We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #35 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Hope, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent staff!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Just returned from a trip to Chicago for a football game. We chose Wyndham Blake because it was close to Solider Fields(2km walk). I was pleasantly surprised at what a lovely hotel it was. Large rooms, comfortable beds and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The doorman "Showtime" was great. Super friendly and always making you laugh. Mark the Bartender was also lots of fun. The staff here definitely ames to please! The only downfall was there was no restaurant, but we were told that it will be opening soon. They were just waiting for final inspection from the City.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us at the Wyndham Blake Chicago. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience with our convenient location, spacious rooms, and friendly staff. Your comments have been passed along to our staff members mentioned in your review and they were thrilled that they could make your stay memorable in Chicago. We value your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us now that our restaurant is open. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    693
    186
    73
    49
See reviews for
372
645
138
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Good points... Spacious room, friendly staff, good range of tv channels, large bathroom. Blue line to airport was 1 minute walk away... Only $5 to and $2.50 away from city center, 45 minute trip, excellent. Lots of taxis outside to downtown.
Bad points... No restaurant, no breakfast (although the Potbelly restaurant next door was fantastic, it was closed on Saturday), no bar except weird temporary bar by reception. Area dead at nighttime.
I think it will be better when restaurant/bar opens,I wouldn't stay again without confirming this first.

Helpful?
Thank Maceachmharcaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback of our hotel. I am pleased to learn of your positive comments in regards to our spacious rooms and friendly staff. We do hope you plan your next trip when our new restaurant opens. I do believe that it will help alleviate some of the issue with this past stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I just spent 3 nights at the Blake on a business trip. I selected the hotel because it was close to the company I was visiting. However the location just south of the Loop is average for tourists, a good 20' walk from the River at a steady pace.
The rate for the first night was extremely high, about twice last night's rate because of a huge convention in Chicago organized at the same time.
I was however assigned a large corner room on the 5th floor, with huge bay windows providing a lot of light but making the room temperature a bit low. Room was very clean and well equipped except for a small closet. Very comfortable bed.
My main concern was the Internet connection; very bad quality with the Wifi disconnecting every 5' and erratic bandwidth making it unusable except to check the weather forecast. Forget conference call! For this reason I would not recommend this hotel for business, you can't effectively work from the room.
Despite some positive aspects, I'm not sure I will go back to the Blake for my next trip to Chicago.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FondaPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our convenient location on your business trip as well as our spacious rooms. You are correct that our rates are occasionally a bit higher due to compression throughout the city when there are citywide events. Be sure to "like" our Facebook page to learn about upcoming specials and promotions when planning your next stay. I also would like to apologize for the inconvenience with our WiFi. Your comments have been passed along to our engineering department to ensure that this issue is resolved as soon as possible. We strive to meet the needs of our business travelers, and I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations during your stay. We value your business and hope you give us another chance to show you the best we have to offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The room was beautiful and the shower was to die for. The staff was so nice and helpful. Will return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your "amazing" feedback of the Wyndham Blake Chicago! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 190 in Chicago
574 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
264 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Property: Hotel Blake Chicago
Address: 500 S Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60605-1502 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing