We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with good amenities and friendly staff”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #61 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently for a conference in Chicago. The staff were very nice - both upon check-in, as well as check-out. The conference rooms were as expected, if a bit cold. The rooms were clean (which is really all I care about), and the location is in walking distance to most attractions in Chicago, including Michigan Ave. and Navy Pier. Overall, would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear galle8,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay during your conference and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,429 - 3,435 of 4,518 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed recently loved this hotel everyone very friendly and helpful
The views amazing. Particularly from gym and pool
In women's showers on 42 floor a full length window opening onto the lake magnificent
Rooms spacious good bathroom great service
Would stay there again without any hesitation

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Jeneeeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had a great time at the Swissotel. We were just there for a quick getaway and we found that the hotel was very clean and all of the staff that we encountered were very friendly and pleasant. Like others had mentioned we also thought the valet parking was a bit steep (probably normal for Chicago) so we parked at a garage 2 blocks west of the hotel. If you plan on parking your car and not using it during your stay, the garage was only $38/day. If you plan on leaving the hotel and driving several times throughout the day, then valet parking would serve as a better option.

At check in we opted not to spend the extra money and upgrade to a corner room or a lakeview room. Our view of the neighboring office building and the river were fine as we were only in the room for an hour or so before heading out on the town and then back at the end of the night to sleep. As far as amenities in the room itself, our room was plenty spacious for the 2 of us, the bed was super comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water. We never heard our neighbors (if we had neighbors) so that's always a plus.

The nice thing about the hotel's location is that if you're looking for a great breakfast I'd recommend walking a couple of blocks to Wildberry's on Randolph St. Also near by is the departure point for the Chicago Architecture River Tour which is at the NE corner of Wacker and Michigan.

Based on everything above, I would definitely stay there again. But then again I didn't pay full price for the room, so that may have something to do with it. Thank you Priceline. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WI-Firefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear WI-Firefighter,

Thank you for choosing Swissotel Chicago as the place to stay for your weekend getaway.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I was extremely impressed upon arrival. I had to wait longer than expected to check in (one reception person, 3 people in line in front of me) but from then on, all was well. I asked for a high room facing the water due to tips read here. I was put on the 40th floor - room 4003 (only exception is it was a double not a king). The room was gorgeous and had all the luxuries needed (robes, huge tub and separate shower, conditioner, bar soap and gel soap, bath salts, lots of little things like cotton balls, sewing kit, etc., scale, lots of towels) and it had a small fridge (not a mini-bar, which is great) and a coffee machine. Perfect! I was also lucky enough to have an ice machine on my floor.

The room was clean and laid out well. The view was outstanding. The safe was big enough for all my stuff (laptop, iPad, iPod, etc without having to wedge it in or remove a shelf. There wasn't an electric plug open near the bed, though there were plenty around the room and in the apartment.

Also I can't write a review without commenting on how cool the automated elevators were, but it did get a bit crazy when a conference dumped out and 30 people were trying to figure out which one to get into.

One thing that was a disappointment was the "cool" amenities like the bath salts and very nice cotton balls (I need to find them in the commercial market - they were great) were not replaced after the first night (I was there for 3). Also, the wi-fi worked great for me but several fellow travels said it was weak in their rooms (and they didn't get the bath salts, etc.)

Room Tip: High room with water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soniab13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Soniab13,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and added amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed in the Swissotel from May 24-May 28 and had a fantastic stay. There is a nice lobby with ice cold water with fruit added in which changes flavors daily - a great treat as it was such a hot weekend. The room was very spacious and clean. The AC worked wonderfully, even though a touch loud but that is the same in any hotel. Having a mini fridge in the room for our use was also a big plus. We found the beds to be quite comfortable.
The unique way the elevators operated seemed to make them run much more efficiently. My only complaint, if any, was that there needs to be more plug outlets in the room. Overall a great stay and I would certainly stay here again.

A quick tip..rather than walking down to Michigan St there is a set of stairs accoss the street on Wacker which leads you across a closer brigde and much closer to Navy Pier or even just for quicker access to Michigan.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel was clean and had a nice view of the lake, but the internet service was absolutely terrible. I was unable to access any files on my VPN and my 4G phone was markedly faster in receiving email. To add insult to injury, they refused to comp the $10 per day charge when I complained. There are many nicer hotels in that area - including the brand new Radisson Blu next door - so there is no need to stay here.

Room Tip: If you ignore my advice and stay here, at least ask for a room on the upper floors so you have a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Abby F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards, and for that we sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our management team.

We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed five nights at the Swissotel and loved our experience there. We choose a lakefront view and while the room they assigned us didn't have the greatest view due to construction nextdoor they were very quick to apologize and give us a new room with an amazing view. The staff was very helpful and the management went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. While there are other nice hotels in Chicago that are cheaper, for us as tourists it was worth the extra money for the unbelievable view and good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakefront view from a high floor. There is construction next door that is now obstructing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristen252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole E, Director of Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear kristen252,

Thank you for choosing Swissotel Chicago as the place to stay for your trip to Chicago.

We are delighted to hear that our staff was able to offer you a room with a view of the lake and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,936 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 192 in Chicago
7,075 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#78 of 192 in Chicago
5,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,233 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £93 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing