We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless & Classic for the traveller interested in seeing the sights!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #33 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
“Spotless & Classic for the traveller interested in seeing the sights!”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The desk staff & concierge were always cheerfully helpful and the place was spotless! A classic ambience, with a luxury feel and just the necessities for a great stay, particularly the best beds ever!! Perfect distance for even a couch potato to have walked everywhere for 3 days straight to see EVERYTHING! When legs got tired, the public transit was very easy to use. Parking the car for 4 days seemed a little expensive, but came as no surprise as they post it on their site. Buddy Guy even popped into Legends while we were there and it was just a couple of blocks to walk home. (good thing) Felt very safe. Highly recommended if your intent is primarily to see the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMACSAYSSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    682
    183
    73
    49
See reviews for
358
634
137
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Firstly, if you are going to stay here book directly through the hotel. They stupidly only sell king size beds to the travel companies (expedia etc) no matter how many people you said are staying in a room. Therefore, we had 4 ppl and one king size bed. The bed was not big enough for all of us. We had two men: one over 6'7 and the other 6'3 and two females. Since the hotel was booked completely & we had a wedding we had no choice but to take the room. The staff was quite rude and unsympathetic about the whole situation. They were unable to give us another room or fix our situation. However, The room was clean, well made, and was overall nice. We would have appreciated it had we not had such a horrible mix up with the beds. However, do note it is on a busy street and it does get noisy at night. BUT ITS Chicago.

When we asked for blankets and pillows for the other half of our group not staying on the bed the staff put up a horrible fuss stating they should be in our room. The staff was extremely rude and made us feel like we were very unwelcome. However, we did not have blankets & we needed it to sleep. They finally brought us very a scratchy blanket and pillows with black make up on it. Frustrated, we asked for another and they said they ran out and did not have any extra. As a hotel, I am surprised that they didn't. Which means- they probably do not clean the blankets on the bed very often.

The morning breakfast consisted of muffins and coffee. Not much of anything. We ended up drinking coffee and getting breakfast elsewhere. While the hotel is close to the sites, just beware of the scam through the travel sites. We probably would have had a nice stay had it not been for not having a bed to sleep on & no blankets.

As well, we contacted the hotel management following our stay. They were of NO help. They simply offered us a "discount" if we stayed again. Not very likely, just goes to show you that they don't care much about their guests.

Room Tip: Book only through hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHOEBE1419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Family trip to see McCartney at Wrigley field. Great location - subway 1/2 a block away. Bit of a hike to Milleneum park and shopping, but not too bad if you like to walk. Hotel was clean, rooms well appointed - great showers. Only 'nits' were that there was a some mold on the bathroom calking and the air conditioning unit in our room was a bit noisy. The front desk staff were fantastic, very friendly and always greeted you warmly. The concierge service was also great, especially 'Showtime". He gave us a couple of great tips on where to eat and was very helpful throughout our stay. Parking is pricey at the hotel, there is a lot just around the corner that is about 1/2 the hotel rate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDix2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Arrived early and was able to store luggage and park car. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and quiet - bed comfortable - flat screen television and walk-in shower.
Great location to Millenium park and Art Institue as well as other sights.
We stayed on the 8th floor - no elevator on that floor - you had to take the elevator to the 7th and walk up stairs to room. A pain with luggage when leaving. Try to stay on another floor.
We took advantage of a parking package - on their website.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Loading and unloading the car was easy, the staff was friendly, our room was large and clean, and the bed was comfortable. The is free wireless with a reasonable speed. We were very pleased and would return afain

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoverPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My family stayed here for three days during a recent visit to Chicago. The room was spacious, quiet and clean. It was very comfortable for our family of four. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I chose this hotel based on the price, free WIFI and the free continental breakfast. The WIFI worked great in our room with good signal and fast internet service. The free breakfast was a little disappointing, but it gave us something to start our day, and it was free so that was good! There was always coffee but no free juice for the kids. The free breakfast consisted of muffins and fruit. There were more options available for a fee.
We could walk to all the downtown attractions from this hotel.
The valet parking was efficient and quick.
A mini fridge would have been a welcome addition to this room.
The only real issue we had was with our clock radio which I mentioned to the front desk the first day and it never got fixed or replaced during our stay. Not a big deal, but it would have been nice to have.
I would definitely stay here again and have no problem recommending this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The appearance of the hotel upon arrival was not as good as it looked on the website. We were led to room 101 which was neither on the first floor nor the second and involved taking an elevator to second floor and steps down to the room (we had several suitcases so this was not convenient).

Once there, however, room was large, clean and well appointed. It was also incredibly quiet (caveat: there were 11 dumpsters outside and below the window not emptied by a beeping truck while we were there). Bathroom amenities also complete but the shower curtain gave us the choice of soaking the floor or having it constantly blow in on me as i showered. It was too light.

Location was pretty good but it was mile from the main shopping area. we like to walk so it wasn't a problem. Adler Planetarium, Grant Park, Art Museum, south side of Michigan Ave were all easily accessed.

We would stay there again if looking for a reasonably priced stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#126 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Property: Hotel Blake Chicago
Address: 500 S Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60605-1502 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing