We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run like a luxury hotel should run!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Ranked #52 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
WASHINGTON DC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“run like a luxury hotel should run!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was a business trip on which I was to receive an award the next day. The dining room manager helped us to plan and serve a superb dinner and event for 11 of my family and friends. It was exquisitely served and very succesful.

Room Tip: a lake view is very enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear John Q,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent business trip at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and I am delighted that your stay with us was such a success.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Chicago!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,704
    396
    183
    74
    39
See reviews for
598
626
85
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My daughter wanted to go to Chicago for spring break and I wanted great location. So glad we chose the Ritz Carlton (four seasons). From the moment we stepped in the door, the staff was very attentive to our requests. The concierge team helped us out endlessly with great recommendations and my ten year old was made to feel like a queen. We did the candy service in the afternoon but were unable to make the cookie baking experience -- definitely next time. The location of this hotel is what sets it apart, right in the heart of the Golden Mile and attached to the Water Tower Mall, which includes the Amcerican Doll store. We hit the mall on a number of occasions, including for a great dinner, without ever leaving the indoors. We had breakfast at the hotel every day and the food was creative, healthy and very good. Highly recoomend the Ritz!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear TheDeacon87,

Thank you for sharing your Ritz experience on Trip Advisor, we sincerely appreciate the feedback and are thrilled you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us. You definitely need to make it to the pastry shop for cookie baking your next visit!

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I really enjoyed staying here on my latest business trip to Chicago. Excellent service and accommodations (spacious suite and great view of city and water). Front desk staff go over and above, got the best manicure I've had in awhile, and meals were yummy. It was a Ritz, but still relaxed and charming (decorated their fountain with kitchy spring-theme umbrellas). I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Advisor415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Advisor 415,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review and sharing your business stay experience. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and I am happy to hear you enjoyed the umbrellas! April showers bring may flowers and the fountain has now bloomed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon.

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We recently spent the weekend at the hotel to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. I can of no better place in Chicago to celebrate. As we checked in we were acknowledged about our anniversary. We also received an upgraded room to commemorate our anniversary. A bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries were also sent to our room. We have traveled all over the world and the service at this hotel is extraordinary. Our corner suite was very spacious with beautiful views of the city. Ritz-Four Seasons keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view and a corner room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MavenToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear MavenToo,

Another Happy Belated Anniversary to you two! Thank you for celebrating with us and thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz again!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is located in the center of Chicago which is fantastic. You are right on the Magnificent Mile so if shopping and dining are part of your trip, the Ritz is well located. Our room was a suite so a very nice size with separate sleeping and living quarters. The bed was comfortable and the sitting area very nice. The bathroom is very clean and nice however it is dated with a small bathtub and shower. Rather pedestrian. I love a great bathtub so this was not up to par.

The gym is fantastic and we enjoyed it each day. There is a lot of really good equipment and probably one of the better hotel gyms I have been in.

The bar was fun and the food good. We ate in the bar one night and they forgot one of our entrees so after an hour, they finally brought it and comped it. Thank goodness otherwise this review would have been lower :-) I appreciate that mistakes can happen and as long as they make amends, I have no no problem. They did this without us even asking. There was no discussion.

All in all this is a very nice hotel. It feels a bit old world and you can feel it would have been something in its day.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JECan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear JECan,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the gym and enjoy the food and drink offerings in our lounge. You'll have to try our new gourmet grilled cheese sandwich during your next visit!

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Everything about the hotel is wonderful but I do wish that I could get the room I request! Each time I'm told it's booked and that's a drag. I always wonder why they can never reserve it for me but they can for others. Anyway, the restaurant is great, the staff friendly, the rooms clean, quiet and the views are fun.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanini2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Juanini2013,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such valuable feedback! I would like to personally apologize for not being able to provide the room that you requested during your most recent stay. For future reservations, please feel free to contact me personally or our Guest Relations Coordinator, Ashley Klingler, at (312) 573-5201 or ashley.klingler@fourseasons.com, to help ensure that you are able to secure your preferred room.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel was great!! We called ahead to let them know we were staying with children. They really made our stay great. Every detail was attended to. The cooking making for our children with the Pasty Chefs was wonderful. Every attention to detail was perfect. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear JoanneD,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review! I am so happy to hear that you were able to attend our cookie-making class! At The Ritz-Carlton Chicago, our goal is to provide excellent service for the ENTIRE family, which is why we offer so many fun activities for our younger guests.

Wishing you and your family a wonderful summer and we look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
1,635 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#13 of 190 in Chicago
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,486 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,388 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Ritz-Carlton
Chicago Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing