We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An very good hotel on Wacker in the loop”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #58 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“An very good hotel on Wacker in the loop”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great Staff. Great room with a nice view of the Navy Pier. Good bed. Nice bathroom.
The food in the restaurants Amuse and Geneva was good albeit pricey and the wait staff was pleasant but not very prompt.
If we were to want to stay in the loop again we would stay here again.
We did not try the pool or exercise room.

Room Tip: Park in the Coast Parking garage just East of the Hotel. It was $37 versus $65 for the valet parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us while in town, Indy! Glad to hear that you enjoyed the views, as well as the rooms. Can't wait to have you back the next time you're wanting to stay in the Loop!

Take care,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,989
    1,211
    428
    199
    126
See reviews for
700
1,010
182
1,464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Eden, Kentucky
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My sister lives in chicago so I have been to about every hotel up and down michigan avenue. There are many nice hotels but the service at swissotel just takes the experience to a new level. It is pricey but worth it for complete relaxation. You contact the front desk for assistance and it happens, period. Every employee on the property is knowledgable and helpful. The view of the chicago river and the lake are great and you are right in downtown for all michigan avenue shopping and pier/lake fun. It has a steakhouse in the lobby that is fine, but the finest restaurants in the city are within easy cab reach. We always get one of the larger suites so I can't comment about the other rooms, but they are super clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentuckyken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
It means so much to hear that you've been impressed with our service! Thanks for the kind review after staying with us when visiting your sister. Can't wait to have you back to take in the spectacular views from one of our rooms in the future!

All the best,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Although this hotel is a little pricey, the views and rooms are beyond expectations! Our room was exceptional! You can see the Navy Pier and river walk.
The hotel staff is impeccable! Everyone was helpful and concerned with our stay!


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Vegasblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the compliments on the staff, as well as your room. Can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit!

Best wishes,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Ok hotel, was nice, but nothing outstanding.
However, could improve to provide free wifi!!!
The Geneva restaurant was expensive too!
The positives: friendly staff, very comfortable bed, convenient location in the Loop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank JYtripreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I wish we could've wowed you on your visit, but I appreciate your feedback on everything from the staff to the location. Thanks for leaving your feedback, and I hope you'll consider returning to stay with us again!

Take care,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A wonderful 7 night stay .great location for sightseeing etc all within walking distance.Room was excellent ,had a lake view room with afantastic view ,especially of the amazing thunderstorms playing over Lake Michigan .Room well designed ,comfortable and spacious ,heavenly pillows!Bathroom spacious and well set out for blowdrying hair(usually a nightmare in most hotels).Staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.Speedy wifi connection ,great spa on 42cnd floor with stunning views HIghly recommended ,good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank berilldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us while in town! I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and I'm glad to hear that everything from the room to the staff was to your liking. Looking forward to having you back the next time you're in Chicago!

Take care,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The location is really great; walking distance from Millennium Park, Michigan Avenue as well as the lake. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Everything about the hotel worked, from the room staff to the concierge. For those who commented on the WiFi or Exercise room costs, just sign up before your go to join their "club" and it is included. Traveling as a single woman, I found my stay quite welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us! Great to hear that you enjoyed the location, as well as our accommodating staff. Thanks for reaching out, and we'd love to welcome you back the next time you're in the Windy City!

Best wishes,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Swissotel the last weekend of June 2014. The hotel is beautiful and our room was very nice for 238.00/night. We had the best view I have had in Chicago. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and checkout and in was very easy. The bad management issues included the following. While sitting in the Hotel bar on a Friday night which is attached to the lobby we watched the following happen. Several people arrived with boxes of liquor. Then several obvious hookers arrived and were greeted and led by the hotel staff to the elevators. Then a rather sordid crowd arrived that were once again was directed by the hotel staff up the elevators. It was our thought, with Chicago leading the nation in murders, perhaps we did not need this party being condoned by hotel management. Also we utilized room service on Friday afternoon. The tray with dirty dishes was still laying outside the room where the maid put it when we checked out on Sunday. The staff at the hotel bat is slow and inefficient. We had one extremely likable guy, who each time we asked for things, like water and snacks, said he would bring them right away. Finally after asking 3 times, and almost an hour, I told him we had asked several times and would he bring them now. He did, with no apology. Also be aware that even if there are 50 people in the bar, at midnight on a Friday night they close. Parking is 65.00/night. If you drive a Prius or some other green vehicle the rate is drastically reduced.We arrived in a Tahoe with 8 paying guest packed into the car. I thought that we were were treating the environment much better than four little green cars. No dice though on the same deal. Once again a poor management idea, I think. This hotel has no coffee in the room so plan on standing in line to buy it. Also the twin rooms listed as queens are full size at best.
All in all, I will probably not stay there again. i believe with a couple quick changes and some better management supervision this hotel could be a real gem. It is beautiful and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the staff on duty, Scott. It's disappointing that we didn't wow you all around with your trip, though. I want to assure you that we take hotel security very seriously. We do not discriminate against our guests based on their appearance, but do take great measures to make sure that nothing unsafe or illegal is taking place on the premises.

I appreciate you reaching out with such detail on your experience. Customer feedback is of utmost importance when making changes for the better. Thanks for staying with us, and I wish you the best in future travels.

Take care,,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 189 in Chicago
4,518 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#84 of 189 in Chicago
6,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,914 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,926 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing