We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best all around hotel in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Ranked #48 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best all around hotel in Chicago”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I've stayed in all the fancy hotels in Chicago. This hotel is by far the total package. Staff was amazing. Location was perfect. The lobby is beautiful and outdoor lounge had that perfect vibe. Great for couples,singles, and families. This hotel really does offer everything. So glad I tried this hotel. Usually we stay at the peninsula, but now I will only start at the ritz.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Daash,

Thank you for the fantastic review! We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,603
    376
    163
    63
    35
See reviews for
550
589
77
786
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Here's the deal,,,, the whole reason you write a review is to inform others of your experience so that they can make the right decision on picking the right property. The Ritz IS in a great location, right smack in the middle of the Mag Mile, near shopping and great restaurants, walking distance to beach, Navy Pier and short rides to numerous other attractions in the city. The staff is excellent and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The décor in the lobby is beautiful and the décor in the rooms is fine except for the bathrooms. The bathrooms are SO outdated, they are not "so last year" they are "so last decade" but they are clean. For the prices you pay at this hotel you expect a lot nicer. The in room dinning was excellent but I agree with another reviewer, it would be nice if they had coffee service in the room. The spa was great and the staff friendly and helpful but the pool was a bit disappointing as we were there with our 3 year old grandson and I have to say not kid friendly. It was cold and partitioned off for laps, so if you have small children it also starts at 3.5 ft. and goes to 10ft. but good for adults. The hot tub or jaquizzi was weird, it seemed like you were in a tank, hard to get in and out for any age.
The bottom line here is that you pay so much for your stay that you really expect everything to be perfect. The great thing about Chicago is that you have a lot of exceptional 5 star hotels to pick from. Here's a tip for management, we stayed at a 5 star hotel that had Keurig coffeepots with K cups in the rooms, the best idea ever!

Room Tip: We had a corner 2 room suite with great views of the city with partial lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi and P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Mimi and P,

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback regarding your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy the location and service; however, I am sorry to hear that some of the appointments were not what you expected of a luxury hotel in Chicago. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to learn from your feedback. I hope that you will consider us for your next trip to Chicago and that we will have the opportunity to serve you once again.

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A friend and I recently had a three-night's stay at hte RC Chicago; it was our second such stay in the past few years. Overall, it was a great stay. What can I say, it's the Ritz! The hotel - outside, lobby, and rooms are welcoming, warm, and well maintained. The lobby is well appointed and always smells of fresh flowers. The staff was very helpful and was available whenever we had questions or requests. The rooms are clean and spacious, and they were very good about meeting our request for a rollaway bed. The only "just average" elements are the restaurant and room service food (except for the chocolate cake, which is exceptional), and the $65 per night valet parking, which seemed a bit extreme even for the RC. We also had the opportunity to check out and use the fitness center ... again, no complaints there. The location is PERFECT - safe and close to everything you'll want to see or do; we will definitely be back for another visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear CarlNova,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago! I am thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay! We appreciate your feedback regarding room service and Deca restaurant and look forward to being of service to you once again.

Warm regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

recently went to chicago on business and stayed at the Ritz Carlton. had a fabulous time. the location doesnt get any better. when i checked in, the check in person was friendly and professional. she did try to upsell me; but upon my decline, she nevertheless upgraded my room. thank you.

the room was great; bed, amenities, view, wifi. the gym was good, not amazing but good. could use a few more newer machines but just fine. i didnt try the Olympic sized pool, but next time

had a light breakfast both mornings and service was super crisp and my overly healthy choices were just fine.

would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabenbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Rabenbru,

Thank you for your review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and dining experiences. We can’t wait to welcome you for your next Chicago trip!

Regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We loved our room at the Ritz. It was a corner suite and the view over Lakeshore Dr and the lake was amazing! Decorated beautifully and simply. We had a hiccup at check-in when our room was not ready for about an hour past stated check-in time, but staff was very good (apologetic, no excuses) and the room was pristine. They don't have turn-down service technically, but our room was serviced in the evening which I very much enjoyed. The room couldn't have been more lovely.

I would personally shy away from the food when possible. When our room wasn't ready, we grabbed some lunch at Dec and it was kind of a disaster. Again, staff was great, apologetic, we didn't pay for my meal, but would rather have had it right in the first place (at 3pm after a plane ride and my room still isn't ready). Had room service breakfast once which was very average. Had Sunday brunch at Deca and it was fine.

Biggest knock? No in-room coffee and 35 minute wait to get a pot from room service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waxhaw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Waxhaw6,

Thank you for providing this feedback regarding your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago. Although I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your corner suite overlooking the lake, I’m disappointed to hear about the delay in service and your disappointment on The dec. I want to thank you for bringing these matters to my attention; your feedback is such an important tool in our ongoing quest for excellence.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and being of service to you in the not-too-distant future.

Regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The title of my review says it all. I stayed for three nights with my family of four during late July early Aug time period. We had a wonderful time given well appointed guest rooms, and exceptional service from the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North and East open out to Michigan lake. Higher levels are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun60601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Arun60601,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago! We look forward to welcoming you and your family for your next trip!

Regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
389 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The RC in Chicago is a dependably great stay. The location, near the lake and Water Tower Place, is superb for touring and seeing the city. With good walking shoes you can go almost anywhere, although the gym is so nice you might prefer to exercise there and have the very well-trained staff get you a cab.

Our room was facing a park, the Museum of Contemporary Art and the side view of the lake and Navy Pier. Very nice, well-appointed room. It was spacious and comfortable. Not over-the-top, but we lacked for nothing. The price was very reasonable for the little extras that come with this property.

The lobby is up high and very nice. We did not eat there on this trip but have in the past and enjoyed the food. The front desk is helpful and remembered our preferences (via computer notes, of course!) and tried to offer those.

So, a very nice stay in a large and very clean room. It did not scream luxury, but was luxurious none the less. Ultra best in the city? Probably not, but well-located and the staff is trained to please.

Room Tip: We like the side facing the museum and Navy Pier... as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank withkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Withkidstravel,

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago! As you mentioned, we are located in the heart of the city and the views can’t be beat. Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip – we look forward to welcoming you and your family during your next visit to Chicago.

Regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#15 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Ritz-Carlton
Chicago Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing