We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge rooms & baths, convenient location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blake Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #33 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Huge rooms & baths, convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My stay at the Hotel Blake provided just the respite needed during a stop-over traveling cross-country. The location in Chicago's South Loop is a $5. cab ride (or one subway stop on the Blue Line with 5 min. walking on each end) from the Amtrak/Union Station. Curbside doorman/bellhop service, pleasant and efficient desk staff, lovely lobby, and what a wonderful oversized room and bath! Standard in-room coffee set up but no breakfast or in room fridge that even the upscale "Ascend" boutique hotels in the Choice hotels collection sometimes offer. My king-bedded room's bath had two sinks and an oversized walk in shower--no tub. Probably not so good for families with young children but great for adult business travelers and tourists looking for comfort at a reasonable price (I paid ca. $100 advance purchase rate with Choice Hotels membership) planning to take all meals out (there is an in house restaurant, I think. I had to arrive late and leave early so could not check it out).

Room Tip: My room on the 5th floor, by request far from the elevator, was very quiet even though it overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank college_prof_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We are happy that you found our location convenient to transportation and our staff to be helpful during your stay. We do hope you get a chance to try our restaurant, Meli Cafe, on your next stay. We appreciate your kind review and look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    671
    182
    72
    49
See reviews for
347
623
134
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel Blake when I was in Chicago with a friend. I had run into an initial issue when trying to get a discount. This hotel used to be part of the Wyndham Group but recently broke away from that company. I had a discount for the old ownership and one of the managers of the hotel gladly gave me a discount and said he would personally make sure I was treated well while there. He was apologetic about the confusion and very quick to respond to me.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were given vouchers for breakfast each morning of our stay and a free drink at the bar. The Meli Cafe, attached to the hotel, was delicious! Wonderful breakfast and even though our voucher had a limited menu, it had plenty of options to be worth it!

The staff at the hotel was very helpful and the location was perfect. It was enough away from the busy part of the city to be quiet, but still very close to the Sear's Tower, and shopping. The rooms were nicely updated and we had a HUGE window with a great view of the city.

We had originally chosen Hotel Blake because we wanted a nice place in the city that was affordable. This was a perfect choice for that and I will definitely be staying there in the future when visiting Chicago.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a handicap room because the water from the shower will get all over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WPreston14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback of the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We are glad that you could experience our new restaurant, Meli Cafe, on your trip. We are also happy that you found our location to be convenient and our rooms to be spacious. I appreciate your feedback of your stay and look forward to your next visit to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have being staying at the Blake for years. Only once have we had to stay somewhere else and man I didnt like it. Tom B, the manager, has been very helpful to us. I was even god (guest of the day) once. Great and comfy rooms, polite housekeeping and the front desk staff. Showtime, the bellman, goes out of his way to help in anyway he can. He always makes me laugh. We promise we will only stay with you!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HorseColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am very pleased to learn that our property is your hotel of choice when you visit the Windy City. I am also glad that I could provide assistance to you during your stay, and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We value your business and look forward to your next stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulft, Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

It was nice staying at this hotel!
Friendly people and a nice and clean hotel.
Walked a lot in the City and it has the perfect location for that.
It made my second stay in
Chicago a lot better than my first.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Schrijvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am happy that you enjoyed your first experience to Chicago with special regards to our hotel. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was a nice hotel with a competitive price. It was a little further south than we would have liked, but not to far from "L". The best part of our stay was "showtime" our conciere. Very helpful and very friendly!!!! It was like comming home every evening with how we were greeted by "showtime". Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfcotravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am glad you found our pricing competitive and our location to be close to transportation during your experience. We are happy to learn that our staff was an important part of your stay as well. We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to your next trip to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mississippi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

When we go to Chicago, The Blake is where we always stay. This place is quiet, clean and fun. Showtime is the best part of the stay. He is the doorman who not only greets you with a smile but always has a joke to tell me. I love the BLAKE

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am thrilled to hear that our property is your hotel of choice when you visit Chicago. We are pleased that you found our rooms to be clean and our staff friendly. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed here four days in February-March 2014 while attending a conference a block away. The service (especially Greg at the concierge desk) was friendly and helpful, the room was roomy and well appointed, and the location and price were fabulous. Highly recommend this hotel and will stay there every time I come to Chicago (unless they drastically raise the rates). Thanks to the staff for making my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MauraIthaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience while in town for a conference. I passed along your comments to our staff and they were happy to learn that they could be a memorable aspect of your stay. We value your business and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#126 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Property: Hotel Blake Chicago
Address: 500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing