We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blake Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #34 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Blake for a college visit to the Columbia College of Chicago. It was perfectly located for the buildings and places around Chicago that we needed to see - we did not rent a car and were able to get everywhere we needed to fairly quickly and easily. It is close to the beautiful Washington Library, State street and all El line stations. The best part, however, was the front desk. We had a dispute with our bill and the price that I thought I had negotiated with a reservations agent. After discussing it with the manager, they honored my price with kindness and excellent customer service. Our room was fine - nothing particularly special - but we would heartily recommend the Hotel Blake and would look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaxbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am glad that you enjoyed our property with special notice of our accommodating staff and convenient location. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    671
    182
    72
    49
See reviews for
347
623
134
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed for two nights towards the end of the week and enjoyed it very much. We didn't reach out to the staff for assistance but they were very friendly. We had a king size bed on the 3rd floor, and the room was big and looked out onto the street. The bathroom was wonderfully large with a big shower, I even appreciated the products they had. I loved that the hotel is kitty corner to the Chicago Public Library which isn't anyone's first choice but well worth the visit for the architectural beauty alone. It's a little further out, we walked a lot but we also took Uber for longer distances.

Room Tip: I think the rooms with a king size bed are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peggy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with special notice of our friendly staff, convenient location, and spacious rooms. We appreciate your kind response and look forward to your next trip to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stay in hotels about six times a year, and this is the first time I've felt strongly enough to write an online review. The Hotel Blake website emphasizes "luxury," but except for the lobby, this hotel is NOT EVEN CLOSE to luxury and is sub-standard in some really basic ways.
(1) Linens with holes and/or stains. A bed sheet, a towel, and blankets all had holes. A pillowcase and blanket had stains. If you decide to stay here, plan some extra time after check-in to inspect the linens and get replacements as needed. At any hotel, having clean and intact bedding and towels shouldn't have to be a special request, but apparently it is at Hotel Blake.
(2) Lack of temperature control. When I arrived, my room was cooler than I wanted, but turning up the thermostat only resulted in cool air blowing. I called the front desk to get the situation resolved, and they sent the building engineer to my room. He explained that, depending on the time of year, the building provides either heat only, A/C only, or neither. Unfortunately for me, they had already turned the heat off in the entire building in preparation for the switch to A/C. So, if you like to be able to control the temperature in your room, you probably shouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandriaVA632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. The issues you endured on your stay should never have occurred. I am sorry that you had problems with the heating and basic housekeeping maintenance. I would appreciate it if you could spare a minute to go over your stay in detail by reaching out to me at your earliest convenience. Please call me at the hotel at 312-986-1234. We value your business and hope we have a chance to show you the best we have offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 4 days/3 nights this past weekend. We felt the staff at check-in could have been more friendly and helpful, as we were in the city for our 1 year anniversary weekend and we even made a note of it on our reservation and not one person mentioned or asked us about it. The fan/heating/AC unit was extremely loud and it was difficult to keep a steady temperature. We had a corner King room and it was very spacious and the bathroom was huge, with a double sink vanity but I wish there had been a tub, instead of the large shower. ShowTime was what gave this review a higher rating. His attentiveness and customer service was awesome. Housekeeping did a great job also.

Room Tip: A corner King room was very large with lots of room in the bathroom also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilTownSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your anniversary weekend. I apologize for the issues endured with the HVAC unit in your room. An engineer would have been more than happy to assist with the issue upon request. We appreciate your feedback of your stay and look forward to your next experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A great welcome from lovely staff - room was a good size and very clean - we went for quiet over a view and had 2 very good nights sleep -location is a few blocks from the main shopping area with lots of cafes etc well within walking distance - we were very happy with this stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at our property with special regards to our friendly staff and convenient location. We appreciate your feedback of your stay. I look forward to your next experience in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

"ShowTime" is awesome!!! He is a door man/bell hop extraordinare! He provides excellent customer service and He tips on restuarants and entertainment like I have never seen.

He makes the hotel great!

We have stayed since February and are looking forward to our next stay in June.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am thrilled to hear that "Showtime" was a memorable aspect of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked at the last minute, so should perhaps attribute the small size of the room and bathroom to limited availability. The staff was warm and welcoming, and the lobby is streamlined, but chic and pleasant. I'd definitely recommend asking about size when booking, if that's important to you, as their rooms seem to vary. Our room was comfortable, clean, attractive, and just big enough, but the equally attractive bathroom was so small that the door couldn't open all the way, as it hit the toilet! We weren't bothered by that, just somewhat amused, but the lack of warm water for our showers was unacceptable. A tepid shower takes away from the relaxation you expect from a getaway weekend experience. There are just two elevators for the guest rooms; one of them wasn't working for the entire time we were there, and the other one was very, very slow. The hotel should fix that, pronto. I'm writing a separate review of the adjoining restaurant, Meli, which I'd recommend with some reservations.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a good-sized room; theirs vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vistachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay at our hotel. We appreciate the kind comments in regards to our well-appointed rooms and friendly staff. I do apologize that there were issues with the hot water during your stay. Maintenance would have happily adjusted the the problem had they been informed of the issue. Again, we thank you for sharing the details of your experience with us. We value your business and hope you give us another chance to show you the best we have to offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#126 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Property: Hotel Blake Chicago
Address: 500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TravelUp, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing