We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world luxury and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Ranked #48 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Old world luxury and service”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a room! What a view! But the service is what really makes the experience.

The Ritz-Carlton (owned by Four Seasons) is definitely not the newest luxury hotel in Chicago. Though the new kids on the block may have higher ceilings and more modern bathrooms, I doubt they could ever match this level of service.

We got an amazing weekend rate for a large one-bedroom corner suite on a high floor. And though we got a "deal," we were treated like royalty. At this price, my husband joked that we should live here forever. I'd be tempted...but only if they re-configure the bathroom. Huge space, but only suited for one person at a time...a minor inconvenience for a nearly perfect hotel.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisewoman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Wisewoman15,

Thank you for sharing your feedback during your recent hotel stay with us. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor!

I am thrilled to hear that you had such a lovely visit with us and enjoyed the beautiful views of city that our hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the Ritz the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,603
    376
    164
    63
    35
See reviews for
550
589
77
787
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Friendly and competent staff. The room was well decorated and the bed very comfortable. The restaurant is a must and is quite competitive as far as pricing. Very quiet at night and offers easy access to the lakeshore area and tourist attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PainlessCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear PainlessCanada,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Ritz-Carlton. We truly appreciate you sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel and glad you were able to experience our restaurant as well as some of the many tourist attractions in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a beautiful hotel where you're greeted by friendly staff who make sure your stay is WONDERFUL! Sarah and Scott went Above & Beyond! Rooms were spacious with awesome views! The Chef prepared amazing dishes for breakfast and dessert was delicious :) We pampered ourselves at the Spa too. The convenience to Water Tower and vast shopping was a bonus! Absolutely FABULOUS! Very "foo foo shi shi, darling!"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear MP,

Thank you for sharing your Ritz experience on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience with our staff and that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities that we provide at our hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel has it all. Beautiful lobby, stunning views, and a very gracious staff. The room size is what you would expect from any American city like Chicago, and the room furnishings are a tad bit dated, but the bathroom was spacious and very clean. When you're away for the weekend your time is very important and comfort and location is key. That's why the Ritz Carlton Chicago is a perfect luxury hotel for a weekend getaway. Thank you for the hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bummin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Bummin45,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your stay with us! We truly appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your weekend getaway in Chicago and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town!


Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The Chicago Ritz is a 5 star hotel all the way. Great lobby, great rooms, great service, great location.
The hotel shares and entrance with upscale condos and has massive lobby with a fantastic bar and great view of the town. The room are all updated and immaculate. The doors guys are helpful and friendly and know their way around town.

Can't recommend anything more in Chicago.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JonInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear JonInTexas,

Thank you for sharing your Ritz experience on Trip Advisor, we sincerely appreciate the feedback and are thrilled you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel, from our lobby, to our guest rooms, to our staff.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back the Ritz-Carlton the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A great location, and very nice lobby and meeting rooms. For a luxury hotel the guest rooms are small and somewhat worn. I was there at a conference rate of $310, and when I wanted to hold over one day I was told the room rate was $550. My room was NOT worth $550 a night!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear James D,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear your enjoyed our lobby and meeting rooms and thank you for your feedback regarding our guest rooms.

We are always looking for new ways to improve and provide our guests with the highest luxury service and we thank you for your review.

We look forward to better serving you the next time you stay with us at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis MO USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Everything was lovely. The lobby is beautiful and the staff was very attentive. The location is phenomenal. The room was very well decorated and the bathroom was very nice. The staff was there promptly whenever I needed something. The breakfast was very good--I especially liked the yogurt. The lobby is very nice with a fascinating sculpture and bas relief in and around the fountain. The live music in the dinner area at night was perfect with cocktails. The front desk handled some complicated check-in issues with ease.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coco5115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Coco5115,

Thank you for sharing you recent stay experience with us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback and I am so glad you enjoyed the live music in the lobby during your dinner!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz-Carlton the next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#15 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Ritz-Carlton
Chicago Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing