We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great park area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cloud Gate

Cloud Gate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$650.00*
and up
Private Guided SUV Tour for up to 4 Guests
Ranked #3 of 631 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Lake Dallas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great park area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The "bean" is very cool because you can see virtually everyone standing in different locations. It's almost as unique as the Picasso, but that's Chicago, and you have to see both. Wished we could have visited the museum that featured the 1894 Chicago's world fair, just looking out across the promenade from Michigan Ave. to the Lake you could imagine this great White city rising to greet the masses.
Enjoyed the Boeing display in the Park, however I'm a former employee so I'm somewhat biased.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank berry25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,586
    2,728
    505
    34
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Cool. Great place for artistic photos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Easy to get to.

Take pictures from far away. Then take pictures close up, around and under.

It's cool.

Helpful?
Thank FlipViet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fun for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Cool for the kids. Nice photo op. I like the whole area in general. Nicer than Houston's Urban park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LBui2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cliche' but worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I thought this would be a tourist trap, but I genuinely enjoyed it! In fact, I visited twice. If you're in the area, don't skip it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoDitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Tourist Must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I'm quite sure everyone knows about the 'Bean' by now. Located in Millenium Park, at Michigan and Randolph. It looks exactly like the pictures you see everywhere, but it's still something that I'm glad I saw. My husband and I went mid-day, with a spoken word concert going on at the Pavilion nearby. There were a TONNE of people at the Bean, but we managed to get a few semi-private photos. I would check out some photos online to see cool shots you can get. It's also neat to try and get some of the Chicago skyline in the background of your photos too. Definitely make this one of the spots you stop on your next trip to Chicago!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bassoonjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cloud Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing