We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious room and great beds - but very noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blake Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #33 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockholm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spacious room and great beds - but very noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed for four nights in March 2012. The hotel is ideally located just one block from the blue L train station that takes you directly from and to O'Hare. The room was very large and the King size beds where probably the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in a hotel. I was given a room on the second floor (even though I asked for one on the upper floors) and it was extremely noisy from the street. Especially when they started up the jackhammers at 7 am at the construction site right outside the window.

Right across the street is a Starbucks and one block away (corner of State st) there is a Panera for the most wonderful breakfast sandwiches. There is also a 7-11 next door to the hotel.

There are several L train stations and bus stations close to the hotel and a three day travel card was amazingly cheap (compared to Sweden) and it was so easy to travel out of the city center - to the Riverside mall for example. You can easily walk to the shops on State street and further up on the Magnificent Mile.

My keys stopped working at one time and the cleaning staff who happened to be outside in the corridor quickly helped getting someone from reception come up with new keys. The reception staff was also very helpful at otjer times. The restaurant in the hotel was OK though so ewhat pricey.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and would absolutely stay here again if I could get a room on one of the top floors.

Room Tip: Lower floors are very noisy from traffic. Try to get a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Wyndham Blake Chicago. We appreciate your comments of our hotel. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. We strive to meet the needs of our travelers, and I apologize that we were not able to accommodate your wishes to stay in a room on a higher floor. Again, thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay at the Wyndham Blake Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    671
    182
    72
    49
See reviews for
347
623
134
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mineola, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Hotel is located in a great location and close to everything. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Price is hit and miss as sometimes I find they have great deals on and sometimes they are more pricey. Rooms are clean and well designed. Will return when price is reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your review of the Wyndham Blake Chicago. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel! Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. Be sure to “like” us on Facebook to learn about upcoming specials and promotions. Again, we appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpentersville
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I live in the suburbs, but stayed here on a day when I had a 5K in the morining and a concert at night, so it was perfect in location, price, and ammenities for what I needed. From the outside it didn't really look like a hotel, so I was not sure, but once inside, it is nice enough to feel like you are staying somewhere special, but also casual enough to feel welcoming and homey. The room was very large, clean, and modern. The bathroom was large and the shower was delightful. There was no view from the room. The location is why I choose very good instead of excellent. There are not attractions right out the front door, but its location on Printers Row is still within a very short walk up and down State Street or Michigan Avenue to anywhere you'd want to go for shopping, theater, or food. For other locations, the subway lines are within 2 or 3 blocks to get anywhere, near or far, that the city has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnC585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of the Wyndham Blake Chicago. We appreciate your excellent review of our hotel! Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. On your next stay, be sure to ask for a room with a view to see some of the popular attractions in the area. Again, thank you for choosing the Wyndham Blake Chicago and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gilead Oh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I have stayed at three hotels in the South Loop and this one is by far the most fun. We entered to find a, bustling, unpretentious, "hip" lobby with a cheerful staff and a gregarious concierge/doorman. Wine, beer, and restaurant advise were available in the lobby. The room was spacious, quiet, and clean. It is in a cute little neighborhood (Printer's Row). The manager was very accomodating about a special request. Prices go up and down depending on the particular weekend - this is universal for Chicago hotels. This place is more fun than the Hilton and our room had good plumbing and air quality (not always true of older hotels) I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review of the Wyndham Blake Chicago! We are happy to hear that our staff and accommodations made your stay memorable. Be sure to “like” us on Facebook to learn about upcoming specials and promotions. Again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to next trip to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I though this hotel was fine. The room I had was absolutely enormous. Larger than a studio apartment. Bathroom was a bit dated but still acceptable with double sinks, good water pressure and big shower head. The features of the room were good, massive bed, flat screen tv, coffee maker. It would have been nice to have a mini fridge though to keep drinks in etc. I would stay at this hotel again, it's in a good location and only 2 min walk from the train station. So handy if you are catching the train from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your excellent review of the Wyndham Blake Chicago. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. We are happy that our proximity to transportation made your travels convenient. Although we do not have refrigerators or microwaves in our rooms, we have them available upon request. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

It all started with a huge disappointment: After a long flight we arrived at about 11 pm at the Wyndham Blake and were told that they had had some water damage in our room and that we wouldn’t be able to stay at the hotel for that night. That is definitely not something you want to hear after a long flight. They said that they had made arrangements with another hotel and that a cab would bring us there. I was not happy to hear that and was more than skeptical about that rearrangement. Nevertheless, I was very pleasantly surprised: They gave us enough money for two cab rides and we were brought to a very (!) nice hotel downtown, where check in etc. was already prearranged. We had a very nice room with a great view to the skyline and a relaxing beer at the bar. The next day when we returned to Wyndham Blake in the late afternoon, staff at the reception apologized again for the inconvenience we had and upgraded us to their suite for the next view days. Wow! Apologies accepted. Thank you very much again.

LOCATION (9/10): Very good, especially if you arrive from O’Hare. Just take the blue line to La Salle Station and walk two minutes east and you are there. Michigan Ave. and Millennium Park are just around the corner. There are plenty of restaurants, convenience stores and pubs nearby. Opposite of the entrance is Edwardo’s Pizza - very delicious.

SERVICE (9/10): Quick, very friendly, always with a smile and very professional.

GYM (7/0): The hotel has a gym which is okay. But to be honest: The best gym is to go for a run at the Lake front at Millennium Park which is incredibly beautiful and only two minutes away. On your way to Millennium Park or on your way back you can sip a great coffee at Panera Bread.

BREAKFAST (7/10): We had a complimentary breakfast – so how could I complain. The selection was pretty straightforward: Coffee, muffins, fresh apples.

INTERNET (10/10): Hurrah – there was free WIFI service in the room. Very good!

ROOM (10/10): As I said, we had an upgrade to their suite, which was very (!) nice and luxurious. Great size, great view (look at my pictures), very clean, nice toiletries in the bathroom – everything was just perfect and we were very sorrow when we had to leave. And as I said: Leaving to O’Hare is very convenient. Grab your stuff, walk two minutes to La Salle station and the blue line takes you directly to the airport.

My summary: A very nice hotel in a very nice location. We had a great time there and when we are back in Chicago, we will be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Wyndham Blake Chicago! We appreciate your excellent review of our hotel. I have passed along your comments to our staff and they were pleased to hear that they were able to make your stay in Chicago memorable. We value your feedback and look forward to your return to the Wyndham Blake Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Room was old, fairly clean, but the bathroom was awful. Drain was clogged in the shower so I had to hurry to avoid an overflow (no bath tub, just a tray). Lid on back of toliet didn't fit. Just resting in place. Paint pealing off the ceiling. There has to be better places to stay in Chicago than this. Very inconvenient (over 1 mile walk) to shopping areas of Michigan Ave.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbighitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of the Wyndham Blake Chicago. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. We have recently received some of our highest scores ever in regards to cleanliness and service, and feedback like yours will help to maintain those high standards. I have passed your comments along to engineering and you will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of fixing those issues with the bathrooms. While we may be a bit south of the Magnificent Mile, the shopping on State Street expands each year. The Wyndham Blake Chicago is conveniently located within walking distance to Willis (formerly Sears) Tower, the Art Institute of Chicago, and Millennium Park. I hope you'll consider giving us another chance to show you the best we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#126 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Property: Hotel Blake Chicago
Address: 500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, TravelUp and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing