We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no personality”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #62 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago
1 review
“no personality”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very nice place, however, the people that worked there were oblivious to anybody that stayed there. I'm used to being greeted and asked daily how I am doing. Again, not a huge knock against the staff, but they could have really shown some gratitude that I was throwing a lot of money at them. In addition,$55 dollars for parking a day?? That price wasn't included in my over charged room rate? I didn't even use my car, and there lot was nowhere near capacity. All in all, a nice hotel that doesn't deserve to be downtown Chicago. I'm sure there are other owners that wish they had that location that would know how to serve there clientele. Don't book here, try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corcormi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear corcormi,

Thank you very much for kindly reviewing your experience at Swissotel Chicago. It is very sad to learn about this unfortunate occasion in which we failed to fulfill our genuine service promise. In the light of your kind opinion; we will do every effort to avoid similar shortfalls in the future. I also understand your concern regarding the parking rates however, please be ensured this is a good value offer for valet parking with in and out privileges at our location.

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,044
    1,236
    442
    207
    131
See reviews for
717
1,040
187
1,509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, Il
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I want to start off by saying the hotel was gorgeous, clean and in a great location. Our room had nice views of the city and had an interesting layout being a corner room in the triangle shaped hotel. What we didn't like about this place was the fact that the staff seemed bothered by our presence. They never once said "hello" or "have a nice day" the many times we passed through the lobby, even as we checked in the clerk at the front never told us to enjoy our stay.
We paid a lot of money to stay at this hotel I would have expected to be treated a little better, instead they over charge for parking, wi-fi and don't offer any extras what so ever.
The thing that bothered me the most was that I had booked my room 2 months in advance and requested a room on the upper floor, we got a room on the 19th (which was still a fantastic room) but were told higher floors were an upgrade, but I've read several reviews on this site of people saying they got rooms on top floors w/o requesting or paying for them. I had paid for the upgrade and they told me that was the best they could do.
Maybe if they retrained their employees on some basic customer service skills this hotel could get an excellent rating

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dn9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear dn9999,

Your comments are really helpful for the entire Swissôtel team and encourage us to further improve our services. It is pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room. Meanwhile we will do every effort to ensure the consistency of our heartfelt service promise. I also hope for your understanding that the floor preferences and upgrades are very much dependant on the availability and I will be happy to assist you personally upon your next visit.

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

When I arrived at the hotel I asked the front desk if we could have a room that was quiet. He laughed and said it's only as quiet as the room next to you. I didn't think it was funny. I didn't like the fact that the room only have full beds. When we decided to connect to to the internet in our room, it didn't work. We called the front desk they didn't have a solution, so they connected us to technical support. After almost an hour, on and off of being on hold, they told me to go into the bathroom to see if the connection was any better. Are you kidding me? I told management and when I came back to my room later that day, I had a bottle of red wine and a sorry note. Nice gesture, but there is only one problem...I am allergic to red wine. A trip full of problems and no solutions. I will never go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilemmadrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear dilemmadrew,

Thank you very much for your kind review and our apologies for the technical shortfall regarding the internet connection. I am happy to inform you that improvement actions are already in progress to ensure a much better and convenient experience to our guests in the not too distant future. In the light of your kind opinion, we are also extending further training to ensure better courtesy at the front desk.

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I was surprised and pleased that the free (to me) wireless internet connection had a sufficiently high bandwidth to watch a streaming movie on the computer and skype with a friend. The room was spacious with a European-style of shower and a separate bath. The view of the river was fantastic and the FP TV was large, The staff was friendly and helpful. The exercise room had a great view of the Michigan Lake, and though the cardio equipment was heavily used, I always found a free one. Slight negatives: no free breakfast, somewhat slim selection on cable TV channels. BTW, the elevators are efficient and pretty cool. All-in-all: a good value. Check it out!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Great hotel! My wife and I stayed here last month for our anniversary. Upon arriving, we talked to the front desk staff and found out our room was not ready yet, so we were upgraded to a corner room on the 5th floor that had perfect sightlines of Navy Pier. The room was a little larger than the standard size, very clean, and had a nice bathroom just off a short hallway. The staff was fantastic. Upon hearing that it was our anniversary, after we returned to our room from dinner, there was a bottle of champagne, chocolate cupcakes, and several delicious Swiss chocolates waiting for us! They also provided a pass to the concierge level on the 40th floor, which had a fantastic serve-yourself breakfast. I’ve stayed in several Chicago hotels, and this was easily my favorite. Can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdwyer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear bdwyer19,

Thank you very much for choosing Swissotel Chicago for your anniversary and it is true pleasure for us to learn that our team ensured a memorable stay. We are already excited about your return and now we will even work harder to provide you with a better experience next year or; maybe even earlier.

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The hotel is modern day made-for-business place to stay with a good amount of amenities. The rooms are not lavishly large, but perfect for a single or couple stay. The room we were in was very clean and had a great view of the Navy Pier. It's situated right in the middle of most of the Chicago attractions, or a short taxi away to the others. Millenium Park is just a couple of blocks away and about a quarter mile from The Loop. The hotel stands out with the modern design of the building which overlooks the river below. The service was excellent. The bed was really comfy and the overall stay was quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Spent two nights at this very nice property, room 4010 featured a decent view with the river below and was clean, well appointed with a nice bathroom. This would definitely be a hotel I would return to in the future. The hotel is in a good location close to many downtown Chicago sights and about a fifteen minute walk from the L train Randolph station. The elevators are interesting with their dedicated floor assignments.The only negative was I could not understand why the bed had only a sheet covering the mattress and not an additional sheet on top. The restaurant at the base of the property is pricey but the food is very good. On the 42nd floor there is a nice pool, hot tub and considerable exercise equipment with views of Lake Michigan and Navy Pier. Expect to pay $300 per night for these accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear S E,

Thank you very much for your nice and detailed review and it was a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed the convenience of location as well as the comfort and cleanliness of your room during your stay. As a Swissotel standard we currently use duvet cover however for your future visits we will be happy to prepare your room with additional sheet according to your preference.

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,596 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#86 of 190 in Chicago
6,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#72 of 190 in Chicago
4,965 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 190 in Chicago
2,014 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing