We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent property, outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Ranked #51 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Carroll, Iowa
1 review
“Great location, excellent property, outstanding service”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Outstanding stay in a great hotel right in the heart of Chicago. Location is prime as it is a short walk off Michigan Avenue and just across the street from the John Hancock building. Staff were courteous & provided excellent service. After checking out, the valet provided great instructions to navigate out of the city (which had a ton of construction). Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLame34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear JLame34,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our centralized location in the city and were able to enjoy some of the many amenities our hotel and the city of Chicago has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,697
    396
    183
    74
    39
See reviews for
597
623
85
829
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Effingham
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Unfortunately we were only in town one night so we did not get the pleasure of staying longer! The room was impeccably clean and updated. The bed was amazing, never slept better in a hotel. The rooftop bar served incredibly unique and fresh cocktails. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. It was Everything and more that you expect from a Four Seasons property! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kweber72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Kweber72,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your recent stay and I am delighted that it was an enjoyable one!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

From the time we approached the entrance to the time we walked out the door, everyone we encountered provided excellent service and a warm welcome. No detail was overlooked. Our room and everything about our stay was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieLou55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear LaurieLou55,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Ritz over the 4th of July holiday weekend. The staff was excellent, the room superb.Dining was first class & the Dec for evening cocktails was very relaxing. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a 5 star experience. Well worth the price of admission.

Room Tip: A view of the lake is my personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear augie01,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share you feedback.

I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful 4th of July weekend with us and were able to enjoy many of the amenities that we have to offer at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had a fabulous stay here at the end of June. Our room had an amazing view of the city facing lake Michigan and we got to see the sunrise from our window each morning! The staff is the best of any hotel I've ever been to and made our stay a very special one! They thought of every little detail to make our stay wonderful! I had won a photo contest and was greeted in my room with complimentary champagne, snacks, and a gift basket! Every aspect of the hotel was top notch and the service made us feel like royalty. I will definitely try to stay at the Ritz again during my next rip to Chicago!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Linda W,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

I am thrilled to hear that you won one of our photo contests, what a fun surprise that must have been for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a clearly one of the greatest hotels in the country and I have stayed there quite a few times, three or four a year sometimes. But I never understood something until recently. How come by the time I got to the reception floor even before I checked in, there was staff waiting there for me as I got off the elevator, greeting me most cordially by name. Understand that I am an insignificant nobody, recognized by no one in Chicago. How could they do that? I always wondered until I caught them. Here's how they do it. The doorman greets the guest at the door and reads the names off the luggage tags. He then whispers the information into a wrist microphone, allowing them upstairs to be prepared. Clever and effective and a small indicator of the great care the Ritz takes in welcoming their guests.

Of course, it is outrageously expensive, but you pay for all the pampering, and pampered you are. If I ever win the lottery, I'm moving here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ready314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Dear ready314,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Ritz over the 4th of July holiday. We got a pretty incredible rate in the mid 200's, which was significantly less than the Park Hyatt, Peninsula, Four Seasons etc, and just a bit more than the Westin next door. So this review is colored by the fact that I thought it was a great value.

The positives for this property are many. The staff was plentiful and universally friendly. Fast check-in, got us a restaurant reservation for a normal time at a place that was otherwise totally booked, extended checkout no problem, turn-down service etc. Our room was missing a corkscrew and they sent it up literally on a platter with two employees. That's something you don't get everywhere.

As for the physical hotel, the entrance is under construction and the whole place feels a bit like a retirement home--a really swank retirement home. It's just old fashioned and over the top. This is not necessarily a negative, if you're into that sort of thing. The pool is definitely nothing fancy, but it is a pool. The locker room is spotless and upscale.

If you can get a good rate, this is worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Dear BDRC,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 190 in Chicago
1,632 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#13 of 190 in Chicago
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,484 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,382 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Ritz-Carlton
Chicago Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing