We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #61 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good solid hotel. Bit pricey. $65 a day for parking is too much. No coffee in room. Pool is great on 42nd floor. Restaurants are pricey. But Chicago is pricey in general. Rooms need a little TLC from maintenance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

I wish we could've wowed you on your visit, Chad. Thanks for reaching out about your experience, and I'm glad that you enjoyed the pool. I hope your trip home went smoothly, and I would love for you to visit for a much improved experience in the future!

Best wishes,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,392 - 2,398 of 4,515 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Convenient location within walking distance of many attractions. Wonderful views from higher floors. Great staff and services. I would go back in a minute. Nice workout area, pool and spa on top floor with great views there too. No negative comments!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for your wonderful review, Michael! I hope you'll be able to return again soon, too, and I wish you the best until then.

Much appreciated,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel during an weekend business trip to Chicago. This was my second stay at this hotel and the lobby area that was under construction during my last visit was completed. The rooms are well designed and comfortable. Amenities are top rate. Love the computerized elevators that keep waits to a minimum. Service was friendly and helpful all around. In addition the hotel has a great location along the river. Highly recommend at this price point.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobN06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for returning to our hotel! I'm glad that you've enjoyed staying with us, and I hope you'll be back to visit for a third time. Our team appreciates your recommendation!

Best wishes,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great hotel, great location! Staff very friendly and helpful. Perfect place to watch the 4th July fireworks. Close to navy pier and all attractions, we will be back to stay next time we visit chicago!!




  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Allie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We can't wait to have you back the next time you're in town, Allie! Thanks for your kind words -- it means a lot to hear that you've been so impressed. Hope you have a great week!

Take care,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel the weekend of 4th July with our two young children. This is a great location for getting to Michigan Avenue and the boat tours. We booked the Shedd Aquarium package which included tickets to the aquarium, breakfast and access to the pool and gym. Staff were very attentive and the breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank bee103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

It was a pleasure to have your family visit us on 4th of July weekend! Thanks for leaving a review about your experience, and I hope you'll be able to return again the next time you're in town. Wishing you safe travels!

Take care,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed with my husband and daughter on July 4th. Walking distance to Navy Pier where we spent the day. Perfect location to Riverwalk. We didn't want to fight the crowds for fireworks. Paid for the king corner upgrade. Totally worth it! Perfect view of navy pier, fireworks, the river. Beautiful! The Geneva was a pricey breakfast but convenient. I do like that kids were free, go off the menu. Cheaper than the buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sldalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We're so glad you visited this past weekend! Thanks for your kind words on the view, as well as the location. Looking forward to having you back the next time you're in town!

All the best,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked through priceline for a king size bed, arrived at the hotel, and were told that we were "upgraded" to a hospitality suite. Their hospitality suite is actually more like a conference room with a pull out bed available and was a downgrade, not an upgrade. We asked to switch rooms to what we had originally booked and were told that the hotel had was completely booked except for one room available, so we were given a room with 2 full size beds (no queen sizes, only full size double rooms).

The room we were given smelled overwhelmingly like garlic. We were then switched (despite being told earlier that the hotel had no other available rooms) to the room next door, which still smelled like garlic, albeit slightly better than the first. At this point, the hotel offered 2 drink tickets as compensation, but we informed them that we did not drink and would rather have the ticket value applied towards our valet parking.

In the morning, I received the folio which contained the full amount for the valet parking, despite what we had discussed the previous evening. There was no record in their computer system of having given us any credit towards parking, which they then claimed was managed by a 3rd party and so could not help us.

All in all, an extremely disappointing experience in what should be a luxury hotel, but instead was a lying, untrustworthy management (from front desk to their managerial level, there was deception and incompetence all the way). We will never stay in this hotel ever again, nor in any of its other locations and we hope other travelers will take heed of our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenningsX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

I'm very sorry that you felt misled during your stay with us. I want to assure you that every guest's needs are our top priority, and I apologize if you didn't get that impression. Please feel free to give me a call if you have any additional feedback or questions. Would love to help make things right!

Sincerely,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,932 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 192 in Chicago
7,072 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#76 of 192 in Chicago
5,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,232 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £93 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing