We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware”
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
Ranked #59 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
“Buyer Beware”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Be advised, any rooms you book through groupon may not be what you think you are booking. Make sure to call the hotel to check if you select anything other than a king room. I thought I was getting a room with two doubles and was assured of this after contacting and checking with groupon three times. I NEVER received what Alex from groupon told me i was getting and had to book another room that cost me even more. I spent $900 for two rooms for just two nights. Ridiculous. To make matters worse, there is no coffee maker in any room. Coffee in the lobby is $3-4 per cup.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hi, Diane - I sure hope you change your mind about staying with us again next time you're in Chicago. We'd love the chance to show you a perfect vacation.

Sincerely,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,993
    1,213
    430
    201
    128
See reviews for
700
1,015
182
1,471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Most efficient elevators I have ever encountered . Wish the hotel had 2 queen beds instead of doubles. Very clean rooms with a refrigerator . I would definitely stay again. Close to Navy pier and great restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you, Douglas! We love that you loved the rooms and the location. We hope to see you back in Chicago soon.

Happy travels,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed only for a night. The booking was easy. Nice and descent Hotel; very good location. Clean guest room and a good internet connectivity. The stay was nice except for the parking. Hotel Parking (no self-parking; valet only) is expensive. Used a nearby Private Parking; that's somewhat expensive too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank SAMorshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the kind words -- all the way from Dubai, too! We're happy you were comfortable during your stay. Before you book your next visit, shoot us a message on Facebook or Twitter; it's not something we advertise, but we do give a social media discount to our followers. We'd be happy to set that up for you.

Best,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our room on the 40th floor had an amazing view and comfy beds! The hotel was beautiful, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The hotel is within walking distance to great restaurants, the Oriental Theatre, shopping, and the boat tours. We loved Eric the doorman, who greeted us in a black suit and top hat. The pool/hot tub and fitness room was wonderful! The only negative was the lack of a coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank blueeyedblonde3624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the five-star review! I'll let Eric know he got a shout-out. We're so happy we could make your stay a great one, and we hope to see you back soon.

Happy travels,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My kids and I stayed here for 5 nights, the room were very clean, spacious and furnished beautifully. The pool/fitness facility was comparable to even some of the nicer clubs I've visited, but without the ridiculous membership fees, haha. The lobby is modern, classy and has numerous options for food, drink or just quiet relaxation. But by far the most enjoyable part of my stay was the treatment I recieved from the staff, from the politeness of Bellman to the thoroughness of the cleaning people, nothing less than exceptional. I want to make a special mention of the front desk Manager Stella, she is the Angel that saved our vacation after the inept staff at Travelocity botched my reservation then when I called to inquire they lied to me twice, left me on hold for long periods of time and then basically told me it was my problem. Thanks Stella!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevnboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Oh my goodness! I've responded to many reviews today, but I've never been complimented by name. It really means so much! Thank you for being such wonderful, patient guests as we sorted out the mishap with your third-party booking company. I'm so glad we made it work, even if it did take a little time. We hope to see you and your family back in Chicago soon!

Best,
Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Friendly staff and helpful. Very clean and organized. I did have to wait over an hour for the room to be ready but the view was so worth the wait. Will definitely go back! Perfect location for sight seeing and shopping!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tatiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We're glad we could make that wait worth your time! Thanks for the great review and for being such a lovely and understanding guest. We hope to see you soon for more wonderful Chicago trips!

Best,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We finished our 5 week trip with 4 days at the Swissotel. We had noted other comments about wifi charges and joined the Swissotel Circle (free) before we arrived to get free wifi for our stay (it would have been $14.95 a day otherwise). On the 34th floor we had fabulous views across the city. Our room was spacious, beautifully clean and very well equipped. It had a fridge, room safe, dressing gowns, etc. The hotel does like to take your bags from your car to your room and generally provide these kind of services, so be prepared to have some tips ready. Everything is done very professionally as you would expect and staff are very helpful and courteous. If you are looking for a really nice hotel in Chicago this would certainly fit the bill.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacuthbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella S, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Wow! A five-week trip! I bet that was such a blast. We're so happy you found the trick to the free Wi-Fi, and thank you for the kind words and wonderful review. We hope to see you back in the states soon!

Best,
Stella Smaragdis, Front Office Manager
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#83 of 189 in Chicago
6,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,914 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,934 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Property: Swissotel Chicago
Address: 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-5282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing