We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Ranked #137 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
1 review
“No Breakfast”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The rooms were average. The hotel is dated. The brochure said breakfast included but it was not. We had to eat breakfast elsewhere. The pool was only half full. It was a place to sleep. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank cynthias197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    352
    328
    158
    117
See reviews for
310
276
88
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

After booking a night at the Best Western Grant Park on the AAA app, I was really excited that the hotel offered free parking. There were comparably priced hotels with higher ratings in the area, but none offered the luxury of free parking like the Best Western Grant Park. I'd figure it'd save me $40 easily.

Upon check-in, I got my room keys, then asked how the whole "free parking" thing worked. The clerk gave me a confused look, "We don't have free parking. In fact, parking is first come first serve, and we're full for the night. You're going to have to park around the corner at the public lot." Okay, I said, but my parking would be covered, right? After all, the hotel did promise free parking (see included picture). He replied that it probably wouldn't be, so I left a note for the manager. I was assured that Octavio, the manager, would be "around all morning tomorrow" and that I could "definitely speak with him."

Next morning, Octavio was nowhere to be found, and I kept getting different excuses for his absence. "He's on the property but busy at the moment." "He's off the property and won't be back until later." "He on his way back to the property but might have to head right back out." One of the front desk clerks, Tiara, even pretended to call Octavio, but I could hear from her conversation that she was on the phone with somebody else (who was not named Octavio). It's never a good feeling to get the run around from a hotel's staff when you're trying to resolve an issue.

I began discussing the "free parking" problem with Tiara, who proved to be both belligerent and dismissive. First she blamed the parking garage (the one where I ultimately parked my car) -- "You need to go ask them for a refund." Huh? I quickly pointed out that they have zero affiliation with Best Western, so how could this free parking problem possibly be their fault? Then she blamed me: "If something says free parking, it's your job to call and confirm it." Why? Both the app and the emailed receipt said free parking. Finally, she blamed AAA. She said Best Western doesn't have any control of that site's content, and I need to take it up with them. After over an hour of this (and also waiting for Octavio who never showed), I gave up with no resolution.

Thankfully, AAA has since rectified the situation. They took full responsibility (even though the error was shared between them and Best Western) and reimbursed me for parking. Class acts, those folks at AAA... very different from the staff at the Best Western Grant Park, who are more inclined to shift the blame and tell the customers that they are wrong.

One redeeming factor: the location of the hotel at the southern tip of Grant Park is excellent. You have quick access to so much cool stuff in Chicago, even if it unfortunately means you'll be spending the night at a disorganized and unfriendly hotel that definitely does not have free parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a floor with both vending and ice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank preppy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

St. Ann, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was unhappy with my stay because I had to pay almost $300 a night and there was problems with my stay. First, the phone was not working in my hotel room. Second, there was no complmenty breakfast. Third, my daughter hurt herself while at the pool where there was no life guard, and your staff did not have any First Aid Kit items to help us and staff person named Marsaidas had a small attitute problem. Fourth, I called down for extra towels and face rags for my family and like four hours later, no one ever brought them up to the room, so a staff called the room to see if we received the towels and I stated no, then someone finally brought up the towels. Fifth, there was a lot of kids playing in the hallways. It just was not worth he almost $300 a night that I had to pay for the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ranada C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro, KY
Level Contributor
284 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here in June as a group for my daughter's dance company to attend a nearby workshop. Clearly, this is not a luxury hotel but it is adequate for sleeping. The staff is as nice and accommodating as can be. The hotel is older and could use some polish. To begin, please plant some flowers in the planters. Concrete squares, filled with dirt, do not make a good impression. The pool is being renovated. According to our group, many of which attended last year, the pool was not in working order last year wither.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluegrassmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Chicago because our hotel was located centrally to the school, Columbia College Chicago, and the sites we wanted to see. They were all within walking distance. The room was clean and the staff were friendly and willing to help us out in any way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 4patrickk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Charles MO, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Toilet didn't work. Was fixed and quit again in the middle of the night. Staff didn't seem interested. Wasn't offered any compensation. Also was informed about any breakfast or food available. Also they charged way to much to park a car overnight

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Southern part of magnificent mile. Just outside of the busy parts, a few city blocks from shopping. About a 15 minute walk to the river. Awesome for Lollapalooza. Have to pay for parking. Didn't check out fitness room and pool. Only used for sleeping!!! Didn't stay too much in hotel with so much to see!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themookieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#127 of 187 in Chicago
1,929 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4,787 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Address: 1100 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most fascinating, culturally rich cities in America where you can discover everything the city has to offer from your convenient Chicago hotel. A superb location and competitive price isn't mutually exclusive. When you stay at this comfortable Chicago hotel, you're within walking distance to Museum Campus where Shedd Aquarium, Alder Planetarium, Field Museum and Soldier Field await. You're also right across from Grant Park where the Taste of Chicago, Lollapalooza and other exciting music events happen. Maybe picking up some keepsakes or high fashion is more your speed - and you're in luck. Just one mile away is the famous shopping district Magnificent Mile, and 1/2 mile away is Navy Pier. In town for a special event? McCormick Place Convention Center is also just one mile away - close enough to enjoy a leisurely stroll in the neighborhood or a quick cab ride away. A fantastic location isn't the only thing waiting for guests. These private, deluxe rooms feature spacious living, divine beds, and free Wi-Fi so you're always connected. Consider your downtown Chicago hotel your official home away from home. Everything you need is right here, complete with friendly staff to ensure your stay is fabulous. Don't miss out on our full American breakfast. The most important meal of the day is located in our full service restaurant, so indulge yourself. Enjoy platefuls of sizzling hot eggs and waffles. Delectable sides of flaky pastries and fresh fruits are sublime. Of course, there's an assortment of hot and cold cereals and yogurt, too. Complete the meal with premium 100% Lavazza coffee. Whether you're in town for business or pleasure, we've got you covered. It's all about location (and of course affordability), so there's no need to look any further than this Chicago hotel. All the perks of the city are right at your doorstep. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel and know that you (and your travel plans) are in good hands! Enjoy your stay. Please be aware our hotel pool is closed for renovations until further notice. In addition lobby and exterior renovation are currently in progress. We apologize for the inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing