We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great View With Cool Elevators and Bad Computers”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #63 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great View With Cool Elevators and Bad Computers”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I recently was at the Swissotel on a business trip and stayed there four nights. I very much enjoyed the experience. My view from my room was extraordinary with large windows overlooking The Navy Pier and Lake Michigan. The pedway was a nice addition providing easy walking options on cold days. The pedway also has a Dunkin Donuts for coffee very close to the hotel. The elevators were very contemporary and interesting -- once I got the hang.

While all of this was great, my front desk experience was not. Check-in literally took me 20 minutes, once I was at the counter with an agent. It just seemed to take forever to enter info and make transactions. I went back to the front desk twice during my stay to make requests or ask for my folio to be presented with bar/restaurant options removed to a separate folio, and both times the employees told me that the computers were operating slowly and that I would need to stop by later. I could never figure out if the issue was the computers or untrained employees, but the front desk experience has some room for improvement.

Overall, a very good experience, and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for ones overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank californiatnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
While I'm glad you enjoyed your overall stay, I'm so sorry you were disappointed by our front desk's service. I'm completely understand how frustrating it is to wait that long. I'll be sure to look into the matter to see whether our computers or our staff's training needs improvement. I'm glad to know you'd stay with us again, and I hope you get a chance to visit Chicago again soon.

Take care,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,052
    1,243
    444
    207
    133
See reviews for
721
1,046
187
1,516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the swissotel over July 4th weekend and it was fantastic. Our room was clean and close to all the attractions. We made the easy walk to the Navy Pier for the fireworks and afterwards went to a couple bars that were close by. Overall it was a great Chicago trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielcharlesholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thanks for celebrating July 4th with us! I'm thrilled to hear you had a fantastic stay with us. Are you planning to visit Chicago for July 4th this year? If so, I hope you stay with us again!

All the best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I live only a couple of miles from this hotel but love it so much that I often stay here for the weekend just to enjoy the views, the pool, the lounge and restaurant and, most of all, the excellent staff!

Room Tip: Premier Corner King. The views are phenomenal up high (20th floor and above.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annall_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Wow, you're favorite in town hotel! Considering we're neighbors, it's really nice to know you enjoy staying at our hotel that much. Looking forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a last minute trip. The room was standard downtown hotel as far as decor. Leftover beer cans from the prior guest I assume in the recycle can in our room. Makes me wonder what else was overlooked. I asked at the front desk if they had a shaving kit as my husband had forgot his. The answer from them was no I had to buy one in their 24/7 shop. When I got back to the room the housekeeper had already been there to bring toilet paper because there was barely any on the roll that was there and no extra she also left (surprise) a shaving kit!!!! No charge on that one. Went down to the lobby to have a drink with my husband and had to wait 15 min for a drink. The Blackhawks game had just let out so the two bartenders were having trouble keeping up. We left as soon as we finished not the relaxing drink we had hoped for. The staff at check in was not very friendly, almost as if we were bothering them. I have stayed at many downtown hotels and this one is not a favorite. Although there was no charge for the pool and it was lovely.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank beachlovin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
I'm sorry to hear you felt that you were bothering our staff. That's definitely the last thing we want for our guests, as we strive to provide helpful and welcoming service. Also, we normally clean each room thoroughly, so I'm shocked to hear you discovered leftover beer cans from the prior guest. I'll be sure to pass along your feedback with our housekeeping team so that this doesn't happen again.

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed there for one night on New Years Eve. We didn't spend a lot of time there but it was very clean which is something we look for. Very expensive though, need to pay extra to use the pool so if your looking to go for that, keep it in mind. We parked in a parking garage nearby because Swissotel wanted over $60 to park. Not sure if I'd stay again, seems that there is other places that offer more for less money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glovesave99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thanks for staying with us! I'm glad to know you found your room clean and comfortable. Please know that our rates are normally much more reasonable. New Year's Eve is a peak night for all hotels in downtown Chicago. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you need a hotel in Chicago!

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked this hotel for our anniversary and were we happy! Perfect view of the Chicago river and city lights. Spacious room with ceiling to floor windows, flat screen and the most comfortable bed ever ;-) Very modern and chic! Located between shopping and entertainment on State St. and Michigan Ave. The Palms had a great menu for dinner and the bar was the perfect place for a nightcap. Customer service was very personal and accommodating seeing that we arrived before checkin. Even the Bellmen were wonderful, talk about a perfect celebration, this hotel made us feel as though we had found a secret part of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loving L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Happy Anniversary! Thank you so much for celebrating with us. I'm so glad to know that from our picturesque views to our comfortable beds, you enjoyed a wonderful stay. I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their personal and accommodating service. Hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a terrific Chicago hotel. I've only been there for business, but would consider staying here for pleasure. Great location, staff (front and back) and affordability, at least for a large US city. Take time to enjoy breakfast; french press coffee at your table is a nice touch.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thanks Bob! It's really nice to know you appreciate our central location and affordable rates. Whether you're in town for business or pleasure, I hope to see you back again soon!

Take care,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,614 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 190 in Chicago
6,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#73 of 190 in Chicago
4,974 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 190 in Chicago
2,031 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing