We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value compared to others in the Loop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Ranked #134 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent value compared to others in the Loop”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you're looking for a really upscale fancy hotel, you will probably need to look a little harder. Also, you will also have to dig a little deeper into your wallet. We looked at several places in the vicinity, and found that we saved about $63 per night at this Best Western. It's not much to look at from outside. Simple, plain. But, the rooms are clean, the staff friendly, and how much time are you going to be in your room anyway? It's a couple of blocks further south than the others, but for a three night stay, we saved over $180, and I'll gladly walk three extra blocks for that kind of savings. There are several good restaurants in the vicinity, including great breakfast fare at both 'Eleven' (next block over), and 'Yolk' (next door). Within two blocks there is a Jewel-Osco, Trader Joe's, Starbucks, Dunkin' Donuts, Subway, and other places. Four blocks north is Buddy Guy's Legends. And, Grant Park is right across the street. Also, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, and Soldiers Field are all walking distance. I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    379
    343
    164
    118
See reviews for
332
291
93
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Bathroom doors don't shut, haven't in years. Simple things like, cups, toilet paper, condiment packs, shampoo were not in place and we had to call for them or get them off the cart in the hall. Curtains and shades did not work correctly and or blocked the view. Furniture was old and some pieces were broken.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank tcurevdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Edgartown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Worst hotel I've ever seen. Shower leaked into room. Lights didn't work. After I moved rooms, a guest walked into my room at night. The front desk soon called to see if I'd changed rooms. Yes, they had asked me to do so.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is an older building, but my room is nicely refurbished with all modern amenities. I have a sideways view of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The windows block the city sounds for a good night's sleep. The king bed is comfy too. Very clean room. Climate control is excellent and the blower fan is smooth, not noisy. The staff has been very helpful and kind, and they gave me a good deal for an extended stay due to medical reasons. The location is ideal, right across from Grant Park.

Room Tip: Call the hotel for a possible better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyofStJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The rooms were a good size, and clean and the bed was great. The location was pretty good, especially if you plan on spending time in Grant Park. Its walkable to downtown/Navy pier, but it a long walk, we usually took cabs. The subway is also a couple of blocks away. We used it to get to both the Cubs and White Sox games easily. My only real complaint about the room itself was the bathtub. It was tiny.

The biggest problem is the price. There was a convention in town while we were there that drove hotel prices up everywhere, but even still it was too expensive for a hotel with nothing special. The outdoor pool was closed while we were there, and by the looks of it, it is permanent. They had a sign in the lobby when we checked in that there may be a mess over the next "2 days". It was up the entire 5 days we were there. The front desk is pretty good, but if you forget something don't count on them being able to help you out.

Room Tip: We were in 521. It was quiet and has a view of the pool (if the pool ever opens)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpriester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

There's nothing special about the Best Western Grant Park, except for it's location on Michigan Avenue. That location is worth the stay, though! Right on Michigan Avenue, it's a short ride on the #3 bus (stops right outside) to the center of the city. Or take a long stroll down the street and enjoy the park, cafes, and museum campus on your way.

The hotel itself is outdated, but the public areas and rooms are quite clean and comfortable enough (the bed was great, bathroom was a little small). The staff were friendly and helpful, and valet parking with in and out privileges is available for $38/night. The front desk staff also recommended some nearby parking options which were a little cheaper if you didn't need access to your car.

I booked online and got a great rate - $75/night. I'm not sure how much more I'd spend to stay here, but at that price it was an amazing deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The staff at this hotel is outstanding; very friendly and helpful. The hotel could use some updating but the location is ideal for tourists and everything was very clean. There are Divvy bikes across the street in Grant Park. Perfect for getting around the shoreline and the Planetarium, Shedd, Art Institute etc. The Roosevelt train station is just around the corner and over 1 short block. No car or taxis needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#138 of 190 in Chicago
1,984 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#102 of 190 in Chicago
5,035 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 190 in Chicago
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grant Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Address: 1100 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Grant Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most fascinating, culturally rich cities in America where you can discover everything the city has to offer from your convenient Chicago hotel. A superb location and competitive price isn't mutually exclusive. When you stay at this comfortable Chicago hotel, you're within walking distance to Museum Campus where Shedd Aquarium, Alder Planetarium, Field Museum and Soldier Field await. You're also right across from Grant Park where the Taste of Chicago, Lollapalooza and other exciting music events happen. Maybe picking up some keepsakes or high fashion is more your speed - and you're in luck. Just one mile away is the famous shopping district Magnificent Mile, and 1/2 mile away is Navy Pier. In town for a special event? McCormick Place Convention Center is also just one mile away - close enough to enjoy a leisurely stroll in the neighborhood or a quick cab ride away. A fantastic location isn't the only thing waiting for guests. These private, deluxe rooms feature spacious living, divine beds, and free Wi-Fi so you're always connected. Consider your downtown Chicago hotel your official home away from home. Everything you need is right here, complete with friendly staff to ensure your stay is fabulous. Don't miss out on our full American breakfast. The most important meal of the day is located in our full service restaurant, so indulge yourself. Enjoy platefuls of sizzling hot eggs and waffles. Delectable sides of flaky pastries and fresh fruits are sublime. Of course, there's an assortment of hot and cold cereals and yogurt, too. Complete the meal with premium 100% Lavazza coffee. Whether you're in town for business or pleasure, we've got you covered. It's all about location (and of course affordability), so there's no need to look any further than this Chicago hotel. All the perks of the city are right at your doorstep. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel and know that you (and your travel plans) are in good hands! Enjoy your stay. Please be aware our hotel pool is closed for renovations until further notice. In addition lobby and exterior renovation are currently in progress. We apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Grant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing