We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Europe in Chicago”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #61 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Great location on the river and near the lake. Attentive staff. Cozy beds. Fabulous breakfast buffet with a continental vibe (but it costs extra). Highly recommended for a vacation or work-related trip.

Room Tip: Most of the west facing rooms have a great view of the river and the east facing look out on Navy Pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kildonan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,292 - 3,298 of 4,520 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

My mom, sister and I stayed here for a "girls trip" to Chicago. The front desk and concierge were always very friendly and helpful when we spoke to them or asked for suggestions. Check-in went smoothly and we were able to check into our room 3 hours early without any problems. Book a lake view room at this hotel. You'll get a spectacular view of the river, Navy Pier & the lake. I thought this was the highlight of the hotel.

The rooms themselves were nice, but nothing super fancy. Rooms had large windows, comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom. We couldn't hear noise from the hallways or from neighboring rooms. Housekeeping was helpful and left the additional towels & coffee we requested. The pool and hot tub are located at the top of the hotel & were a decent size. The pool /gym had nice views around the city.

We didn’t try any of the restaurants at the hotel.

The hotel was an easy walk to the Magnificent Mile, Millennium Park, the loop, Navy Pier and many other attractions.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Kristin7,

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for your nice compliments about the quality of services. We will be looking forward to your next visit hopefully not in too distant future and please let us know if we can do further.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I recently attended a work meeting at this hotel and stayed for several nights. The accommodations were fine. Cool elevator system (high tech), though there was usually a line to get on an elevator. The food was par to sub par. Good location. Nice views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We chose the Swissotel based on the recommendation of a friend as well as location and price. It exceeded our expectations.

I called to confirm our reservations a day in advance and requested an early check in. Very early-9:00am early. Even though they did not guarantee it, when we arrived at 9:00am, our room was ready for us with an amazing view. They made every effort to accommodate my requests since there for a special occasion.

We were able to find a great rate online on BookIt and the process was nothing but smooth.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear KbSunshine,

Great to learn that we were able to exceed your expectations and we would like to ensure this again upon your next visit . Please do not hesitate to let me know whenever your plans brings you to Chicago.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed here for a conference. At checkout, I was charged a breakfast I didn't have. I resolved this at checkout and it was removed from my bill. However, when I got my corporate AMEX bill it was placed back on there. All the while, I realized I left a white sweater on the bed. I called right away. I was told it hadn't been turned in yet. I left my contact info with lost and found. This happened 4x. I was always told I would be contacted either way. I know I left it on the bed as I was rushing out for the shuttle. My issue is I had to continue to call or email to get some answers. The manager did remove the AMEX charge. I never heard anything about my sweater. I'll take it as whoever has it needs it more than me. I just found dealing with this hotel an annoyance as a business traveler I don't have time to waste on continued follow ups. I have expressed this to our corporate travel dept so next year we will not be booking with them for the BMA or any other Chicago events.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMRAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear HMRAtlanta,

I am very sorry to learn that we have failed to respond to your request in regards to the missing sweater. I have investigated the matter however could not reveal any similar items found in the month of May. I also apologize for the error handling your account. Although I am happy that this was resolved, I would like to investigate further to avoid similar situations in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at alp.akyuz@swissotel.com and I will call you at once to assist further.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I spend a LOT of time in hotels and especially in Chicago hotels, and I was disappointed by the Swissotel. The room is OK; it is a reasonable size, but the walls are paper thin and I could hear everything from next door! The cleaning staff is excellent and very friendly, but the overall hotel staff is super snooty (e.g. when I called to ask whether the hotel auto entrance was on Lower or Upper Wacker, they just wouldn't tell me, and I finally had to ask, "When you look outside, do you see sky, or the underside of a road?"). I could never get the internet in the room to work, and after four days, I just gave up. The gym is small and very hot; there was no attendant and I was unable to ask for headphones (the basket was empty, but it didn't matter anyway because the TVs on the treadmills didn't work anyway).

Overall, an OK experience, but I'm glad my money wasn't paying for it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Urologist,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we will certainly focus on the shortfalls at the fitness centre. I am happy to inform you that we are in the process of upgrading our internet infrastructure to provide better quality connection to our guests in the future. I look forward to another opportunity to provide you with a much memorable experience.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Very nice hotel, perfectly located. Underground access to Michigan avenue saves you from the rain a clody day! We stayed at the 39th floor and had a scenic view over the lake.
Good gym thats free to use. Only downside so far is that it is NOT free WiFi... and maybe to charge 8buck for a bottle of water is a little bit much...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Jannel71,

I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the fine services of our team members. I would like to kindly let you know that we have package options such as internet whenever you prefer to book through our website. Please do not hesitate to contact me for further information. Once again thank you for choosing Swissotel Chicago and looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,938 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 192 in Chicago
7,075 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#78 of 192 in Chicago
5,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,233 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £93 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing