time to review our Hotel. It means so much to us to hear your feedback. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and of course, the gorgeous view.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Our stay was absolutely spectacular. Could not ask for anything more, First class, all the way. Our room was beautiful, spacious, immaculate, fab view . Maybe the best stay experience ever for us. We arrived on Sat afternoon for a 530pm wedding at a nearby museum. Out room was ready for us upon arrival. 20th floor with a north east view. We were so happy to observe the lake, beach and boats.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stay here often when I am in Chicago on business. This has always been an exceptional hotel with a caring staff. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Beds are very comfortable. Dining in the restaurant is excellent…the food is well prepared and the service is over-the-top.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedsdds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Chicago Ritz for a weekend in July, and it was wonderful. The location cannot be beat and the view from our was gorgeous - on one side was the water and Navy Pier, and on the other, the Chicago sideline. The service was fantastic, from the front desk who moved things around to get us into our room early to the concierge who got us to the top of the waiting list at a popular brunch spot nearby. If you're heading to Chicago, the Ritz is where you should be.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have stayed at the Ritz Carlton Watertower many times before, but it has been several years. We were so surprised how the level of service has declined. It seems it is now run my Marriot and it certainly shows in the lack of details one would expect at a Ritz Carlton. The location is fantastic, in the heart of the Gold Coast and near everything. The building is wonderful and the Watertower shops are right in the building. The views of the city for the rooms are spectacular. The rooms however are a bit “tattered” and not at all Ritz quality we are used to. The carpet was worn, the furniture not spotless and the amenities, well, really second class. The bed linens were nothing special and the old bathrooms with tubs and shower curtains are silly for a room that costs what this did. Bathroom amenities were nothing special. All the touches are gone. No turn down service (unless you request it), not even chocolates on the pillow anymore! There is no coffee maker in the room (had to request it and then had to constantly request it to be replenished), had to beg for water and extra towels and had to call every day we were there for the same things. The TV did not work (lost signal) and it seems the remotes always need batteries. It was a nice place but all the little details that used to make it such a wonderful experience were gone, what a shame. The food in the restaurant was great although expensive. Heath club and gym were adequate but also lack the details and amenities they used to have. With so many nice hotels in the area, we will choose more carefully next time. We left disappointed which is such a shame as we had such fond memories of this hotel from the past!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunTravelerForSure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just down the block from Water Tower, right off the Miracle Mile, this upper floor bastion of calm and cool is a welcome respite from the wonderful chaos of Chicago. The service is lovely, the rooms are spacious with nice details (iPod docks, extra outlets next to the bed with phone chargers, etc..), lots of drawer space, delicious sheets and towels, luxury bath products from L'Occitaine, and great big windows offer an incredible view of the lake. Great live music many nights on the main lobby level in a casually elegant setting. We have stayed here several times for business and pleasure and are always grateful for the great service, peace, quiet, and elegance. While not cheap, think of it as a great investment in your sanity in the Windy City, and far cheaper than the therapy needed to combat chaos and stress !

Room Tip: A lake view room is guaranteed to afford you the best mix of cool city architecture and cool blue wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverDoctorMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#9 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing