We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay well worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Ranked #90 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
La Plata, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay well worth it”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for The National Education Association for our annual conference. The rooms were spacious and well designed. Plenty of room for two over packed conventioneers. The staff was absolutely wonderful and very helpful. They were beyond helpful with directions and places to visit.
They were located in a great area. The restaurants in the hotel were very well done and delightful food..although a little pricey for a teacher's budget. The rooms were decorated very chicly and the beds were delightful. Well worth the few extra bucks for the visit.

Room Tip: corner rooms the best
See more room tips
Green Features: they really do a good job encouraging guests to be
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Joe M,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to be your host and I am thrilled that your received legendary Fairmont service.

I hope to welcome you back to the Fairmont soon.

Kind Regards,
Ken Hall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    917
    385
    157
    90
See reviews for
484
664
108
1,150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

So you book on Expedia, select King Size bed, and you arrive to find you are actually on a tariff that is 'Double or King', and they won't give you a king, or an upgrade, or a refund. You are scr***** and you have to get another hotel at late notice. No I won't use Fairmont again until they change their booking policies. No I won't use Expedia again as I don't trust their booking policies. And now I've been to the Fairmont Millennium Park I won't book there again. Very poor signage, unobvious booking desk which you always miss entering the building. Elevator on the opposite side of the building. And did I say, they don't have King Beds that you thought you booked.

Room Tip: Don't use Expedia and don't trust what you book through them. Yes, we did try to get a refu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear DuncanK1,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feedback. I am terribly sorry for your inconvenience regarding a king bed. Unfortunately, we don't have the ability to receive your bedtype requests from Expedia. It is challenging for us as well. We always want to exceed our guests expectations and do our best to honor our guests' requests. May I suggest using a hotel's website to book your next overnight? Many hotel brands offer rate parity on their own websites and you will receive those special requests like bedtype.

I hope your travels will bring your back to the Windy City soon.

Kind Regards,
Ken Hall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Due to poor quality of construction I wont be back to this location that falls far short of my expectations for Fairmont product. I heard way too much noise in my room, including an air handling unit that was loud enough to wake me up as it cycled.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Tom G,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the Director of Engineering. Unfortunately the hotel is an all concrete buidling and the accoustics are unpredictable.

I hope you will give the Fairmont another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Ken Hall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is wonderful - the rooms are incredibly clean and comfortable, the food at the restaurant Aria was delicious - lots of fresh veggies and fruit - but what makes this hotel so special is the staff. I travel a fair amount and my favorite hotels are the ones where the staff make your feel genuinely welcome and like a part of the family.

Exceptional people make for an exceptional experience - The Fairmont embodies this statement. I will make a point of looking for Fairmont Hotels wherever I go in the future - fantastic stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth B,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that you received legendary Fairmont service and that hospitality made your stay all that more memorable.

I hope to welcome you back to the Fairmont Chicago soon.

Kind Regards,
Ken Hall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed at the Fairmont for a conference and the lounge on the Gold floor was exceptional in both the quality of its amenities and service. My wife accompanied me on this trip to visit the local museums, shopping,etc.. At guest check-in on the Gold floor, Marlene explained the various room options and actually took us on a tour of the rooms for our selection. It was great to have this level of personal service. During the entire length of stay Marlene made arrangements and suggestions for my wife for her tour of the town while I attended the conference. This level of service and attention to detail was exceptional and above all other concierge floors of other brand hotels. This is definitely the hotel to stay while in Chicago due to its staff and location. TIP: It is well worth signing up for their President's Club loyalty program.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I greatly appreciate your ringing endorsement and will share your compliments with Marlene. She is truly an asset to Fairmont. I am delight that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Ken Hall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I planned this trip to Chicago because I had two free nights stay at a Fairmont as a Presidents Club member (it's a credit card thing). We were very much looking forward to the trip as it had been a VERY hectic last few months. I received an email asking if I wanted to upgrade to a Gold Club Floor room for and additional fee of $70 or something like that. Well, we thought, Absolutely! Better room, free breakfast, etc...
Check in was very easy, the staff was wonderful.
Sadly, we were very disappointed in the room. It was very small and furniture was sort of shabby. It gave the impression of recycled furniture.
I have no earthly idea who laid out the floor plan for the room and especially the bathroom.
I think they gave us a sub par room because I was redeeming my free stay, even though I was paying for the upgrade.
The "special" food service was a gong show (which I understand the hotel can't help, but they should have been better prepared. They ran out of food, linens, silverware, coffee, tea...and they were severely understaffed.
If you stay on a Gold Floor and decide to have a drink BE CAREFUL. Two glasses of wine and 2 glasses of scotch...$96.
They over charged me for my room, which is the SECOND time in less than 5 months that that has happened at a Fairmont property.

Over all the whole experience was underwhelming and disappointing.
Though I am a Presidents Club member (because of a credit card), I'm getting a little tired of the level of service verses the cost.
This trip was planned purely based on the fact that I had a accumulated two free nights...in the long run it was not worth the effort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Beth B,
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I value your comments and I will share your feedback with our Fairmont Gold Manager. Unfortunately, we are not able to do much with the design of the hotel. It was designed in 1987 by Hellmuth, Obata and Kassabaum, but we are always open to suggestions if the opportunity arises to make design changes to the hotel's footprint.

I hope you will give Fairmont another experience legendary Fairmont service.

Kind Regards,
Ken Hall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Fairmont properties are among my favorite worldwide and Millennium Park is no exception. From the attentive pre-arrival communications to the warm and enthusiastic welcome back greeting by staff, you will always feel valued at the hotel.

The rooms are modern and stylish with comfortable beds and linens. They are quiet and inviting with adequate work space and seating.

The one knock is the breakfast pricing. Certainly, this is a prime location in Chicago and premium pricing is anticipated. But, $146 for breakfast for 4 strains the imagination.

Other than the extreme breakfast pricing, I recommend the Fairmont enthusiastically and without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbyduhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontChicago, Manager at Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Bobbyduhon,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and received legendary Fairmont service. Many hotels offer wonderful promotions in their packages, in the future, may I recommend that you take a peak?

If your travels bring you a back to the Windy City, I hope to welcome you back to the Fairmont.

Kind Regards,
Ken Hall
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#62 of 190 in Chicago
4,055 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,594 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 190 in Chicago
6,572 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park

Property: Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Address: 200 N Columbus Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-7802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Chicago
#23 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Family Hotel in Chicago
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 687
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Chicago. Overlooking Grant and Millennium Parks, the Fairmont Chicago features 687 guest rooms including 65 suites. For our more discerning guests, reserve our exclusive lifestyle hotel experience, Fairmont Gold. Columbus Tap offers a quintessential Windy City tap house experience with fresh Midwest-focused menu. Start the day off right with breakfast in the Millennium Room. Enjoy a curated menu of crafted signature cocktails and word-class wines by the glass paired with contemporary small plates in THE BAR. mySpa is an 11,000 sq ft urban sanctuary featuring 8 treatment rooms and a fitness studio. Ideally located just steps from Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile, the Theatre District and world renowned museums, the Fairmont Chicago, Millennium Park is perfect for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park Hotel Chicago
Fairmont Hotel Chicago
Chicago Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing