We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, but no Internet access”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #64 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The Hotel was very clean, as the room. It is centrally located. However for the paid price I eould have expected free Internet connection, instead no way, internet at an n average price of 15 bugs for a day. Speed not fast.
Internet nowadays is a must. How can you plan the day if you don't have access to Internet.
Sure they say that in the lobby is for free. If you comeback from a long day or if you are hanger for conquering the city, you need Internet.

Thank Charles987123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thanks for reaching out about your experience with us. I'm very sorry that you were disappointed with the internet, but if you plan on visiting again, we hope you'll take advantage of our free-of-charge Swissotel Circle rewards program. Along with many other perks, you'll receive free internet in your room, too.

I'm glad you reached out about your visit, and our team wishes you safe travels. Hope you'll consider returning for another visit in the future!

Take care,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,251)
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,133 - 2,139 of 4,251 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here for three nights on a business trip in late June 2014. I enjoyed my stay and could find very little to complain about, although I only used the hotel as a place to sleep since I was out a work commitments from sunrise to past sunset.

This hotel is located near the Chicago River, Riverwalk and all the attractions there. However, it is on an elevated roadway and there is not an easy or pleasant walk to get down to the Riverwalk from the hotel. It is also located near Millennium Park and there is a fairly easy and scenic way to walk there from the hotel.

Tips:

* The blackout curtains are between the window and the privacy curtains. Don't be fooled by the decorative curtains in front of the privacy curtains that don't go all the way across the window.

* The bathroom light switch looks like a two-position switch, but it is actually a three position switch. Up is on. Middle is off. Down is dim (night light).

High Points:

* Everything in the room was quiet and there was little street noise despite being next door to the fire station.

* Shower temperature and water pressure were good. Hot water from the sink faucet was too hot, but pressure was good. There was a bathtub in addition to the glass stall shower.

Low Points:

* The desk chair had tattered front corners, one with an exposed frame, padding and sharp fastener.

* I wanted more lighting. There was only a ceiling light inside the door, a floor lamp next to the easy chair and an extremely dim LED desk lamp. No overhead light or reading light over the bed.

* There is no coffee machine in the room. (Not a problem for me, but maybe for you.)

Room Tip: Rooms facing East and North have the best views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan_Sullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thanks for reaching out with so much detail about your recent stay, Jonathan! I'll definitely keep your low points in mind, as well as share the high points with the staff. Hope your work while in town went well, and that your trip home was smooth sailing, too! Can't wait to see you again the next time you're in town.

Best wishes,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Wonderful hotel with great staff. A little pricey on some room items and food in restaurants but since I don't stay in Chicago maybe their rates our close to most in the downtown area. Clean, quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, John! Thanks for reaching out about your visit, and I hope you'll be back the next time you're in town. Have safe travels in the meantime!

Best wishes,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The location of the hotel is superb, easy walking distance to State Street, the Miracle Mile, and Navy Pier. The hotel was nice.

On the other hand we were not given the type of bed arrangement we had reserved several months before. Also there was a ridiculous charge for internet in the room, and there was no internet in the lobby. There was a computer for printing boarding passes.

We did not have a car with us, but be prepared. Parking is $65/day in the lot closest to the hotel.

Our beds were EXTREMELY overly soft and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks for reaching out about your experience with us, Mary! I appreciate your feedback on your stay, and I hope you'll be back to visit us the next time you're in town. Wishing you safe travels in the meantime!

All the best,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our first stay in a Swissotel and it was very pleasant. We used Travelocity to get a good deal on a room and it happened to be at Swissotel. The lobby wasn't very large, but it was nicely decorated, and the staff was pleasant. The room was nice (as I would expect), and the view was impressive (25th floor). We only had breakfast in the hotel on the last day, and although the food was good it was overpriced. If I recall, the buffet was around $25 a person and the individual entrees (just eggs, toast, bacon, and some fruit) were about $12. If you didn't want to eat a ton it was better to get the individual entrees, but still felt just like standard food for the price.

Also something that was interesting: the workout room and pool are on the top floor and have great views. The mens and womens locker rooms have showers that have one whole wall as a window; the mens showers have frosted glass but the womens' do not! I'm not sure if this is common in high-rise buildings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ryanw585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks for reaching out about your recent stay! I'm glad to hear that Travelocity brought you to us during your visit to Chicago, and I appreciate the feedback that you've left. Looking forward to having you back the next time you're in town!

Best wishes,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for four nights while attending a conference at the hotel. Nice property in a fairly convenient location. Room was quite nice, though for some reason I had a hard time sleeping and I'm normally a sleep anywhere kinda guy. I don't understand why some hotels still charge extra for internet....feels like buckle and dimung and its a hassle to reconnect every 24 hours. Connecting multiples devices was a bigger hassle. Another issue was the service at the lobby bar during breakfast...more like, breakSLOW. had me running late a could times. Splurge on the extra employee and keep people happy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank tdlfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I appreciate hearing what you thought about your visit, and I'll definitely keep your comments in mind on the internet and breakfast. Hope you'll give us another chance in the future, and our team wishes you safe travels!

Take care,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great location, services, views, and pool/gym and other amenities. I was able to connect laptop to TV to watch pre-recorded shows and DVDs. Self parking was a bit confusing and the internet connection was problematic initially. I will travel to this location again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Wonderful to hear you stayed with us while in Chicago, Roy! Thanks for staying with us, and letting me know what you thought about your stay. Can't wait to have you back again!

Best wishes,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,775 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 191 in Chicago
6,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#71 of 191 in Chicago
5,056 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,136 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £135 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing