We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location, service, comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #33 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Spencer
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrific location, service, comfort”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed here four days in February-March 2014 while attending a conference a block away. The service (especially Greg at the concierge desk) was friendly and helpful, the room was roomy and well appointed, and the location and price were fabulous. Highly recommend this hotel and will stay there every time I come to Chicago (unless they drastically raise the rates). Thanks to the staff for making my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MauraIthaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience while in town for a conference. I passed along your comments to our staff and they were happy to learn that they could be a memorable aspect of your stay. We value your business and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    691
    186
    73
    49
See reviews for
368
645
138
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Osceola, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Me and my husband stayed here over the weekend for our anniversary. I went out on a whim on price lines "name your price" and ended to getting a great rate on this hotel. Not really knowing what to expect. But not only were the rooms VERY nice and spacious but we have NEVER been greeted so friendly at any hotel we have stayed at! We even received a phone call from Michael upon arriving to our room making sure we were content and didn't need anything! The cafe next door was excellent as well!! Will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doubleyourlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago! I am thrilled that our staff could go above and beyond to ensure you had a great experience during your anniversary weekend. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms during your trip. We appreciate your kind feedback of your stay and look forward to your next experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Visited the Blake 4 -6 March room 1102 I had a very late check in but the front desk were very helpful with my car. Once in the room I notice it was very hot. I adjusted the controls on the heater however the heater had a mind of its own. I even turned it off per the instruction of the front desk and the heater came back on. So the first night was a sweat box. The second night was alittle better after I open all the windows. So I hear the hotel had room service, starting from 0630am - 1130pm. After a night of sweating and tossing and turning I felt very hungry. I call room service at about 0645am, no answer. I called again 0650. No answer. I call again and again and again, guess what? No answer. I call the front desk, the desk tries to connect me... no answer. So I get dress and visit the restaurant. I entered and was seated at around 800 am. I asked the greeter about room service and she stated, yes we have room service, i stated, well I call several times with no answer, and she states, well someone was here. That conversation ended. The food was terrific by the way. Flamenco omelet, outstanding!!! . So I finish breakfast and head back to the hottest room I've ever been in.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank po153c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I apologize for the issues with the heat in your room, and appreciate that you shared with us the number of your room during your stay to ensure that we can address the problem. We are pleased that you found our staff to be friendly during your stay. We value your feedback and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Room was great, had driven all night was able to check in at 10 am. The service was 5 stars in everything. Which my plans had more Chicago trips. Price was 120 for the night.
Excellent value
Excellent service
Great rooms cant say enough good things about them

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago! I am thrilled to hear that we could go above and beyond to make your experience memorable. I have passed your comments along to our staff and they were happy that they could help make your trip to Chicago enjoyable. We value your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us in the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Liberty, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

While our room has some minor maintenance issues, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff. We did not go to the bar (open 5-9 p.m. nightly) or the restaurant. We have favorite restaurants around town that we enjoy. Very convenient to the Red Line so you can park your car & get around Chicago easily. We did self park (garage 1 block away) but could do valet (parked at same location). We expected there to be a trash can and a recycling can - but no recycling program at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred-n-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is pleased to learn that they were a memorable aspect of your experience. I do hope you get a chance to try our onsite restaurant, Meli Cafe, on your next stay with us. We would like you to know that we are consistently improving our green status and that we are green certified. We appreciate your suggestion in regards to recycling bins in the guestrooms and will take it into consideration for future updates. We value your feedback and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed in one of the king rooms for 4 nights while attending a conference at the nearby Hilton and then stayed another night in a shared double queen room with a colleague when our flight was cancelled. Overall, I thought the Blake was a decent place to stay and a good price, but I think it could be a much nicer place if they invested some more effort in cleaning the place and updating the rooms. There were a lot of weird stains, beds were awkwardly made, and the fan in our shared room was insanely noisy. The staff was incredibly nice, so I feel bad leaving such a mixed review--but unless things improve I will probably stay elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAmawrtyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. While I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly during your stay, I am sorry to hear about the issues with your room. You will be pleased to learn that I have taken this issue to our housekeeping department to ensure that this will no longer be an issue in the future. We value your business and hope you give us another chance to show you the best we have to offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Staff are friendly and responsive. High ceilings, and windows that open. Old hotel that has been renovated tastefully. Within 2 blocks of CTA. Great views of Chicago Public Library building and Willis Tower if you're lucky. Clean. Large bathrooms but no tub. Ice only available by going to 12th floor.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Timoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our property with special notice of our friendly staff and convenient location. We appreciate your kind feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 190 in Chicago
569 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
243 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Property: Hotel Blake Chicago
Address: 500 S Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60605-1502 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing