We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
Ranked #33 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Will definitely stay again!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

From the time we pulled up, the bellman "Showtime" made us feel like old relatives. Problem free check in. (able to use cash deposit). Beautifully decorated, rooms were very clean. There was a driver/private car available for transport if you didn't want to use a taxi. Showtime gave us great things to see, eat & do during our weekend stay. This was our first time staying there but will not be our last.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbaby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am pleased to hear that our staff could go above and beyond to make your experience exceptional. We value your feedback of your stay experience and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    688
    185
    73
    49
See reviews for
363
643
138
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Blake is in a great neighbourhood; it's quiet, friendly, and handy to transit. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated, and clean. We liked being outside of the more expensive and busy river north area. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katisaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of the Hotel Blake Chicago! Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our convenient location and spacious rooms. We especially enjoy hearing that we could go above and beyond on a guest's experience that they plan to return on their next trip to Chicago. Thank you again for sharing your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Hotel Blake, located on S.Dearborn steet , between Congress & Harrison. Just outside the hustle and bustle of Downtown, yet minutes away. One block away Van buren, catch Orange Line to airport. Next block over State Street, get on bus to Navy Pier, #29, or #3, 146, 147, Downtown, All less than 30 min. Area full of pubs & restuarants. LOCATION! LOCATION. Cant, beat it. Hotel staff, GREAT, Hotel clean, efficient . Price is right!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPGBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. We are thrilled to hear that you had a memorable experience during your time at our property. We appreciate your kind words in regards to your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The staff was very welcoming and warm. The new doorman was quite personable and we surely appreciated his help when it came time to get a taxi. The champagne and chocolate "happy hour" was a nice surprise when we got back from a day of meetings!

The room was well-kept and clean, however I was by the elevator so it was a bit noisy. The street noise also infiltrated the room, but I liked the character it added :) Overall, the bed was comfy and that's what mattered most! Free in-room wifi was also a plus.

Room Tip: 2nd floor by the elevator is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slm528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago! It is a pleasure to hear about your experience with special notice of our friendly staff and accommodating amenities. On your next stay, I would suggest reserving one of our Corner King Rooms on a higher floor with expansive views of the city. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were in Chicago for the ITU Tri race this past weekend 6/29. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay. The hotel is centrally located and you can walk to most of the city's tourist areas. The room 712 was perfect and the A/C unit was so quiet (which provided for a good night sleep!--important for triathletes). The staff was very helpful, especially Corey at the front desk. He's a great asset to the hotel. A minor suggestion--have the housekeepers check to make sure all the amenities are in the room. I had to call for a hairdryer as it was missing and the iron didn't work. Replacement items were brought up to the room within minutes. We will definitely come back when we next travel to Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. I am pleased to hear that you liked our convenient location and friendly staff on your trip. We appreciate the comments in regards to our housekeeping and will make sure this is no longer an issue for our future guests. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved the Bellman "Showtime"! He was so helpful and friendly and entertaining!
Wished there would have been a fridge in the room. Very comfy bed and pillows, nice lobby. Fast elevator, plenty of room in the room. Close parking options. Close to good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaMHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent stay at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with special notice of our friendly bellman, "Showtime," and our comfortable rooms. We do have miniature refrigerators available upon request should you inquire with the front desk on your next stay. Thank you again for sharing your review. We look forward to your next trip to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We received a warm welcome from both door staff and reception at this wonderful hotel which is a historic landmark. Our room was the biggest we have ever had, which as we were staying for eight nights made us feel very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and there were black out curtains, coffee/tea making facilities, iron and board and a safe. The bathroom was also huge with a walk in shower, double hand wash basins, ample toiletries and frequently changed towels. Everything was clean throughout. Our view was a brick wall, but in a city hotel there are bound to be some of these. The plus is that there may have been slightly less noise at the side of the hotel. There was very little noise from the corridors which were carpeted. We arrived late evening and Jesse, the very helpful door man suggested we eat at their restaurant, he got us a table and we had an excellent meal. Just having come from five nights in New York, we noticed a higher standard of service, which was reassuring. The next day the door staff were cheerful and friendly offering greetings and information to everyone who passed through the hotel. The hotel is located in a very good position, we were able to walk everywhere, especially to the Blues Festival in Grant Park which was the main purpose of our trip. We also enjoyed looking at and learning about the wonderful buildings in Chicago, and found everyone friendly and helpful. One day following a busy sightseeing day we arrived back at the hotel to be offered a complimentary glass of champagne, little touches like this just put the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your fantastic review of the Hotel Blake Chicago! I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We appreciate the kind feedback of our spacious rooms and accommodating staff to ensure a wonderful experience. Your feedback is very important to us and we look forward to your next stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 189 in Chicago
223 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#90 of 189 in Chicago
557 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#125 of 189 in Chicago
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Property: Hotel Blake Chicago
Address: 500 S Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60605-1502 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing