We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good By Chicago Standards”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #64 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The hotel is modern day made-for-business place to stay with a good amount of amenities. The rooms are not lavishly large, but perfect for a single or couple stay. The room we were in was very clean and had a great view of the Navy Pier. It's situated right in the middle of most of the Chicago attractions, or a short taxi away to the others. Millenium Park is just a couple of blocks away and about a quarter mile from The Loop. The hotel stands out with the modern design of the building which overlooks the river below. The service was excellent. The bed was really comfy and the overall stay was quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,257)
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,080 - 3,086 of 4,257 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Spent two nights at this very nice property, room 4010 featured a decent view with the river below and was clean, well appointed with a nice bathroom. This would definitely be a hotel I would return to in the future. The hotel is in a good location close to many downtown Chicago sights and about a fifteen minute walk from the L train Randolph station. The elevators are interesting with their dedicated floor assignments.The only negative was I could not understand why the bed had only a sheet covering the mattress and not an additional sheet on top. The restaurant at the base of the property is pricey but the food is very good. On the 42nd floor there is a nice pool, hot tub and considerable exercise equipment with views of Lake Michigan and Navy Pier. Expect to pay $300 per night for these accommodations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear S E,

Thank you very much for your nice and detailed review and it was a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed the convenience of location as well as the comfort and cleanliness of your room during your stay. As a Swissotel standard we currently use duvet cover however for your future visits we will be happy to prepare your room with additional sheet according to your preference.

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The hotel is new and modern. The location is excellent. The rooms are fairly spacious. Excellent beds. Nice views from any side. Great location close to Michigan Ave. Avoid the Palm restaurant in the lobby -- the restaurant is overpriced likely because there are only hotel restaurants in the immediate couple of blocks. Easy walk to 'loop' and to river boats as well as parks.

Room Tip: extra $ for lake view not worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachseeker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I had stayed here serveral years ago and found that the staff was very cold and the atmosphere univiting. I must say that I was very pleasantly surprised when I returned this month. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The elevator system has been replaced with a new logic system assigns you the most efficient elevator for your destination. Room was very nice and comfortable. View was very nice as well. Overall a very good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the lake.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockhopper1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Rockhopper1984,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind compliments regarding the service quality are very much appreciated. Looking forward to welcome you again for even a better experience.

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Our room was very nicely outfitted. The bed was very comfy. Had a great view. Loved the location. Walked to Millennium Park and dinner at Miller's Pub. Love the Keurig in the room and the coffee bar in the lobby. Staff was very polite.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOBrien1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Travel to Chicago frequently for business and pleasure and really love this particular hotel, from the rooms to the staff to the food at the restaurants everything was excellent in every way. The rooms are very clean and quite comfortable. I will definitely be back. Thank you for providing us with outstanding service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 708RobertD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Have stayed at various hotels in the city (including the one next door) and thought the stay at the Swiss hotel exceeded my expectations. We were meet by an extremely friendly valet outside and the pleasantness continued when we got to the front desk. The women who checked us in was friendly and explained various restaurant options. We were given a room on the 36 floor with a nice view . Room was clean and I liked having the fridge in the room.
Yvonne at the concierge desk was extremely helpful.
We had no problem walking to anywhere we wanted to go so the location was great without the extra noise on Michigan Ave.
I can't understand what the problem is with the elevators. We never had much of a wait and it was nice not to have to stop at a lot of floors and try to cram too many people in the elevator.
My only complaint as was previously mentioned is the position of the shower head. I have been at other hotels where a similar show had a "foot spout" so you could determine the water temperature before stepping into a shower head.
I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioCabrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear OntarioCabrx,

Thank you very much for your comments and nothing makes us happier than exceeding our guests' expectations. I will surely take the liberty to pass your kind compliments to related team members. We will definitely consider your kind opinion about the shower system during our future revisions. I am looking forward to your next visit hopefully not in the too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any assistance.

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#24 of 191 in Chicago
4,782 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 191 in Chicago
6,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#71 of 191 in Chicago
5,062 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,139 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £132 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing