We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Beautiful Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #33 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
O'Fallon, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location. Beautiful Room”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Checked in late. Got upgraded to a stunning corner room. The staff was friendly and warm. The room was very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location and within reasonable walking distance to just about anything you could want. Will definitely stay there again next time I am in town. And the doorman is the icing on the cake.... Better not let him go!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ItsJustKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel Blake Chicago! I am happy to hear that our staff could go above and beyond to make your stay exceptional. We appreciate your kind words about your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    691
    186
    73
    49
See reviews for
368
645
138
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Upon entering the lobby, you could tell that the staff valued their customers. They were incredibly helpful. Whether it was flagging down a taxi for you or giving you restaurant advice, they would do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. On to the topic of cleanliness. I have never been to a building this clean, including many hospitals. The lobby was immaculate. The rooms were very well maintained. The beds were made every day for you. The rooms were extremely spacious. There was enough room for my mother and I to have our own space and then some. The beds were also VERY comfortable. I slept better than I have ever slept. My only complaint was that the maid came banging on people's doors and shouting at the top of her lungs at 9 am. I can't wait to go back in a couple weeks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niagralover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I appreciate the notice you took of our staff on your experience at our hotel, and I am glad that they could be a positive aspect of your trip. We are very happy that you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms. I do want to apologize for the incident with housekeeping. We will keep your comment in mind during training with our staff to ensure that our guests do not endure this issue again. We value your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Blake hotel is centrally located offering different types and standards of rooms . Service is good . Look's like the hotel was redisgned/modeled not long ago and offeres a boutique kind of epxeprience . Rooms were spacious and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments in regards to our excellent service and nicely appointed rooms. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be of competitive value as well. We value your business and look forward to your next experience with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miamisburg, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here Mother's Day weekend 2014 and we had a great time. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and eveything in our room worked (Tv, iron, phone, etc..) so what else can you ask for? The bell hop was great and gave us great suggestions on things to do to help us have a nice time in Chicago. It has a restuarant connected to the hotel also and the food there was good so that was a plus. There's a Jazz club, shopping and other restuarants in walking distance. In a nut shell would I stay there again.....YES!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Blake Chicago for your recent stay experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel with special regards to our friendly staff, accommodating amenities, and convenient location in Downtown Chicago. We appreciate your kind comments of our property and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband stayed here all week for business and I joined him for the last day. I experienced a lot of the same issues I see people posting pictures of. The room overall was fine, it was the bathroom I have the most complaints of.

The only complaints I had about the room was that there was no bag for the ice bucket, so I did without the ice (don't know how the inside of that bucket was cleaned), and the lamps were outdated and damaged (i.e. wear and tear).

The bathroom: sink was clogged, countertop cracked, toilet flushed VERY loudly, shower dripped all night, mildewy shower, drips of dried caulking stuck to the wall, water damage to the back of the door. This is as a result of the shower. Normally, in a "snail shower", the glass enclosure would cover 3/4 of the shower, not 1/2 of the shower (I have one at home). So water splashed all over the floor and splashed onto the back of the door, causing water damage. While the shower drain wasn't clogged, the shower had standing water, proving that there is an incorrect slope to the bottom of the shower floor, so water was not properly diverting to the drain. I had also put out the "do not disturb" sign on the door, but at 8:30 am Housekeeping was knocking. At least she didn't try to come in when I didn't answer (I was still in bed).

Customer service at the desk was fine, concierge named "Showtime" was so friendly. He recommended a pizza place other than where we planned to go and gave us a coupon for free appetizer. He recommended Lou Malnati's Pizzeria, within walking distance. The deep dish pizza takes 30 minutes to cook, but it was well worth the wait!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. I apologize for the issues endured on your experience. I would appreciate it if you could spare a minute of your time to go over your stay in detail by reaching out to me at your earliest convenience to ensure that these issue do not occur again in the future. Please call the hotel directly at 312-986-1234. We value your business and hope you give us another chance to show you the best we have to offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruston, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My family and I recently spent five nights at Hotel Blake, and we could not have had a better experience. The hotel is located on Printer's Row, just a short walk from Grant and Millennium Parks. We were greeted at the door by the bellman, Showtime, who is absolutely one of the hotel's most valuable assets. One of the kindest, friendliest, most caring and accommodating staff members I have ever encountered! He always had a smile on his face and was ready with great suggestions for anything you might need. Truly one of a kind. The front desk staff was outstanding as well. Always smiling and courteous - they tended to our every need. Tom, the general manager, went out of his way to help solve an issue for us. He and his staff should be commended for a level of customer service that is not always present, even in the best facilities.
Our room and bathroom were very spacious, well-appointed and clean. Not much of a view, but I didn't expect one. Although the hotel does not have an in-house restaurant, it is connected to Meli Cafe, which was delightful. We had two meals there - very innovative and fresh. There was a Starbucks just across the street, which is always a plus, and a pharmacy just a short walk away.
Overall, our stay at The Blake was outstanding, thanks primarily to the staff. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernTraveler575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel Blake Chicago! I am pleased to hear that our staff could go above and beyond to make your stay exceptional. We are happy that you found our rooms to be comfortable and location to be convenient on your trip. We appreciate your kind feedback of your stay. Our staff looks forward to your return trip to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was my first time at an Ascend Hotel. My stay was nice enough but as someone who travels often for work, I found it expensive ($250+) for what it provided. You get a decent room, shower and internet. My room looked out on a high building just next door, no view. There's basic TV, no movie offerings. It doesn't come with a mini-bar or refrigerator. No room service. The location is convenient to the loop, which I took from/to O'Hare. There's a Starbucks across the street. There is a small staff -- you might have to wait at check-in. The bellmen are full of personality, which gives it a welcoming feel. The area is quiet at night. I wasn't lucky with the nearby restaurants but maybe you'll be. There's a CVS pharmacy a block away. My stay was comfortable but not exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuntressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. I would like to let you know that your comments in regards to your room have been taken into consideration for future improvements to our property. We value your business and hope you give us another chance to show you the best we have to offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 190 in Chicago
569 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
241 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#128 of 190 in Chicago
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Property: Hotel Blake Chicago
Address: 500 S Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60605-1502 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing