We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Blake Chicago
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,092)
Filter reviews
2,092 results
Traveller rating
1,047
735
188
73
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,047
735
188
73
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprinter's rowmeli cafeprinters rowthe looptwo sinkswithin walking distancegrant parkcontinental breakfastblue linestreet noiseattached restaurantdoor manbrick wallsears towerbuckingham fountainroom was spaciousfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
882 - 887 of 2,092 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The staff was very welcoming and warm. The new doorman was quite personable and we surely appreciated his help when it came time to get a taxi. The champagne and chocolate "happy hour" was a nice surprise when we got back from a day of meetings!

The room was well-kept and clean, however I was by the elevator so it was a bit noisy. The street noise also infiltrated the room, but I liked the character it added :) Overall, the bed was comfy and that's what mattered most! Free in-room wifi was also a plus.

Room Tip: 2nd floor by the elevator is noisy
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slm528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago! It is a pleasure to hear about your experience with special notice of our friendly staff and accommodating amenities. On your next stay, I would suggest reserving one of our Corner King Rooms on a higher floor with expansive views of the city. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were in Chicago for the ITU Tri race this past weekend 6/29. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay. The hotel is centrally located and you can walk to most of the city's tourist areas. The room 712 was perfect and the A/C unit was so quiet (which provided for a good night sleep!--important for triathletes). The staff was very helpful, especially Corey at the front desk. He's a great asset to the hotel. A minor suggestion--have the housekeepers check to make sure all the amenities are in the room. I had to call for a hairdryer as it was missing and the iron didn't work. Replacement items were brought up to the room within minutes. We will definitely come back when we next travel to Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. I am pleased to hear that you liked our convenient location and friendly staff on your trip. We appreciate the comments in regards to our housekeeping and will make sure this is no longer an issue for our future guests. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved the Bellman "Showtime"! He was so helpful and friendly and entertaining!
Wished there would have been a fridge in the room. Very comfy bed and pillows, nice lobby. Fast elevator, plenty of room in the room. Close parking options. Close to good restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaMHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent stay at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with special notice of our friendly bellman, "Showtime," and our comfortable rooms. We do have miniature refrigerators available upon request should you inquire with the front desk on your next stay. Thank you again for sharing your review. We look forward to your next trip to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We received a warm welcome from both door staff and reception at this wonderful hotel which is a historic landmark. Our room was the biggest we have ever had, which as we were staying for eight nights made us feel very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and there were black out curtains, coffee/tea making facilities, iron and board and a safe. The bathroom was also huge with a walk in shower, double hand wash basins, ample toiletries and frequently changed towels. Everything was clean throughout. Our view was a brick wall, but in a city hotel there are bound to be some of these. The plus is that there may have been slightly less noise at the side of the hotel. There was very little noise from the corridors which were carpeted. We arrived late evening and Jesse, the very helpful door man suggested we eat at their restaurant, he got us a table and we had an excellent meal. Just having come from five nights in New York, we noticed a higher standard of service, which was reassuring. The next day the door staff were cheerful and friendly offering greetings and information to everyone who passed through the hotel. The hotel is located in a very good position, we were able to walk everywhere, especially to the Blues Festival in Grant Park which was the main purpose of our trip. We also enjoyed looking at and learning about the wonderful buildings in Chicago, and found everyone friendly and helpful. One day following a busy sightseeing day we arrived back at the hotel to be offered a complimentary glass of champagne, little touches like this just put the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your fantastic review of the Hotel Blake Chicago! I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We appreciate the kind feedback of our spacious rooms and accommodating staff to ensure a wonderful experience. Your feedback is very important to us and we look forward to your next stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

First trip to Chicago. We liked the location which is walkable to many of the city restaurants and shops. We like to walk, and walk we did! We only took a cab once when it was raining. We were able to walk everywhere. Blake is located on Printers' Row in a historic building. The room was unexpectedly quite spacious for a city hotel. The room had a large, well-appointed bathroom with huge walk-in shower, double sinks, good lighting and lots of towels. There were lots of bath toiletries that were replenished each morning. Everything is clean, and the hotel is quiet. There were black-out drapes, an important room feature to us. There was a safe, hair dryer, iron, coffee maker in the room. The beds were extremely comfortable with heavenly linens. We slept very well! Slightly inconvenient was the trip to the 12th floor to get ice; a small in-room refrigerator would have kept our beverages cold and would have eliminated those trips to the 12th floor. Unfortunately our room had a view of the next building's brick wall, but we did enjoy a reasonable rate. Rate won over the view. Other than that, we were extremely pleased with the Hotel Blake and would recommend it to others. It is across the street from the gorgeous public library, StarBucks, and a convenience store. A wonderful surprise for us was the breakfast we had in the attached restaurant. The food was fresh, plentiful, creative, and fabulous; one of the best meals we had in Chicago, strange as that might sound. Definitely try a meal there!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Patricia316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the Hotel Blake Chicago! I am pleased that we could make your first trip to Chicago an exceptional experience. We do understand that it is a slight inconvenience to our guests that our ice machine is on the 12th floor, but a member of our staff would be more than happy to bring up ice to your room on request. We keep the machine on the 12th floor to ensure a quiet night's rest due to the noisiness. I appreciate your kind comments in regards to our spacious rooms and convenient location. We value your feedback and look forward to your next trip to the Windy City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews